We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmetto Bluff- Perfect Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Rates for Fall
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Palmetto Bluff- Perfect Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just returned after a blissful 4 nights at the Inn at PB. The Inn was an easy 40 minute drive from Savanna airport and the 4 mile drive down the private road just heightened our anticipation! We were not disappointed- the private tree lined road opens up into the delightful village square, bang on the May river. The Inn itself is on the square across the ruins that you can see on the resort website. Our car was valet-ed and not needed till we departed. Our cottage was not ready when we arrived, so we had lunch at the May River golf grill. It was good..very reasonably priced and a killer view of the 18th hole.

Once our cottage was ready- wow!! Cannot agree more with other reviewers…it was even better than the pictures on the website. Although our river view was not as direct as some others..it was amazing! The river and the pine forest combined make a landscape that is postcard perfect everywhere one looks. The bedroom was huge, and stocked with complimentary waters, snacks and iced teas. We used the covered porch for room service breakfast each morning, and it made for an extremely relaxing start of the day. The bathroom was probably my favorite part of the cottage- right out of a Southern home design magazine! The steam shower was addicting. I will say, I thought for the time of year, I felt there was more wildlife activity on the lagoon than the river. I guess we were not up early enough to catch the dolphins, but we always saw some kind of cool bird or turtle in the lagoons by just walking past.

We had booked 2 Winter Wonderland packages for a total for 4 nights and I cannot recommend it enough! It included breakfast at Buffaloes everyday (we ate there once, and did room service all other days from the same menu to get some extra ZZss), 2 dinners (we did Canoe club one night and River house another), 2 activities per person (we did 2 massages each at the amazing Spa). The only thing we had to pay for was alcohol and gratuities. The other nights we did the New Years Eve dinner at the River house and room service from the Canoe club. The River house is very traditional in terms of styling and food; Canoe club was a little more our style, more contemporary all around. The Canoe club also has fantastic views of the River from the balcony , a perfect spot to grab a few cocktails prior to dinner. Buffaloes breakfast was good- a little slow in service, but that is just the pace of the relaxed Southern life, which we slipped into after a few days.

The crowning glory of the Inn is hands down the natural beauty, and the excellent manner in which the developer has enhanced it with the Inn and the entire resort/homes. As you can see from the website, the Inn is just one part of the 20k acre development that offers luxury homes and amenities such as the golf course, equestrian center, boat storage etc and even the cutest little convenience store where you can buy all the essentials like wine, champagne or cheese! All thru our stay, we interacted with ‘members’, the owners of the homes, be it at the fire pits each night or at the restaurants. That is absolutely the way to go- have a house there! Depending on where the house is located, it can also be part of the Inn’s rental program and are listed on the website. We definitely plan of taking our family back and renting a house..some of the ones we saw had amazing porches with outdoor fireplaces overlooking the lagoon or river. We also had a golf cart along with the usual bikes each cottage receives- so much fun to drive around the entire resort in your own golf cart. It was especially useful during the chilly nights, when walking to and from dinner was not very appealing. The bikes were just as you can imagine- liberating! For city folks like us, it was just so delightful to bike around the resort..you have to take a ride down to Moreland, a little picnic spot about 3 miles from the Inn. Be sure to get a picnic lunch packed from Buffaloes and some chilled wine! The bike ride itself is like out of a movie. During our stay the weather was great- mid 60s, a long sleeve shirt+ light vest and jeans more than enough for day time excursions.

Another aspect of the resort that separates it from other US five star properties- the senior management is very involved and engaged. From the GM – Marty, to David- director of guest services, Brett- reservations manager, all were genuinely concerned with making our trip as relaxing as can be. It was especially thoughtful given the resort was at 100% occupancy and am sure they had a lot on their plate. The concierges- Pat and Rick, were both very interactive from the time I made the reservation, till the very end giving us directions to the airport. Like all Auberge properties, PB also has the deal with Benz where you can borrow one of the Resort Mercedes and drive around to wherever you like. Just make sure to reserve the Benz of your choice before hand with the concierge. We tested one of the S class hybrids with a lunch trip to Savannah..not bad, a few hours at the most are more than enough..we couldn’t wait to get back to the resort!

I would also recommend bringing a few bottles of your favorite wines..they are extremely handy to sip on your porch or even bring to the fire pits at night to accompany the smores. The room bar does offer the Inn’s own Napa cab, which was excellent too.

In summary, the Inn at Palmetto Bluff and the entire property is truly a fairy tale come to life! Especially for city folks, this place will just completely relax you and take you away from the crazy stress of everyday life. And at only a 2hr flight from the East coast, you cannot beat the value or convenience- enjoy Palmetto Bluff!

Room Tip: Lagoon views seemed to have more wildlife activity during this time of the year. If you are an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We just finished our second stay at Palmetto Bluff and it remains our favorite destination on the East Coast (and, really, any place other than West Coast and island destinations that are too different to compare). The grounds are stunning, the cottages so large and comfortable that you just want to move in forever, the activities endless (so much more than just golf; check out the outfitters and get on the water if you really want to understand the beauty of the place) and the sense of space and ability to spread out and never really feel cramped unique. But what really makes the place is the staff. It is just extraordinary how genuinely nice and helpful all of them are, these are people you want as friends in your life and not just functionaries. Folks like these can be hard to find in relatively remote areas and Palmetto Bluff has clearly found the best, make them happy and kept them around for years. That says alot about the priorities of the owners and the emphasis they place on a top-notch property. I could go on but we will be back yet again and tell everyone we know about this. It is a ten hour drive for us and worth every minute to get there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

Truly amazing and relaxed experience!!! Perfect getaway with so much to offer! Little touches and friendly service make all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The food at Buffalo's is very good. You can eat inside or outside. It's a popular place because it's so good. The wait staff are very good and highly trained. After eating, I recommend strolling around the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonvile, Fl
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

An absolute pleasure from start to finish. The pictures really don't do the rooms justice. Complete luxury and the entire resort is just so quaint and lovely. We were charmed by the bicycles parked outside our cottage. One tiny nit: bring your own shampoo. The Inn's shampoo is like shower gel, absolutely awful! Have the chocolate cake concoction at The Canoe Club!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I first visited Palmetto Bluff in 2008. My fiancé (at the time) and I fell in love with it so much that we decided to get married there a year later. We had our choice of anywhere in the world to get married and we chose Palmetto Bluff.
The ambience is magical. It is the only way to describe it. We are from NY and are big travelers. We can honestly say that there is no place in the world like The Inn at Palmetto Bluff. We have gone back every year since our wedding to relive the magic of this place. The accommodations are lush and perfectly detailed. The food is five-star and the service can't be beat.
Make sure you experience the smores by the fire pits at dusk.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. They are all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is without a doubt the best Inn in the South Carolina and the Southeast US. Service is top shelf and delivered by the friendly staff at all levels. The early cocktails on the porch overlooking the May River and the 1920's wooden boat "The Grace" tied up at the pier. This is the way Southern Comfort should always be served up. Rooms are very comfortable and the amenities abundant and easily accessible with golf, spa, horseback riding, cycling, fishing and boating and so many other activities within a short drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional but if you like to view nature at it's best you'll want to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.