We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Relaxing! Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Skillman, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! Relaxing! Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Palmetto Bluff and plan on being repeat vistors. The
cottage suites feel just like home. The views of the water, the screened in porch and the
cozy feel, make you want to stay in your room all day!
You do not need a car during your stay, because once you arrive you won't want to leave.
Golf course was outstanding! The entire staff go out of their way to make sure
the level of service is top notch.
A resort not to be missed!

Room Tip: The extra cost of the water view suite is worth every dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    25
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
68
200
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

In the Fall, we usually try to spend some time in the mountains.This year, we elected to go to the Low Country. It started raining driving through the mountains and was pouring when we arrived at Palmetto Bluff shortly after dark. Our cottage was at the very end, so the ride through the moss covered trees in the rain was both eerie and pretty.The well-appointed cottage was very comfortable and the grounds were immaculate. One small irritant was having to order ice.The office sized refrigerator didn't have an ice maker. My wife relaxed and went to the Spa which she really liked. We visited friends in Hilton Head and enjoyed some local cuisine. I'm an avid outdoorsman but honestly was bored after a couple of days. I should have taken time to go on a red fish trip. I played golf at the resort. The course is manicured and well maintained but over priced. Depending on your tee selection, it can be challenging for the average golfer. My caddie was nice, but he really wasn't much help. One night we ate dinner in the "casual" restaurant. I was one of only a few not wearing a jacket. The service and food were both good. Overall, the entire stay was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A most beautiful property that does not disappoint on any level. The cottage suites are simply devine: the best linens, furnishings, lighting, even a sub-zero small refrigerator for complementary refreshments! The dressing area is amazing: large deep drawers, ample hanging space with an abundance of wood hangers, and a table and chair- perfect for a make-up station. The bathroom is beyond belief- all marble with spotless white porcelain and modern fixtures. The king size bed has fine white linens, and feather pillows fit for a king and queen. The entire area is lushly decorated with the very best of fabrics and attention to detail. At 1340 square feet, this is like a charming little home! I was sorry I was only there two nights. Very very expensive and worth every dollar.

Room Tip: Cottage and cottage suites are perfect. They come with two bicycles as well to enjoy the property. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've lost track, but I think was our 10th trip to Palmetto Bluff. This time we dragged along 8 couples to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday at the end of September. Months of advance planning and preparation culminated into a truly epic weekend. Kudos, to Heather, Rob , and Hugo for making the weekend so amazing. Private booze cruise on Friday evening, Golf, tennis, spa, and some of the best food you have ever eaten. Be sure to try the Cuban at Buffaloes. I make a point to have one daily! Super easy drive from Charlotte and on arrival greeted by the same friendly bellmen, Gregg and Madu that always know your name. Our guests were all treated like VIPs, and kept asking why they had never been to the Bluff before. Thanks to all for making such a memorable weekend!
If you are as picky about resorts as I am, Palmetto Bluff is exceptional. Truly 6 stars in my book.
And if you like Caribbean travel, be sure to check out our other favorite, the uber luxurious Amayara in Turks and Caicos. We are headed back there in a few weeks..need another vacation to recover from the birthday.

Room Tip: We like Cottage 13, 15, or 17. And be sure to request a golf cart for tooling around the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear CLT_Doc,
Thank you for your loyal patronage and for choosing to celebrate your wife's birthday with us. I am pleased to hear that you had such a memorable experience with your friends for your wife's celebration. Repeat guests, like you, are what make our jobs even more enjoyable. I particularly appreciate the recognition that you provided for several members of our team, they are truly what make our property special.
We look forward to welcoming you back and we'll be sure to have a Cuban waiting for you at Buffalo's!
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently returned to Palmetto Bluff for a 4 night stay. The accomodations (huge king -bed cabin) are unmatched. The setting is incredibly peaceful and beautiful. Each of the meals we had at both the River House and Canoe Club were delicious and creative. There are a myriad of activities - top notch spa and one of the best golf courses in the US. To golfers: the course gets very little play and is immaculately maintained. I played 2 rounds, each in about 2 1/2 hours.

My only nit is that the daily fee for a golf cart ($45) is out of line. You really needhave a cart unless you are staying in a cottage relatively close to the main area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I hardly know where to start with the accolades... there is so much to appreciate about this resort. The staff that is so friendly and helpful, never forgetting to call you by name is a nice touch. We stayed in a lovely cottage suite that was so appealing, only the beauty of our surroundings could entice us to vacate it occasionally. The grounds were gorgeous and the view of the river from our comfy screened porch was the best place to relax and enjoy our all too brief visit. Our days were filled with golf on a well maintained course, bass fishing in the lagoon in the resort provided canoe and equipment - We caught 3 nice sized bass by the way! We rode the complimentary bikes that came with our cottage on the resort bike paths for hours and took advantage of the personal golf cart to do some extra exploring when we wanted to kick it up a notch. Oh, the spa is wonderful as well. I enjoyed a massage but found the facial by Karen was even better. We opted for private dining for several breakfasts and a dinner and the food was great and service was fast. We also enjoyed the big fire and the smores on the grounds at the Inn. The adult pool was nice and clean as was the whirlpool - it just needs to stay open later and not close at 8:00PM :-( The cottage had it all - the gas fireplace was wonderful, the offerings in the mini-frig at the kitchette, steamer shower, bathrobes & slippers, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and DVD player, upscale inviting furnishings - everything was excellent. The only things I would change would be to provide over-the-top plush towels, increase the selections on the private dining menu and keep the adult pool & whirlpool open until at least 10:00PM. I'm already trying to figure out when I can go again!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Drove from Hilton Head, about a half-hour drive. It was Saturday late afternoon, and we watched the bridesmaids and bride enter the chapel for a wedding. What a treat to see! Had appetizers sitting on the screened porch and they were reasonably priced and fabulous. As dusk settled, the 3 fire pits were lit and young and old made and ate smores at the fire.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.