We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great weekend get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Where to start! I started looking at this place a few years ago when they first opened. We would constantly get brochures in the mail, but thought it was a little to pricey. We were looking for someplace to unwind after Christmas. We decided on Palmetto Bluff, We were not disappointed!!! From the moment we drove onto the property we new we were in for a treat.
When you dirve through the gates you are given a tape to listen to, that tells you all about the property. Check in was seamless, they were wating for us when we arrived at the main house ( the gate alerts them that you are on the way).. The cottage, ranks up there with the top 5 places that we have stayed and we travel extensively. When I say that I am a pickey germaphobe, it's an understatement! The cottage was very beautiful, spacious and CLEAN. Our reservation included dinner and breakfast. If you like pancakes, buffalos is the place! We can't wait to go back to play Golf this Spring! There is a small butlers pantry with a fridge and microwave in the cottage. My husband and I took wine and chesse that we enjoyed each night before dinner.
This place is worth every penny. If you are considering visiting Palmetto Bluff don't hesitate, you will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage close to the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton. NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is truly an amazing property. We went offseason on our way south when the rates are much more reasonable. We booked through AMEX Platinum to assure an upgrade, but all the accommodations appear outstanding. Our cottage was wonderful and the staff was very helpful, though a little aloof. It is worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Was a perfect mixture of relaxation and activity. Wonderful food, beautiful location. Good for kid and family or equally for couples.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Well, I wouldn't really call Palmetto Bluf a "resort" ... For starters, the accomodations are almost too nice...you don't want to leave the cottage. The service is very friendly, but not over the top. If you can't relax at PB you don't know how to relax. Just go and check it out...you'll be back!

Room Tip: Splurge on a river view cottage...great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Absolutely incredible getaway, on an amazing property with such rich history. From the moment we drove onto the premises and were greeted warmly at the gate by the attendant, until we left three days later, nothing could have been done better.

At the gate, the attendant gave us a CD to listen to on the four mile drive into the property. The audio commentary provided a perfect introduction to the philosophy surrounding the property's development plan.

As we pulled up to the Inn, we were surprised by the "Welcome to the Inn, Mr. and Mrs. Whistman." How did they know it was US?! Oh, the gate attendant called ahead, describing our vehicle and giving our name. THAT was a classy touch.

A beautifully appointed cottage with a view of the May River, with fireplace already lit and chilled champagne waiting, was our lodging for the stay. A bellboy took us and our bags by electric cart to the location, and gave us a VERY thorough tour of the amenities of the room, down to where light switches for each feature was located. An electric golf cart and two nice bicycles were also staged outside our cottage for our exclusive use during our stay.

We loved the immaculately groomed property,with its isolation from the main road (with the four mile drive into the property down tree-lined paved driveways surrounded by meadows, golf courses and woods). The fact that no gas powered vehicles are used off the main roads adds to the peaceful tranquility of this amazing resort--bicycles, people walking, or quiet electric carts get you around.

We did dine at two of the locations--The Canoe Club for dinner, and Buffalos for breafast. Both continued the same high level of service and quality we experienced elsewhere on the resort.

Fire pits, lit each night outside the main Inn, overlooking the river and boat dock, with seating around them, were a wonderful way to end the night. This was made better only by the fact that the resort also provides long sticks, marshmallows, graham crackers and a very high quality milk chocolate square for making s'mores. The area is so dark at night, you can see every star.

We went off property for dinner one night, and took advantage of the resort's relationship with Mercedes-Benz; just call the concierge and if a car is available, you can take a nice new Mercedes for FREE off property. We went to Richard's Pour House in Bluffton for our anniversary dinner--also a wonderful and energetic location with amazing food.

We'll definitely be back--my wife and I both agreed that this resort was the most amazing location we've visited in the U.S. It's not cheap, but we took advantage of a winter special and it's definitely true--"you get what you pay for." Prepare to be pampered at this resort!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the Inn; ask for a river view cottage for the most amazing vacation you'll ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just returned after a blissful 4 nights at the Inn at PB. The Inn was an easy 40 minute drive from Savanna airport and the 4 mile drive down the private road just heightened our anticipation! We were not disappointed- the private tree lined road opens up into the delightful village square, bang on the May river. The Inn itself is on the square across the ruins that you can see on the resort website. Our car was valet-ed and not needed till we departed. Our cottage was not ready when we arrived, so we had lunch at the May River golf grill. It was good..very reasonably priced and a killer view of the 18th hole.

Once our cottage was ready- wow!! Cannot agree more with other reviewers…it was even better than the pictures on the website. Although our river view was not as direct as some others..it was amazing! The river and the pine forest combined make a landscape that is postcard perfect everywhere one looks. The bedroom was huge, and stocked with complimentary waters, snacks and iced teas. We used the covered porch for room service breakfast each morning, and it made for an extremely relaxing start of the day. The bathroom was probably my favorite part of the cottage- right out of a Southern home design magazine! The steam shower was addicting. I will say, I thought for the time of year, I felt there was more wildlife activity on the lagoon than the river. I guess we were not up early enough to catch the dolphins, but we always saw some kind of cool bird or turtle in the lagoons by just walking past.

We had booked 2 Winter Wonderland packages for a total for 4 nights and I cannot recommend it enough! It included breakfast at Buffaloes everyday (we ate there once, and did room service all other days from the same menu to get some extra ZZss), 2 dinners (we did Canoe club one night and River house another), 2 activities per person (we did 2 massages each at the amazing Spa). The only thing we had to pay for was alcohol and gratuities. The other nights we did the New Years Eve dinner at the River house and room service from the Canoe club. The River house is very traditional in terms of styling and food; Canoe club was a little more our style, more contemporary all around. The Canoe club also has fantastic views of the River from the balcony , a perfect spot to grab a few cocktails prior to dinner. Buffaloes breakfast was good- a little slow in service, but that is just the pace of the relaxed Southern life, which we slipped into after a few days.

The crowning glory of the Inn is hands down the natural beauty, and the excellent manner in which the developer has enhanced it with the Inn and the entire resort/homes. As you can see from the website, the Inn is just one part of the 20k acre development that offers luxury homes and amenities such as the golf course, equestrian center, boat storage etc and even the cutest little convenience store where you can buy all the essentials like wine, champagne or cheese! All thru our stay, we interacted with ‘members’, the owners of the homes, be it at the fire pits each night or at the restaurants. That is absolutely the way to go- have a house there! Depending on where the house is located, it can also be part of the Inn’s rental program and are listed on the website. We definitely plan of taking our family back and renting a house..some of the ones we saw had amazing porches with outdoor fireplaces overlooking the lagoon or river. We also had a golf cart along with the usual bikes each cottage receives- so much fun to drive around the entire resort in your own golf cart. It was especially useful during the chilly nights, when walking to and from dinner was not very appealing. The bikes were just as you can imagine- liberating! For city folks like us, it was just so delightful to bike around the resort..you have to take a ride down to Moreland, a little picnic spot about 3 miles from the Inn. Be sure to get a picnic lunch packed from Buffaloes and some chilled wine! The bike ride itself is like out of a movie. During our stay the weather was great- mid 60s, a long sleeve shirt+ light vest and jeans more than enough for day time excursions.

Another aspect of the resort that separates it from other US five star properties- the senior management is very involved and engaged. From the GM – Marty, to David- director of guest services, Brett- reservations manager, all were genuinely concerned with making our trip as relaxing as can be. It was especially thoughtful given the resort was at 100% occupancy and am sure they had a lot on their plate. The concierges- Pat and Rick, were both very interactive from the time I made the reservation, till the very end giving us directions to the airport. Like all Auberge properties, PB also has the deal with Benz where you can borrow one of the Resort Mercedes and drive around to wherever you like. Just make sure to reserve the Benz of your choice before hand with the concierge. We tested one of the S class hybrids with a lunch trip to Savannah..not bad, a few hours at the most are more than enough..we couldn’t wait to get back to the resort!

I would also recommend bringing a few bottles of your favorite wines..they are extremely handy to sip on your porch or even bring to the fire pits at night to accompany the smores. The room bar does offer the Inn’s own Napa cab, which was excellent too.

In summary, the Inn at Palmetto Bluff and the entire property is truly a fairy tale come to life! Especially for city folks, this place will just completely relax you and take you away from the crazy stress of everyday life. And at only a 2hr flight from the East coast, you cannot beat the value or convenience- enjoy Palmetto Bluff!

Room Tip: Lagoon views seemed to have more wildlife activity during this time of the year. If you are an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We just finished our second stay at Palmetto Bluff and it remains our favorite destination on the East Coast (and, really, any place other than West Coast and island destinations that are too different to compare). The grounds are stunning, the cottages so large and comfortable that you just want to move in forever, the activities endless (so much more than just golf; check out the outfitters and get on the water if you really want to understand the beauty of the place) and the sense of space and ability to spread out and never really feel cramped unique. But what really makes the place is the staff. It is just extraordinary how genuinely nice and helpful all of them are, these are people you want as friends in your life and not just functionaries. Folks like these can be hard to find in relatively remote areas and Palmetto Bluff has clearly found the best, make them happy and kept them around for years. That says alot about the priorities of the owners and the emphasis they place on a top-notch property. I could go on but we will be back yet again and tell everyone we know about this. It is a ten hour drive for us and worth every minute to get there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.