We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be our favorite place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Rates for Fall
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could be our favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I recently returned to Palmetto Bluff for a 4 night stay. The accomodations (huge king -bed cabin) are unmatched. The setting is incredibly peaceful and beautiful. Each of the meals we had at both the River House and Canoe Club were delicious and creative. There are a myriad of activities - top notch spa and one of the best golf courses in the US. To golfers: the course gets very little play and is immaculately maintained. I played 2 rounds, each in about 2 1/2 hours.

My only nit is that the daily fee for a golf cart ($45) is out of line. You really needhave a cart unless you are staying in a cottage relatively close to the main area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I hardly know where to start with the accolades... there is so much to appreciate about this resort. The staff that is so friendly and helpful, never forgetting to call you by name is a nice touch. We stayed in a lovely cottage suite that was so appealing, only the beauty of our surroundings could entice us to vacate it occasionally. The grounds were gorgeous and the view of the river from our comfy screened porch was the best place to relax and enjoy our all too brief visit. Our days were filled with golf on a well maintained course, bass fishing in the lagoon in the resort provided canoe and equipment - We caught 3 nice sized bass by the way! We rode the complimentary bikes that came with our cottage on the resort bike paths for hours and took advantage of the personal golf cart to do some extra exploring when we wanted to kick it up a notch. Oh, the spa is wonderful as well. I enjoyed a massage but found the facial by Karen was even better. We opted for private dining for several breakfasts and a dinner and the food was great and service was fast. We also enjoyed the big fire and the smores on the grounds at the Inn. The adult pool was nice and clean as was the whirlpool - it just needs to stay open later and not close at 8:00PM :-( The cottage had it all - the gas fireplace was wonderful, the offerings in the mini-frig at the kitchette, steamer shower, bathrobes & slippers, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and DVD player, upscale inviting furnishings - everything was excellent. The only things I would change would be to provide over-the-top plush towels, increase the selections on the private dining menu and keep the adult pool & whirlpool open until at least 10:00PM. I'm already trying to figure out when I can go again!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Drove from Hilton Head, about a half-hour drive. It was Saturday late afternoon, and we watched the bridesmaids and bride enter the chapel for a wedding. What a treat to see! Had appetizers sitting on the screened porch and they were reasonably priced and fabulous. As dusk settled, the 3 fire pits were lit and young and old made and ate smores at the fire.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

They greet you by name when you check in but what is amazing is they continue to address you by name through your stay. This includes bell/valet and front desk. The property is fantastic. If you are interested in outdoor activities you can swim laps in the adult only lap pool, kayak,golf, etc. you get around by riding bikes. There are so many paved and dirt trails that you can ride forever. Probably the best part was the showers. We stayed in a river view cottage but really any cottage has a good view. Tons of wildlife. Kayaked next to dolphins feeding today.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at one of the Village Homes for our friend's wedding and it was simply wonderful. The house had 4 bedrooms and easily allowed for enough space for 4 couples to stay.

Each house has a cute front and back porch and hotel amenities.

The grounds were beautiful and the drinks at the bar at the Inn were yummy.

Also, the resort is a quick 40 min ride to Savannah.

Great experience, we will come back again with family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I noted another reviewer wrote that they were not sure it got any better, and I would tend to agree. Myself and my girlfriend travelled to a friends wedding, which took place at the chapel, with reception at the Inn. In addition, there was a rehearsal dinner at the golf club the night before. We stayed with another couple in one of the houses. I don't think it's possible for there to be any more amenities possible to ensure you have the utmost comfort. We had the use of a golf buggy for the time spent, or bikes if we preferred. We had full use of the gym, pool and various other activities going on. We also had an 18 month child in the party, but everything was available to ensure he was catered for as well. The wedding itself was splendid, and the staff played no little part in this. The whole place is a town miles away from any distractions or annoyances, in an idyllic waterside location. It really is the ultimate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to attend a wedding here last weekend, and my thoughts mirror those of many of the other reviewers. It was like stepping back in time to a more relaxed, genteel time, albeit with a lifestyle which was probably only experienced by an elite few. The spanish-moss-covered live oaks were spectactular and set the stage for the weekend's festivities, which can only be described as over the top. From the first night low-country boil to the dessert table after the reception, everything was top notch. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in all instances. The room was - or actually cottage - was spacious and very well appointed. The steam shower was a luxurious change of pace. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks really helped make the weekend for active folks like us, and topping off the exercise with a delicious lunch at Buffalo's almost felt justified...At least until we dug into those very delicious and decadent chocolate covered cookie dough lollipops...One word of advice, all parking is valet, and bags are transported by golf cart to your room, so try to not just toss everything in your car for the trip down like we did. We had to quickly try to compact/pack all our stuff to make it transportable to the room.

Room Tip: The wildlife on the lagoon side was amazing...We really enjoyed watching all the egrets from the exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.