We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a wonderful trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Quite a wonderful trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited the Inn to witness my son's wedding. Having never been to this locale before, we didn't know what to expect, but it was a breathtaking experience for us. Our host and hostess were the bride's parents, and from beginning to end, the weekend was unforgettable. The Inn itself (site of the reception) was lovely and decorated in exquisite detail. The ceremony in the charming chapel, a perfect site for such a memorable life event. Though we were assured the weather was unseasonably chilly for this location, we were not deterred. Our celebration at Moreland's was quite an enjoyable evening from hors d'oerves through dinner an entertainment.
All employees went above and beyond with grace and courtesy to ensure our experience was exceptional and unforgettable. Thank you seems so inadequate...guess you will just have to visit for yourself and determine my brief review falls far short of a precise and perfect description. Would love to think a return trip is in my future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    27
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
206
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at this resort even the weather was not cooperating. We had a mild winter in Jan-Feb. in 2013, but when we stayed at the resort, it was very cold day.

However, we enjoyed the bike ride around the resort, fabulous dinner, and beautiful morning sunrise on the river. We stayed at the creek-view cottage and we could peek the river and the sky from the front porch or reading knock.

The creek view from the cottage was also beautiful. And the amenity in the room was far beyond our expectation. We enjoyed fire in the fireplace with a cup of coffee. Thanks for good selections.

Only one complain is; bathtub is so clean and that is slippery, or maybe the tub is deep and I lost my balance. I cut my foot (a small cut), and have to call the concierge to bring me a band-aid. That was delivered 5 minutes or less with neat first aid kit. Thanks!

Next time, I would like to try weekend brunch at the river house restaurant. The breakfast at the cafe was not bad at all, but it didn't feel "special".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Imagine the idyllic view of the sunrise peeking through an ancient oak from your back porch. Peace and quiet and every request granted quickly and professionally by a friendly and well trained staff. The spa was a delight. If you need to be spoiled a bit, this is the place to go. My family was there to celebrate a wedding, and we couldn't have had a more carefree and joyous time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Sally F,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn and your kind comments. We are honored that your family chose Palmetto Bluff to host such a wonderful celebration. We hope that the next time you seek a tranquil getaway, Palmetto Bluff will be first on your list.
Kind Regards,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've stayed at many of the best hotels and resorts in the USA and I don't know how I missed hearing about Palmetto Bluff for so long.

This is an exceptional resort. Located in a 22,000 acre conservation area punctuated with some low density housing, the Inn at Palmetto Bluff is actually a small picturesque village that looks as if it was created for a movie set: trees dripping with Spanish moss, colonial style homes with wrap around balconies, rocking chairs on verandahs, a picture-postcard village church, a store, restaurant and cafe - all in the highest state of order. In the immediate vicinity there are miles of cycle tracks, rope swings hanging from tree branches, tree houses, a tidal river, inland waterways, wildlife galore - we saw an eagles nest, ospreys, armadillos, alligators and a multitude of other birdlife.

To get to the Inn you drive down a long four mile road through the former plantation, past a security office, over a couple of small bridges and into Wilson Village.

The Inn building itself houses some rooms but the best place to stay is one of the homes in the village. We had a two bedroom house that must have been 3,000 sq ft including balconies and verandahs. With two bathrooms upstairs, a downstairs toilet, laundry room, fully equipped kitchen (including wine 2 wine fridges), large dining/living area and numerous outdoor sitting areas, we lacked for nothing.

On our first day we collected complimentary bikes, which were ours for the duration of our stay, and went cycling through the forests. One day we hired kayaks and a guide and went kayaking up the tidal river adjoining the village. Apparently the river is a nursery for baby sharks, and whilst we weren't lucky enough to see any of these, we did spot a bottlenose dolphin. Much of the time, though, I just lay on a lounger on one of the upstairs balconies watching the osprey nest in a nearby tree and soaking up the remarkable atmosphere.

The cafe in the village is called Buffaloes and is the centre of village life. We ate breakfast there every day including such traditional southern specialities as grits and biscuits with sausage gravy - the latter tasting better than it sounds. We also ate at the main restaurant in the Inn - very good food but closed on Sundays and Mondays - and the one at the canoe club - also good food but in a less formal atmosphere (make sure you book in advance as it seems to be full every evening).

The set up is that as a resident at the Inn you can charge anything in the village to your room, which saves carrying a wallet around, and the staff everwhere are uniformly exceptionally helpful and friendly. In fact service is one of the outstanding features of the whole resort.

One of the things I particularly liked was that everything felt completely safe and secure. There was very little traffic, which meant small children could be left to wander freely, and we didn't feel the need to lock our car or home (although we did anyway out of habit).

One of the other reviewers complained about the lack of towels. I shared this complaint until our last day when I opened a cupboard under the washbasins and found a stack of spare towels - Note to management: you might want to put these somewhere more obvious. My only other complaint was that the pillows were all man made fibre rather than feather. I know I could have called housekeeping and they would probably have sorted it out, but somehow I never got round to it.

All in all, a very special place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
BQD,
We are most appreciative of your detailed comments. It sounds like you had a truly wonderful time on your visit with us. I was glad to hear that you were able to go kayaking in the river and see the dolphin, that is such a special activity at our property. Since you've just now heard of us, you've got some catching up to do, we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If heading to Hilton Head for business or pleasure (couples or family) this is the place to stay provided you don't mind not being directly on the island.

I stayed three nights in one of the cottages with a river view. It had a large sitting room, a screened patio, spa-like bathroom (with shower steam) and separate sleeping quarters. The bed and linen was luxurious and offered a wonderful night's sleep.

Service is impeccable and the Inn defines "southen hospitality" at its best.

This is the ideal place for either a family outing or a couples retreat. You can lounge all day enjoying the scenery and wildlife or stay active in the 24 hr fitness center, bicycling the property or enjoying a swim in their salt-water pool.
The golf course on the property should also not be missed. In my opinion, one of Jack Nicklaus' best designs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Robert T,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed playing the May River Golf Course, it is an exceptional Nicklaus design. I also appreciate your comments regarding our southern hospitality. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Inn again sometime soon.
Kind Regards,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff for a long weekend. It was fantastic. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The lagoon view cottage was great, very clean with every amenity. Sitting on the screened porch drinking a bottle of the complimentary wine while watching the snowy egrets and alligators was a wonderful way to spend a relaxing afternoon. Riding in the golf cart or on bikes (both included with the cottage) was the best way to see the resort. They offer several good dining options from formal to very casual, all with exceptional food and service. If you're looking for a very elegant but comfortable resort with a lot of activities that also has a lot of natural open space for some quiet time with the local wildlife, I highly recommend the Inn at Palmetto Bluff.

Room Tip: All of the cottages have either a river or lagoon view. Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
David W,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn and your kind comments. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed dining in the restaurants on property. Just this week we were named as Bon Appetit's Top 7 Food Lover's Hotel. I am delighted that you had the chance to experience this first hand and hope you will plan a return visit soon.
Kind Regards,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Carolina low country is beautiful, and the Inn does not disappoint. A most amazing physical experience, with Spanish Moss covering the many trees, and countless lagoons and streams and a beautiful river. The reception is welcoming and the service equals the ambiance.

The cottages are absolutely perfect, with everything you would want, and decorated beautifully and comfortably. Whoever designed them knows what they are doing. The motor cart service is prompt and works well, although the walking around is quite easy, over bridges and past lakes and with views of the big river, tidal marshes and low country.

Dinner was superb, the wine and service superb. Breakfast in another location was casual and perfect. Whoever directs the personnel here should be congratulated, the staff is perfect. One could not pay enough to equal the cost of the grounds and improvements and operations, but being retired now, I would come more often if the rates were lower.

Room Tip: Stay in the lowest priced cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Papa70,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. I particularly appreciate your recognition of the staff. We are very fortunate to have professionals that are genuinely dedicated to providing an exceptional level of service for our guests. We hope your travels will bring you back to the Inn sometime soon.
Kind Regards,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Family Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. A large pool area with multiple pools, fitness center and movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities offered including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course and lawn and tennis facility. A wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.