We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - southern style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Palmetto Bluff to your Saves list
Montage Palmetto Bluff
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise - southern style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the second you drive in you feel your shoulders start to lower and the stress of life go away. The details, the staff, the cottages, the food, the wine, the attentiveness, the marshmallows by the fire, the wine in the room, the steam showers and bathtubs, the porch to relax, the bikes, the Mercedes, the kayaking, the massage outside with the smell of fresh mowed lawn, the music, the lazy days, the tree house, the croquet game, the mossy trees, the coffee, the magnolias, alligators, the horses.....shall I keep going? Its Amazing - stay there - and soon. I loved every single second!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is one place that likes to accommodate you in a most caring way...its all the little things they do that keep us coming back. the cottages are really fun and the natural lands around the facility are gorgeous, full of life, and beautiful. We get such relaxation out of our trips to Palmetto bluff, and have found this a wonderful place to ride a bicycle on their spacious trails throughout the property. the three Restaurants are great, the food is good, and the staff makes our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Lagoon view has a wonderful way of sharing all the birds that come in to nest on the island for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodrezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Seven of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our visit was from 12/25-12/31. We rented a 5 bedroom house that was top notch, very comfortable and within walking distance on most activities. We were given bikes to ride around the property and given cars to drive into Savannah and nearby Bluffton.
You wouldn't think there would be much to do but we kayaked, played golf, rode horses, swam in their 82 degree lap pool, worked out, and had a choice of group workouts every day.
And the eating choices were excellent, from buffets for breakfast to gourmet cuisine at night.
Easy drive from Savannah Airport and 30 minutes if you want to go to Hilton Head.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had planned this trip for months. Three days prior, wife came down with flu.
With wonderful assistance for Pat and Holly, our concierge, we adjusted plans and made the best trip possible under the circumstances.
Folks want into town for us to gets meds, staff accommodated her needs as health allowed, food was perfect and our last night, chef and staff made a customized and perfectly romantic in room dining experience.
Despite illness, it was the PERFECT trip. I cannot recommend the food, spa, cottages or staff highly enough.
We have stayed at some of the finest resorts and hotels in North America and this was, by far, the absolute best!!!!
The blend of hospitality, personal service, attention to detail, flexibility and quality is unsurpassed.

Room Tip: Cottage view of May River.......#33
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We came down for a wedding between Christmas & New Years. The reception was warm, friendly and efficient. Our cottage was well designed, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Large, well appointed bathroom with a steam shower & large tub was a pleasant surprise. Linens were exceptional. Areas to improve: no HD ESPN, and very few HD channels. Inexcusable in a 5 star resort which has an excellent 50" LCD. Pillows far too soft, and bed mattress was a bit soft. A light was out in the bathroom throughout out stay which housekeeping didn't change. The grounds were nice, dining excellent, though limited. Several gas lights throughout the ppty were out, yet gas flowing. Potentially hazardous but no one seemed concerned. Wonderful Inn overall with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful setting on the river. Only 1 golf course but a great golf staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelltraveledWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I wanted to dine at the Palmetto Bluff Inn on Dec 24th for our 34th wedding anniversary. Knowing it was a busy time for Palmetto Bluff, I called 10 days in advance. A polite woman named Elaine told me she could not take a reservation at that time, but promised me that her manager would call me or email me within a day or two. I waited three days, heard nothing, called again, and left a voice message, repeating my phone number and requesting a call about a dinner reservation. I waited another three days, called again, and hung up on the automated phone attendant. Then I made other plans for our anniversary.

As locals, we have enjoyed several meals at Buffaloes, but wanted to dine at the Inn for our special occasion. If my experience is indicative of the service provided at this restaurant, I'm glad we went elsewhere. Give Sublime Prime Steak House and Wine Bar in historic Bluffton a try. We did and we were not disappointed. Quality food, nice ambience, class service, fair prices.

Room Tip: We did not stay there. We just wanted to dine at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Deb W.,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our service on TripAdvisor. It is feedback like yours that makes us aware of our opportunities and helps us to continually improve our levels of service.

I was extremely disappointed to learn that we failed to return your repeated calls for dinner reservations. I hope you know that this is not at all in keeping with the high standard of product and service we strive to provide here at Palmetto Bluff. I want to extend my sincere apologies for this experience and the inconvenience it created for you.

Deb W., our Director of Food and Beverage, Jeremy Walton, will be reaching out to you to discuss the situation further. Our guests and potential guests are all very important to us. We hope to have the opportunity to win you over once again.

Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our 2nd time at the Inn and just really love staying at this place. Cottages are beautiful and the shower area with steam bath is so unique. Loved being able to hop on our bikes to ride around.

The only issue was the hot water would not stay hot very long but the staff took care of that promptly. But had a cold shower one morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the river view vs the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#1 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Cottage Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing