We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“valentine's day - good food but obnoxious dogs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
38 Calhoun St, Bluffton, SC 29910-7014
843-757-0508
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 157 Restaurants in Bluffton
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Winner of Hilton Head Monthly Reader's Choice Awards and Best of Bluffton Awards in 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011 and 2010! Sit back and relax in this cozy, 1868 Low Country cottage, then savor delicious, sophisticated fare for Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Early Dining, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. Breakfast items include Green Eggs N' Ham, Cottage Hash, French Toast, Huevos Rancheros, and a long list of Benedicts! Lunch includes award-winning Tacos, Pot Pies, Awesome Salads, Lettuce Wraps, Paninis, the BEST Fried Green Tomatoes EVER, and house specials such as B'Town Gumbo, Shrimp & Grits, Lobster Avocado Roll, Cranberry Trout , Flounder Amandine and more! The Cottage features 20-30 different desserts every day. Award-winning Pistachio Cake is a MUST! Choose from the daily delectable assortment of pies, cakes, cookies, bread pudding, dessert bars, brownies, shortbread, corn bread, homemade granola, cheesecakes, local honey and more! The Cottage offers a full bar including wine and beer, house-roasted coffees, cappuccinos, lattes, espresso and more than 75 loose-leaf teas to choose from. Dine indoors or out on the wrap-around porch. Pet friendly. Reservations suggested for parties of five or more.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“valentine's day - good food but obnoxious dogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We both enjoyed the fish tacos, one of the many lunch specials of the day. Menu is creative and everything fresh. Unfortunately, we sat on the porch which had been enclosed with plastic sheeting due to chilly weather. It's a small area with tables barely big enough for 2 people. There were 2 large dogs on the porch - 1 very smelly and the other rambunctious. The dogs were with a couple that did little to restrain them from lunging at wait staff and slobbering over customers. Recommend that the restaurant rethink their pet friendly policy. Not sure what to rate this experience, since I did not have an enjoyable lunch despite the quality of the food. The doggie odor kept wafting our way, mingling with food aromas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    94
    27
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Each time better than the last...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been several times, and each time is a better experience than the last. My wife once again got the Lobster Pot Pie, only now they have improved it to being a Lobster and Shrimp Pot Pie - just as much lobster, and chock full of fresh shrimp! I went a little different direction this time and went with the Crabby Cow Filet Mignon - a wonderful combination of a quality filet topped with a fresh crab cake and smothered in Hollandaise sauce. It is served with fresh green beans, grilled squash and a fresh cornbread muffin. Both dishes come with The Cottage's excellent house salad tossed in a wonderful balsamic dressing. My wife loves their sweet tea, and I prefer their unsweet mint tea. Top it all off with decent service and a wonderful setting, and you have a great place to enjoy lunch on a gorgeous sunny Saturday afternoon.

We opted to sit on the porch this time. Even though it was a bit chilly outside, the heaters kept the porch warm and cozy. One of these days we will save room for dessert!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful Lunch in Quaint Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful lunch here for the second time! We sat out on the front porch and watched the people on Calhoun Street coming and going from the local galleries/shops with their wares. I had the Chicken Parmesan with the house salad. Their balsamic vinaigrette was the best I ever had - I would buy it if they bottled it! And the chicken parmesan was delicious. There are so many deserts to choose from and so delicious. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ladies Tea with yummy desserts and sandwiches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My group had a Ladies Tea event here and I wish I hadn't eaten before I came. They presented us with a wide variety of sandwiches along with to die for desserts. We each choose a special tea and had our own pot to use or share. This is a cozy little place and would love to go back for lunch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lovely Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxed casual lunch at the Cottage. We were able to sit on the porch in January aided by the outdoor heater. We had a delightful meal of Tuna Nicoise salad and crab and corn pot pie. The pot pie was tasty but somewhat disappointing in that it was served as a bowl of stew with a puff pastry on top - not my idea of a pot pie. Other than that the food, service and cosiness of the Cottage was worth the stop. You can easily browse the rest of Calhoun street in less than an hour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.