We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous outside, average inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Bluffton Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bluffton
New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Gorgeous outside, average inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and we do come back for the location. We have several very favorite restaurants in the area and always like to make a quick trip over to see friends and shop around Hilton Head. Even though this hotel is on the edge of a shopping center, it is actually a plus instead of a minus. The beautiful hotel looks like you are entering into a lovely oasis. I just wish the rooms were a little cleaner and fresher. This is a very busy hotel but the hotel staff is helpful and welcoming. I think they just need a bigger cleaning staff to handle all the work. We continue to come back here. Keeping this hotel smoke and pet free would be a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you like are location. Many of our guests enjoy the close proximity to shopping and dinning here in Bluffton. We are smoke free and just successfully completed a full remodel. I will pass along your comments to our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    61
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
64
78
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I thought the hotel was a good deal for the money and enjoyed my stay there. The coin operated dryers do not work well and I ended up taking my laundry to the local laundromat in order to dry them. The hotel is very busy and there was a mass of people checking in and leaving. The noise in the hallway is hard to cope with at times but once inside the rooms, unless it is really rowdy, it is hard to hear outside. Overall, I had a nice stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We were unaware of any issues with our equipment and have alerted our maintenance team about the problem. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn Express for the past four years and once again had a wonderful stay. The staff at the hotel, including Brandy and Amber are very attentive, welcoming, and make me feel at home. I had informed the staff about a late arrival and they were prepared for me and made the check-in process very smooth. Upon my arrival, I noticed some significant upgrades to the hotel. The hotel looks very modern and very well light. You can tell that they continuously try to improve the quality of the hotel and it shows. As for the room, it was very clean, spacious and comfortable. I normally don't do breakfast at hotels, but was very impressed by the quality of the food and the variety. My wife and I had pancakes, sausage, toast, yogurt, fresh coffee, and eggs and everything was good. We also had a chance to take advantage of the pool, which was very well maintained. Finally, the proximity of the hotel to the great beaches in Hilton Head and to the shopping in Bluffton were excellent. It is also a short drive to Savannah as well, which is a great location as well.

Room Tip: Every room at the hotel is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Our staff works very hard to ensure our guests stay is a positive experience. It is always nice to hear another person's view of our hotel as I am slightly biased. It was a pleasure to work with you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not convienently located at all. It was out dated and not real clean either. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was horrible. It was old tasting and just not good at all. I wouldn't stay here again and this sheds a poor light on holiday inn express hotels in general.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. . We just finished a million dollar remodel and recently received an award from Intercontential Hotel Group for our remodel work. Our breakfast offers a variety of items that try to meet all of our guests needs and that is required per Holiday Inn. Thank you again for your comments and hope that you will consider our brand in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been staying at the Bluffton Holiday Inn for 6 years when we vacation a week in Hilton Head. Every year it gets better. From the Newly remodeled lobby to the free breakfast. Excellent service for the price. They also have a brochure rack that has all the things to do on vacation in Hilton Head. Also the front desk is more than happy to help you find anything in this rack. The breakfast area has been newly remodeled. You are able to get away from your room to either enjoy there big screen Tv or just sit and read. This is a must stay on your way to Hilton Head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a wonderful Labor Day weekend in Bluffton/HH, SC. The hotel was spotless and smelled great. The check in process was very smooth and easy, Amber was very helpful and asked if we needed directions. She also was very accomodating and let us check in a little early so we could hit the beach!
Our room was very clean and crisp, I have a slight case of OCD and am not really a big fan of hotel bedding but it was clean and had a slight bleach scent which makes me happy. The maid did an excellent job!
When we came back from the beach they had freshly made chocolate chip cookies in the lobby...yummy!
We stayed two nights and loved the location, we ate dinner at the Italian place within walking distance (Gisuppe's) it was very good! There is also a grocery store near by where you can pick up any items you needed.
The last morning my husband brought me up some coffee from the breakfast buffet and a fresh cinnamon bun, it was fantastic (warm & gooey)!
We checked out and headed home. Once I started unpacking I realized I left my toiletry bag on the back of the bathroom door. I panicked because it holds all my face washes and lotions..and would cost me a ton to replace. My husband called and spoke to Chris, he was so nice and helpful! I described all the items in the bag and he told me it would be no problem to mail it back to me in Charlotte. I was shocked that they kept it and even more shocked at how sweet and patient Chris was. He told me not to worry, he would have it sent right away and charge the card we had on file. I will 100% be staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Bluffton next time we visit. Thank you for the hospitality and for making our stay perfect!

Room Tip: The fourth floor was great, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and staff. Our staff works hard to ensure our guests are extremely happy with their stay. We look forward to hosting you all again at out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Everything was good till later on in the night when myself an my other friend who smoked wanted to relax outside were rudely interrupted by the night audit telling us to get out of the pool area so we did unhappily, next morning the breakfast was terrible, only thing I could eat was the yogurt, I have had better hospitality at days inn

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I am sorry for your issues with our pool hours of operations. I can assure you that we try to accommodate our guest with various smoking locations around the hotel property. However, as a courtesy to our guest staying on the first floor adjacent to the pool area we have to honor the pool operation hours. I hope that you will consider our location again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton

Address: 35 Bluffton Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#3 Family Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Bluffton in Hilton Head, SC. Our hotel is the perfect location for anyone who is visiting graduates of USMC-Parris Island, planning a beach vacation in Hilton Head Island, SC or visiting the historic cities of Beaufort, SC & Savannah, GA. Bluffton, South Carolina, is the home of several championship golf courses to Hilton Head Island. Call us to plan your next golf vacation package. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Bluffton in Hilton Head, SC is centrally located in the shopping district of this historic town and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, & within minutes of the most recognized golf courses in the area. Bluffton, SC is the gateway to Hilton Head Island, filled with everything you'd expect to find at a world famous resort. While vacationing at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Bluffton in Hilton Head, SC, uncover the hidden treasures of this South Carolina beach & golf vacation paradise. Explore & enjoy the Hilton Head Beaches, kayaking, fishing, dolphin/dinner cruises, sunset sails, golf packages, shopping, historic tours, or simply relax at our seasonal outdoor pool. Plan a day trip to visit the beautiful, historic towns of the Old South : Savannah, GA - 25 MI Historic Charleston, SC - 90 MI Beaufort, SC / Parris Island - 20 MI Step back in time and experience the history that made South Carolina a place to vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bluffton
Holiday Inn Express Bluffton
Holiday Inn Bluffton
Hilton Bluffton
Bluffton Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.