We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalos- A Great secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Play in a Home
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Buffalos- A Great secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I recently visited Buffalo with my husband and my sister-in-law. We had heard about the Inn at Palmetto Bluff from our neighbors in Beaufort and they loved it! We had an amazing time as well! The food was excellent- everything from the fried green tomatoes to the Buffalos burger with housemade pimento cheese. My sister-in-law said that her housemade hot dog was the best she had EVER eaten! Our waitstaff was incredible as well; they anticipated all of our needs, including when my husband spilt his water all over the floor! We have never felt so welcome at such a beautiful place. After lunch we took a stroll over to the chapel and the long dock that stretches over the May River. We have recommended Buffalos to all of our favorite friends and it has turned out to really impress them! Thanks
-Claire and Robert in Bluffton, SC

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    31
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
77
220
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Instead of one hotel, this property is composed of many cottages. Each has a wet bar, a seating area, large bath, dressing room, screened in porch, and one or two bedrooms. Everything is wonderful! We were there in February, and the weather cooperated. When it rains, staff will provide transportation in golf carts. No cars are allowed around the cottages. We were able to walk everywhere, day or night. Bonfires for s'mores are lit at night. Afternoon tea is provided at times. Food in all the restaurants was great. Had a wonderful fig martini one afternoon! This is equally good for families or for a romantic weekend for two.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We live close by to the resort and decided to treat our visitors to lunch during their stay. After a walk around the grounds we settled in to lunch at Bluffalos. What a treat. The soup of the day was clam chowder and it was prepared with all fresh ingredients. The special was shrimp po boy sandwich. Large fresh May River shrimp were breaded and fried and served on a long roll with lettuce, tomatoe and avocado with an aoli dressing. Others in our party ordered the cuban sandwich. Both were very good. The sides were a choice of fresh fruit, cole slaw or kettle chips. We each had a different side and all were very good. The kettle chips were fresh potatoes fried and served in a basket still warm. The dessert we all shared since the lunch portions were so large was a small pecan pie tart. Not the best I ever tasted but acceptable. The view and service were exceptional. This will definitely be a favorite we will return to over and over again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had lunched at Palmetto Bluff but never spent a night, so we tried it last weekend. The place is an old paper company tract of 20K acres, most of it unoccupied. It's on a bluff, as indicated by the name, overlooking the May River on the SC coast near Beaufort and Savannah,GA.
The original developer apparently had unlimited access to many dollars, and spared no expense in the amenities, which of course led to the inevitable bankruptcy and takeover by the banks. Fortunately, the place was pretty well established by then, and continues to be maintained at a very high standard.
Staff: 5 stars most helpful bright pleasant knowledgeable as a matter of fact, our caddie was a college graduate who knew a surprising amount about the details of the resort's history.
Accomodations: 5 stars equivalent to those we've had at Cabo at Los Ventanas and Cap Juluca with big bedroom, gas log fireplace, huge dressing room, bath with steam shower The room is half of a cottage overlooking the river and has a huge screened in porch to enjoy the view.
Food: Buffalo's for lunch excellent River Room formal dining room, excellent, we had lump crab appetizer, shrimp&grits(much better than the usual in this part of the country), scallops
Unfortunately we tried the Canoe Club the second evening, and were much less impressed with their culinary efforts. "Crispy" duck was essentially deep fried and way too much fried for our tastes. The room was very attractive, the servers very friendly, but the product just didn't measure up. Too bad , but not the end of the world.

Golf: exquisite Nicklaus course winds through a forest of pine, oak, and hardwoods, with occasional marsh views. Well maintained, fast greens (Stimp 11) and many tee choices to appeal to all levels of skill.

It is expensive. Dinner for two with wine and tip: over $220 rooms around $700 per night plus all of the usual add on taxes and fees

We will go back when we can afford it.

Room Tip: ask for a cottage on the riverfront and probably close to the inn offices
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I dont want to spoil all the wonderful details of this property- so my opinion is: If you can afford to go to The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, just GO! You will LOVE IT!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is our third visit to the Inn at Palmetto Bluff and it was just as fabulous as previous occasions. As you drive down the tree-lined road to the resort you can feel yourself relaxing. We again stayed at one of the West Wilson homes where you are provided with a golf cart and bikes. Both fun ways to get around and no need to drive the car. All the staff gave us a very warm welcome back and we were made to feel particularly special by Andrew and Rahim. Nothing is too much trouble. It is so nice to return to a resort and get the same fabulous service you received on previous visits. We will be back . . .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

In our opinion, the Inn more than lived up to its top ranking in the travel press. The cottage was huge, well-appointed, and had the most fantastic shower (rain head, hand-held, regular, and steam!) I've ever seen in any hotel or resort. Wish we had relaxed on the screened porch longer, but we were too busy playing golf on a fantastic, beautiful golf course and riding bikes through the property. And the River Room dining experience was absolutely top quality - from beginning to end.

Room Tip: It's more convenient to be in a cottage closer to the Inn, especially if walking in the dark is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. A large pool area with multiple pools, fitness center and movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities offered including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course and lawn and tennis facility. A wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.