We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and folks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluffton Oyster Co.

Bluffton Oyster Co.
63 Wharf Street, Bluffton, SC
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 161 Restaurants in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alaska
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great food and folks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a fabulous time! Our map quest took us first to their fishing dock but we had a wonderful visit with the owner as well as better directions. This is a wonderful local family seafood restaurant and we had a great time with our steamed oysters and all. So tasty and different from what we're used to, with a fun, puzzle like activity to find and enjoy all those oysters in the clumping way they grow.

Great service with friendly folks, good and plenty of food. Yes, i suppose it is a bit quiet if you're looking for a wild and crazy place, but we can't wait to come back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh seafood, great prices and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stumbled upon the oyster factory in our walking tour of old Bluffton, and they recommended we try the restaurant, since it sources their oysters, crabs, and shrimp! We were glad we did. She crab soup was creamy and delicious, oyster po boy was outstanding, shrimp were sweet and fresh. Bluffton is a cute place and I'm sure we'll be back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,509 reviews 1,509 reviews
1,014 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
3,030 helpful votes 3,030 helpful votes
“The shuckers are very hard working ladies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Bluffton Oyster Company is a visual from history. Visitors should note that the Bluffton Oyster Company is a historical entity, and the Bluffton Oyster Company restaurant is offsite from the Bluffton Oyster Company. Comments about the Bluffton Oyster Company restaurant actually are in the Bluffton restaurant section.

Bluffton Oyster Company is a real “dock” shucking building. Take some time to view the whole scene. The shuckers are very hard working ladies, and we can not master their art. Visitors may view the process, but may not film the process.

Please do not dismiss Bluffton Oyster Company as an “old building.” Bluffton Oyster Company is a real treasure. Fresh oysters, shrimp and other seafood arrive daily, and the seafood products are for sale.

We enjoy a purchase of oysters to take back to our Marriott villa at SurfWatch. We then mix the oysters with a raw egg and panko and fry in a buttered hot skillet. WOW! We do this is moderation, and the Bluffton oysters are a cherished part of our five annual visits to Hilton Head.

We always include a day trip to Bluffton and we stop at the Bluffton Oyster Company to purchase a pound of oysters, shrimp, and the catch of the day. Bluffton Oyster Company will offer a free small bag of ice for our return trip to Marriott Surf Watch on Hilton Head.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

watching the oyster shuckers but be aware you can't take any pictures of them
great selection of seafood and local fish to buy
very helpful and informative staff

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine, USA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fresh Shrimp are a WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stop in to see the real seafood market, and load up on Shrimp and Oysters. Fresh catch fish of many varieties are available. All in all, A GREAT VALUE, and a cultural event. Do not miss this.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluffton Oyster Co. also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bluffton Oyster Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluffton Oyster Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.