We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impeccable service; great dining; and total relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“impeccable service; great dining; and total relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

From the moment you drive through the gate your stress level drops to zero. my wife and I visited for a 3 night stay over labor day weekend and we were thoroughly impressed! We stayed in a quaint cottage overlooking the may river and enjoyed all the amenities you could ever want. From the fine dining at the River House to the laid back May River Grill at the golf course every meal was exceptional. We rode our bikes everywhere and if we needed a ride for dinner the bell staff gladly picked us up at our front door. My wife was pampered at the spa while I enjoyed a round of golf with a caddie on one of the nicest courses I have ever played. We enjoyed biking, kayaking, and relaxing by the adult only pool. This is the perfect place for a honeymoon or a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: there are only about 60 cottages and all are separated by landscaping so you feel secluded-we recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The property is very large and magical. Could be great for a company retreat or family reunion. I enjoyed the cruiser bikes they provided. The rooms are all like little cottages and quite spacious. I'd suggest this property though the price tag was a little steep. Luxury has its price I guess!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed in a Cottage Suite with my wife and children. When entering Palmetto Bluff, you will receive an audio CD to listen to describing the area as you drive to the Inn. Upon arriving, they will valet your car and replace it with a golf cart to drive around (of course they will bring all your luggage to your room). There is also a nightly bonfire by the inn every night with supplies to make smores available by the front desk. Living Room has a fireplace you can light up with the flick of a switch, ceiling fans in both rooms, as well as a screened in porch overlooking the May River with access to the porch from both the living room and bedroom. From that porch, and if you walk out closer to the river you can see dolphins feeding in the river in the morning hours. The screened in porch allows you to enjoy sitting outside without worrying about the bugs you will undoubtedly experience being in such a natural location. In addition to the May river, there is also an interior lagoon in which you can kayak, canoe, or rent an electric boat, in there you are likely to view alligators, turtles, and birds. Fishing is also possible in either the lagoon or the river. There are two pools, one for adults only and one that is family friendly, plenty of room around the pool so that it will never feel crowded. Taking the golf cart around on some of the nature trails is also quite fun. There is a tree house that is close to the inn, and even a larger one in Moreland (about a 20 minute golf cart ride) worth visiting. Had a minor issue with the room one night and they did everything possible to rectify it right away, and even offered us to switch to a neighboring room. Guest Relations made sure to call up and did what they could to make it up to us for the inconvenience. Truly top-notch service you don't find easily these days. Proximity to Hilton Head Island in about a 20 minute drive, but after a visit to Hilton Head, you are likely to enjoy Palmetto Bluff much more.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the May River and you will be rewarded with dolphin viewing right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I visited this place, and ate dinner at the Inn twice. I think it's one of the most beautiful locations... just enchanting. My dinner on both occasions was very good, but expensive. Still, despite the pricey menu the atmosphere is worth it. I was fortunate to have perfect weather too. I will visit the Inn everytime in the Hilton Head area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

This ranks as one of the nicest places we have ever been to. Our cottage was superbly appointed & very large. The facilities are first class & the grounds are amazing. The spa is beautiful & the treatment I had by Karen was expertly carried out. The only complaint was the lack of maid service on a daily basis. For the price being paid, one would expect a bed to be made & fresh towels on a daily basis.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I both agree that Palmetto Bulff was the BEST hotel/resort we've ever been! We live in SC, so knew about the heat (aug) and came anyway. Could not have been more perfect. There is NOTHING I can complain about. The cottages are perfection! I went in several (we had friends with us) and they were all fabulous! We were in Forest view. It is a forest view, but same exact room that the river view was. The river view was absolutely gorgeous though. I do agree with the other reviews, the complementary water in room, pool, etc was a great touch. LOVED the coffee maker, half and half in room. We ate at all 3 restarants several times and never had a bad meal. I thought the food was well prepared and priced as fair as any other resort I've visited. Don't hesitate if you want THE BEST service and amenities anywhere! Try paddleboarding....so fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very comfortable cottage. LOVED the shower, complete with regular and rainshower heads and steam function. The bed was very comfortable, and best of all we had room to spread out and put our stuff. The closet/dressing area was a great example of this.
The screened in porch was also key... complete with seating, lighting, and ceiling fan.
The staff were all wonderful. We also enjoyed the pool and workout facility. The grounds were very well-kept.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.