We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed before, will never come again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed before, will never come again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Family friendly. Family friendly. Family friendly. Lie. Lie. Lie. They will take your money and resort fees, tell you again and again how family friendly they are and then NOT LET FAMILIES USE THE POOL! This is not a hard and fast rule though, as I was being escorted away today when my sleeping toddler and I were the ONLY ones using the pool, I was told that if we had come 3 dys earlier we could have used the pool??? Instead we were told to walk, no kidding, across the community not even to a facility owned by the Inn, to a crappy private club residents use. I called the front desk to make sure I wasn't being punked. Yes. Families during certain times of the year have to use this pool. Shame. Shame on you all for NOT advertising, posting, or even telling us this while you charge us for first class amenities, and shuttle us off to third class. Thinking we'll check out tonight and hope the Woodlands Inn has some availability.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear JuliaGulia2,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Inn at Palmetto Bluff. I genuinely appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. Please trust that as we continually strive to enhance our service standards, your feedback plays a critical role in that process.

I was extremely disappointed to learn that your experience left you feeling as though we were not a family friendly resort. As you know this is not at all in keeping with the high standard of product and service we strive to provide here at Palmetto Bluff. We do have two pools available to guests that are both a part of our resort amenities. In the spring, summer and fall when both facilities are open, our Canoe Club pool is our family facility, while our River House pool is used for adults. This is to ensure that all guests can enjoy activity at the pool that suits their individual needs. Both pools are maintained by the resort and are held to the same standards for service and presentation. I truly want to extend my sincere apologies for your experience and the inconvenience it created for you.

It is my hope that your stay was otherwise enjoyable and that your travel plans will provide for a return trip to The Inn at Palmetto Bluff. If I can now or at any time in the future be of personal assistance to you, please do not hesitate in calling.

Sincerely,
Marty Wall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This property is spectacular! Our cottage was very large, with a fireplace and suana shower that was fantastic. Everything about our room was great - refrigerator, large dressing area, big comfy chairs facing the fireplace, large screened in patio, and wonderful bed linens that made you want to stay in bed all day! Bicycles for us to explore the property. The River rRestaurant and the Canoe Club both had outstanding food, service, and ambiance. All of the staff were professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. The spa was also top shelf and a great place to go for a couple's weekend, or a girl's retreat! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

But only off season, otherwise it is not in our budget.$$$$$.
The best spa. So quiet, no pollution.
Different restaurants, all very good.
Service excellent and tip is included!
Simply the best

Room Tip: They are all the same. The view is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Luxurious and quaint, restful and active, an absulutely incredible getaway. I wish we had more time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and we will be back. The staff was amazing, the room was great. The only thing I think can be improved on is more dining options and more on the restaurant menus. They should also have a more reasonable place to eat if you just wasnt some quick casual food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Where to start! I started looking at this place a few years ago when they first opened. We would constantly get brochures in the mail, but thought it was a little to pricey. We were looking for someplace to unwind after Christmas. We decided on Palmetto Bluff, We were not disappointed!!! From the moment we drove onto the property we new we were in for a treat.
When you dirve through the gates you are given a tape to listen to, that tells you all about the property. Check in was seamless, they were wating for us when we arrived at the main house ( the gate alerts them that you are on the way).. The cottage, ranks up there with the top 5 places that we have stayed and we travel extensively. When I say that I am a pickey germaphobe, it's an understatement! The cottage was very beautiful, spacious and CLEAN. Our reservation included dinner and breakfast. If you like pancakes, buffalos is the place! We can't wait to go back to play Golf this Spring! There is a small butlers pantry with a fridge and microwave in the cottage. My husband and I took wine and chesse that we enjoyed each night before dinner.
This place is worth every penny. If you are considering visiting Palmetto Bluff don't hesitate, you will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage close to the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton. NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is truly an amazing property. We went offseason on our way south when the rates are much more reasonable. We booked through AMEX Platinum to assure an upgrade, but all the accommodations appear outstanding. Our cottage was wonderful and the staff was very helpful, though a little aloof. It is worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.