We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent three day vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Save Saved
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer's Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent three day vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Words are hard to express this vaction spot. It is a five star resort to go and stay. My wife and I stayed in one of the cottages and our two chilren and seven grandchildren stayed in a house next to the main Inn.
The service are fanastic and everyone one was so friendly. We rode bikes, fished in the pond (Caught several 2# Largemouth Bass), hiked aound the grounds, children played in all the tree house, rented a golf cart to get around faster, ate in the Inn. had Chocolate smoras on the bonfire and all the children went swinming in heated pool.
We went to Bluffton for lunch one day which is only a10 mile drive.
We highly recommend this resort for Family or just a couple to get away for a weekend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    22
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
181
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Nothing I could say would give this wonderful resort justice. A one of a kind. The kind of place where you have to believe the wealthy frequent not because it is expensive but so perfect. Everything and everyone was "just" right. Classy, southern hospitality, great good, fantastic accommodations..... Nothing went wrong, nothing to complain about. I loved it, my finicky husband loved it. Auberge Resorts you have my attention!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I went to Palmetto Bluff for a 30th birthday trip in February 2011 as part of the Winter Wonderland Escape package which included complimentary breakfast both mornings and dinner one night at the River House. We paid $520.00 per night (lagoon view) for the package. We drove down from our home of Charleston after rave reviews from friends. We had high expectations and they were met in every way. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a river view cottage. If you are requesting a river view, I would suggest aiming for cottages numbered less than 33 (the lower the better the river view). We were also provided a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates for my husband's birthday. The weekend we visited was the annual dog weekend known as "Woofstock" and we brought our little dog who was welcomed just as a regular guest. (surcharge of $25.00 per day for doggie) This hotel is incredibly pet friendly so you should definitely consider bringing your 4 footed friend. We rented a golf cart for the entire stay (which I highly recommend) for a surcharge of $45.00 per day. This place is massive so I would plan on getting the golf cart for the entire stay. We also had the complimentary bicycles to use for some exercise. One of our favorite activities was the complimentary canoeing where we saw otters, alligators and beautiful wood ducks.

I don't need to say anymore than what has already been said about the cottages. They are truly amazing and we were on the porch the entire time. People griping about the palmetto bugs, hot water temperature and leaves in gutters are just nit-picking. The bathrooms/amenities/Frette bathrobes/magnifying make-up mirror gave us all of the conveniences of home. Beds were amazing!

We ate at May River Grill one night (the Canoe Club was closed for renovations). My husband and I split the shrimp and grits appetizer and NY strip along with sides of buttermilk potatoes and collards. The food was above average and price was slightly high but about what I expected. We enjoyed the food but agreed that it was not earth shattering. Service was wonderful: pleasant and prompt!

Complimentary in-room breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings arrived prompt and hot. Lunch Saturday was at Buffalos and the best meal/value of the trip for me. Unfortunately, it was not open for dinner. We had the steak and cheese sandwich and the homemade hotdog (something to try). The homemade ice cream is not to be missed either.

Dinner Saturday night was complimentary at the River House. My husband and almost every other gentleman in the dining room were in jackets so I would definitely suggest a blazer for dinners here. Since the meal was included in our package, we did not hesitate to order some of the most expensive items on the menu: crab cake appetizer for me, lobster/crawfish bisque for him and the housemade charcuterie/cheese platter to split. All were delicious. Entrees were Kobe beef and King crab/prawns. Both were above average: presentation was wonderful, perhaps better than taste. Price was hefty: tab for dinner (although comped in the end) plus 3 $10.00 glasses of wine was over $200.00. I have had better meals before for less but I acknowledge that this resort is in the middle of nowhere with no competition to keep them in check and thus, exactly what I (and you) should expect.

Check-out at noon (awesome) was flawless and complimentary bottles of water were waiting in the car. One thing to note that others have not mentioned yet is that the equestrian center is a highlight not to be missed. I am a long-time horse person and the equestrian center is brand new and I had to check it out. If you want to go on a trail ride with your family or just ride a horse for an hour or so, you should definitely plan to do this. This amenity really sets Palmetto Bluff apart. At least go by and check it out!

NOT TO MISS: canoeing, marshmallow roasting at night, "porching", eating ice cream at Buffaloes on the patio, riding the golf cart and going off the beaten path-

We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed with the family for the weekend and went back to work feeling so well rested! Everything was 5 star. My kids, who are almost teens, were really taken care of like the little adults I like to think they are. Plus the food was so good I think we might make the couple hour drive there just to eat!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Cottage had a funny smell...Heard dining room had a new chef...food still had no flavor. Waitress was rude and we felt like she had no time for us...Location is still beautiful though.. Wish this place would get it together...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The Inn at Palmetto Bluff is a wonderful, relaxing resort in a spectacular setting of lush coastal forest, marshes, and riverfront. For those who love the beauty & tranquility of the Low Country, this is a magnificent destination. The property has been beautifully preserved, with development limited to a small number of well-designed homesites and tasteful architecture, with the inn, cottages and shops laid out in the manner of an authentic historic village.

The guest cottages are a short distance from the main lodge, and are easily reached by bicycle, a ten minute walk, or complimentary golf cart shuttle. The cottages are beautiful and very comfortable, with screened porches, ample chairs and couches, and luxurious bed and bath appointments, they are a wonderful place to relax, rest, or socialize. Service throughout the resort was friendly, attentive, and helpful.

There are a host of outdoor and fun family activities including swimming, kayaking, tennis, nature hikes, riding, and cookouts. Althought not a beachfront location, day trips to the beach in Hilton Head (45 mins away) can easily be arranged. Take a three mile bike ride to Morelands Landing, climb the treehouse, and you will feel like the Swiss Family Robinson in a subtropical paradise.

For either a quiet romantic getaway or a fun family vacation, this is an outstanding destination that is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Simply the best in USA, piping Rancho Valencia and streets ahead of Montage. If you book package and the reservations agent says 'all gratuities included' they aren't 18% in added everywhere. But if you come here you won't resent it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Family Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.