We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the BEST RESORT in the South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Play in a Home
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easily the BEST RESORT in the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've lost track, but I think was our 10th trip to Palmetto Bluff. This time we dragged along 8 couples to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday at the end of September. Months of advance planning and preparation culminated into a truly epic weekend. Kudos, to Heather, Rob , and Hugo for making the weekend so amazing. Private booze cruise on Friday evening, Golf, tennis, spa, and some of the best food you have ever eaten. Be sure to try the Cuban at Buffaloes. I make a point to have one daily! Super easy drive from Charlotte and on arrival greeted by the same friendly bellmen, Gregg and Madu that always know your name. Our guests were all treated like VIPs, and kept asking why they had never been to the Bluff before. Thanks to all for making such a memorable weekend!
If you are as picky about resorts as I am, Palmetto Bluff is exceptional. Truly 6 stars in my book.
And if you like Caribbean travel, be sure to check out our other favorite, the uber luxurious Amayara in Turks and Caicos. We are headed back there in a few weeks..need another vacation to recover from the birthday.

Room Tip: We like Cottage 13, 15, or 17. And be sure to request a golf cart for tooling around the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear CLT_Doc,
Thank you for your loyal patronage and for choosing to celebrate your wife's birthday with us. I am pleased to hear that you had such a memorable experience with your friends for your wife's celebration. Repeat guests, like you, are what make our jobs even more enjoyable. I particularly appreciate the recognition that you provided for several members of our team, they are truly what make our property special.
We look forward to welcoming you back and we'll be sure to have a Cuban waiting for you at Buffalo's!
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    33
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
80
222
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently returned to Palmetto Bluff for a 4 night stay. The accomodations (huge king -bed cabin) are unmatched. The setting is incredibly peaceful and beautiful. Each of the meals we had at both the River House and Canoe Club were delicious and creative. There are a myriad of activities - top notch spa and one of the best golf courses in the US. To golfers: the course gets very little play and is immaculately maintained. I played 2 rounds, each in about 2 1/2 hours.

My only nit is that the daily fee for a golf cart ($45) is out of line. You really needhave a cart unless you are staying in a cottage relatively close to the main area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I hardly know where to start with the accolades... there is so much to appreciate about this resort. The staff that is so friendly and helpful, never forgetting to call you by name is a nice touch. We stayed in a lovely cottage suite that was so appealing, only the beauty of our surroundings could entice us to vacate it occasionally. The grounds were gorgeous and the view of the river from our comfy screened porch was the best place to relax and enjoy our all too brief visit. Our days were filled with golf on a well maintained course, bass fishing in the lagoon in the resort provided canoe and equipment - We caught 3 nice sized bass by the way! We rode the complimentary bikes that came with our cottage on the resort bike paths for hours and took advantage of the personal golf cart to do some extra exploring when we wanted to kick it up a notch. Oh, the spa is wonderful as well. I enjoyed a massage but found the facial by Karen was even better. We opted for private dining for several breakfasts and a dinner and the food was great and service was fast. We also enjoyed the big fire and the smores on the grounds at the Inn. The adult pool was nice and clean as was the whirlpool - it just needs to stay open later and not close at 8:00PM :-( The cottage had it all - the gas fireplace was wonderful, the offerings in the mini-frig at the kitchette, steamer shower, bathrobes & slippers, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and DVD player, upscale inviting furnishings - everything was excellent. The only things I would change would be to provide over-the-top plush towels, increase the selections on the private dining menu and keep the adult pool & whirlpool open until at least 10:00PM. I'm already trying to figure out when I can go again!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Drove from Hilton Head, about a half-hour drive. It was Saturday late afternoon, and we watched the bridesmaids and bride enter the chapel for a wedding. What a treat to see! Had appetizers sitting on the screened porch and they were reasonably priced and fabulous. As dusk settled, the 3 fire pits were lit and young and old made and ate smores at the fire.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

They greet you by name when you check in but what is amazing is they continue to address you by name through your stay. This includes bell/valet and front desk. The property is fantastic. If you are interested in outdoor activities you can swim laps in the adult only lap pool, kayak,golf, etc. you get around by riding bikes. There are so many paved and dirt trails that you can ride forever. Probably the best part was the showers. We stayed in a river view cottage but really any cottage has a good view. Tons of wildlife. Kayaked next to dolphins feeding today.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at one of the Village Homes for our friend's wedding and it was simply wonderful. The house had 4 bedrooms and easily allowed for enough space for 4 couples to stay.

Each house has a cute front and back porch and hotel amenities.

The grounds were beautiful and the drinks at the bar at the Inn were yummy.

Also, the resort is a quick 40 min ride to Savannah.

Great experience, we will come back again with family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I noted another reviewer wrote that they were not sure it got any better, and I would tend to agree. Myself and my girlfriend travelled to a friends wedding, which took place at the chapel, with reception at the Inn. In addition, there was a rehearsal dinner at the golf club the night before. We stayed with another couple in one of the houses. I don't think it's possible for there to be any more amenities possible to ensure you have the utmost comfort. We had the use of a golf buggy for the time spent, or bikes if we preferred. We had full use of the gym, pool and various other activities going on. We also had an 18 month child in the party, but everything was available to ensure he was catered for as well. The wedding itself was splendid, and the staff played no little part in this. The whole place is a town miles away from any distractions or annoyances, in an idyllic waterside location. It really is the ultimate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
9.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. A large pool area with multiple pools, fitness center and movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities offered including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course and lawn and tennis facility. A wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.