We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walnuts Wows!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnuts Cafe

Walnuts Cafe
70 Pennington Dr Ste 20, Bluffton, SC 29910
8438152877
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 157 Restaurants in Bluffton
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Walnuts Wows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Located in the back of an unassuming strip mall off the main drag, Walnuts is anything but ordinary. We went to Walnuts Cafe to celebrate my mother's birthday. They were able to accommodate our large lunch party (7), and gave us a nice table in the back. The lunch offerings were excellent. Classic comfort foods with a gourmet twist. My mother had the crab cake salad and could not stop raving about it. I chose a very tasty cheese-steak served on great crusty bread with just the perfect balance of beef, au jus, onions, and cheese. The fries were crispy and flavorful. Everyone in the party was delighted with their meals. We finished the lunch with a slice of Key Lime pie and the amazing Chocolate Volcano cake. I was sitting on the wrong end of the table for that one, and had to fight with my five year-old for a chance to scrape the chocolate covered plate clean.

The service was prompt and pleasant, the restaurant clean and welcoming. Next time you are in Bluffton, do not miss a chance to dine at Walnuts Cafe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    37
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Creative and Flavorful Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband read about this Bluffton restuarant on line so we decided to try it for breakfast this monring. The menu selections showed great promise and imagination. I ordered one of the Sunday brunch specials which was a horseradish and citrus pork tenderloin eggs benedict variation. It was unbelievably delicious with a great balance of flavors. My husband ordered a dish with the chef's homemade corned beef hash which was savory and also delicious with so much tender corned beef beef that my husband brough leftovers home.

We were both very pleased with our experience at Walnuts Cafe. We look forward to returning soon for another delicious breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the food. It is a very cute place with good and different food. I wasn't sure if I was going to like their soup of the day and they let me try it first. It was delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Walnuts has added dinner to its offering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very tasty and creative food. This was the sixth night they served dinner and if this is anything like they will be going forward then the Bluffton/Hilton Head area has a great new dinner spot. Walnuts is well known for its breakfast and lunch service but the dinner food, service and atmosphere may even be better. Enjoy!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Walnuts gives great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whenever I visit my sister in Bluffton, she always takes me to the best places to eat. This time it was Walnuts. The mozzarella cheese sandwich was delicious and thoughtfully prepared. The folks running the place are friendly and the restaurant is busy for good reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnuts Cafe also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Walnuts Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnuts Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.