We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip...Thank You!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Rates for Fall
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing trip...Thank You!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was here w/ adult family of four for a long weekend and wedding (in Bluffton). We stayed at one of the 3 bedroom Wilson Village homes. Could not have asked for a better stay. The home was beautiful, spacious with huge bedrooms, great bathrooms and too many porches to count. We played golf at the May River Golf club and course was beautiful. Also spent some time at both pools and work out facilities -- fantastic.

Want to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
192
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Came to this exceptionally lovely resort for a long weekend birthday celebration. The Inn acknowledged the event in a number of thoughtful ways. We had a cottage on the May River, lovely, comfortable appointments and a screened porch for relaxing. We opted for a golf cart making getting around easy and pleasant. The staff is very professional, always helpful and interested in making certain your stay is perfect.
The dining facilities are excellent-well prepared and presented good food with good service. Pat,our concierge, was extremely helpful making sure we were able to do and see everything we were interested in. She arranged a guided tour through a lagoon in an electric boat-saw a huge rookery filled with local water birds. Saw alligators and turtles.
The highlight of the trip for us was a boat trip on the May River to see dolphins with Captain Andrew"Boo" Harrell. He was knowledgable and enthusiastic explaining about the history of the area, the Eco system and of course the dolphins. A trip with Captain Boo is not to be missed by anyone with an interest in or love of the low country-so fun and informative.
We will definitely return to this impressive resort when we need some pampering and would look forward to taking another dolphin trip with Captain Boo!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A truly remarkable resort, THE INN AT PALMETTO BLUFF was beyond our expectations. The main building looked like something out of Gone With The Wind, with elegant screened porches and a five star restaurant. Every night 3 blazing fires were set out front and long sticks, Hershey's bars, graham crackers and marshmallows were provided for make your own Smores. Our cottage had a view of the river, a screened porch, a gas fireplace, kitchenette/wet bar, king sized bed, claw foot tub, steam shower, his/hers marble sink and dressing room with his/hers closets. Our cottage came with two bicycles which we rode throughout the resort (miles and miles of paved bike paths that weave in and around the property). The two pools were appointed with everything from full fitness clubs and locker rooms to restaurant and bar service straight to your chaise lounge. We took several fitness classes (all complimentary) from yoga to spinning. The horseback riding facility was extraordinary- we should all live like these horses- and the Tennessee walker named Preacher I rode was like floating on air. We took a wonderful kayak tour of the May River, and day trips to Savannah were only marred by the fact that it was time away from this wonderful place. Probably the best thing of all was the Mercedes loaner program- guests can borrow the most top of the line Mercedes convertibles, sedans and SUVs for - get this- NO COST AT ALL, not even for gas- to take on excursions off property. Not only was it great not to have to rent a car, but the cars we drove were beyond luxurious and only added to the specialness of the trip. The natural setting was phenomenal and the wildlife was all around us-- from birds like heron to alligators, sharks, dophins, fox, deer, raccoons, flying squirrels.... and the people-- from the guests to the staff were about as friendly as I've ever met. I cannot rate this place highly enough. Just fabulous.

Room Tip: I would definitely splurge for a cottage with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First impression is of a beautiful resort nestled on the marshes of South Carolina amongst huge moss-draped trees. The architecture is lovely throughout. We were initially smitten with our cozy cottage accommodations. We enjoyed ourselves for the three days we were there, but it wasn't a perfect destination for us and we probably will not return. There are many destinations that beg a return visit; this resort did not do that for us.

The wedding events were lovely--oyster roast and tree house tour for rehearsal evening and the wedding in the charming little chapel followed by a fun reception for the big day itself. We were guests and not in charge of making those arrangements so cannot speak to efficiency, fulfilled expectations etc. of the wedding planning.

While the other amenities are varied--pools, kayaking/canoeing, boating options and even the biking within resort areas in our case there was a huge miss...air conditioning in all that humidity! Our cottage had problems from the get go. Apparently as an energy saver the AC shuts off when the door to the screened cottage porch remains open. Our problem was that it never re-set properly. With all the wedding activities we were in and out of the cottage so frequently that until we returned to get ready for a more formal event we didn't realize that once again the cottage temp still hovered close to 80 degrees. Engineering arrived to reset the system not from the thermostat, but from outside equipment only to have continued problems. We didn't sleep well waking up hot in the middle of the nite nor did we ever feel pulled together in our dress up clothes remaining sticky-humid, big-haired and then wind blown in our golf cart ride to the church wedding!

The staff at the resort is extremely well trained and always pleasant and helpful. Our meals were fine. We were disappointed to miss the huge firepit nite due to rain--which of course the resort could not control. We had a fun canoe outing and just an OK boating experience out of Wilson's Landing. The boat rental was originally to be a two hour excursion. When we returned at the prescribed time to take the trip it was now billed as an hour and a half cruise. It then departed an irritatingly 40 minutes late while often parking in the hot sun with no awning protection to tell a rather lame narration of the local stories instead of cruising the entire marsh area imparting factual history of the area, fauna and wildlife.

Perhaps some of our lack of desire to return is that this resort was not our personal choice, but instead was for the destination wedding. We wanted to fall in love, but we didn't. We much prefer the beach or land that is totally natural and doesn't seem as architecturally contrived or confined in a community pretty as it was. The resort did credit us an amount for the air conditioning inconvenience, but in our case we would have rather had the AC than the credit amount.

Green Features: Very good--in our case with AC conservation maybe too good!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Transcendent service, beauty, and comfort. The service is so good, you almost get the feeling they're not working at it -- that it's just the most natural way to act. The beauty of the grounds -- water views, huge old trees -- is almost preternaturally calming. The comfort of the accomodations almost makes you want to hang out in the room all day (which would be a big mistake, as there's much to do). (One small quibble: a little better lighting for reading in the room at night would be welcome.) While many guests rented golf carts to go between their cottage and the activity area (pools, restaurants, front desk), we chose to use the bikes that were provided. We biked on the trail around the golf course, kayaked in the river (spotting many nearby dolphins), swam in the gorgeous lap pool, got a great massage at the spa, and watched the herons, egrets & alligator (only one was seen). We were not sure to believe that they really loan out Mercedes, but it's true. We borrowed (no charge!) a convertible roadster (SL550, I believe) to drive into Bluffton for some fried chicken. What a treat! The 3 restaurants are all lovely and the food was excellent (though a few dishes could have used a lighter hand on the salt). Overall, this long weekend was even better than we expected and as good as it gets.

Room Tip: The higher the cottage number, the closer to the spa and the farther from the activity area (pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Eastsiders,
I am pleased to hear that you had such a delightful stay here at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had the chance to experience so many modes of transportation around the property, from bike to kayak to Mercedes, we enjoy sharing those experiences with you! We hope that your travel plans will bring you back for an even longer visit in the future!
Kind Regards,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I went to visit the resort after finding it online as a destination wedding site. I requested information regarding wedding packages and was presented with the following option (dated 2014):
"Sunday weddings that are tailored for more intimate party sizes of 25 – 50 guests require 5 cottages for 2 nights at an average rate of $400-$600 depending on the season, per cottage per night and a food and beverage minimum of $10,000. "
I spoke with them to confirm the package and scheduled a visit. After spending $600 per night for a weekend cottage, meeting with the new wedding planner Dale, and even selecting dates and menu options, I received my email estimate. In that, the minimum was $15,000 with 8 cottages for 3 days. I asked for the original package as quoted but was told that was not available. A "Sunday wedding" actually meant a Sunday arrival with a Monday wedding. Otherwise, the original quote was not an option. If your guests are arriving on Saturday, you are subject to the Saturday wedding food and beverage minimum of $40,000.
I absolutely loved the resort. I even chose my dress to fit the chapel. It is truly beautiful. But I absolutely can not understand the deception in the email proposal. Essentially, I spent over $1200 to visit a wedding site that is not within reach. I am terribly disappointed and can not understand why the resort is not upfront in their pricing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
CNPhair,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn and for sharing your feedback with us. I was incredibly concerned to read your comments, please trust it was certainly not our intention be deceptive. I have asked our Director of Sales and Catering, Paulette Peek, to reach out to you to discuss the situation and possible options further.
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Inn was absolutely beautiful - our luxurious cottage over looking the lake was incredible.......so peaceful and serene. The service was devine, and the meals were delicious. Our 2 year old Labrador had a great time too. Can't wait to come back here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.