We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable, clean and new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Young Clyde Court, Bluffton, SC 29909   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
north carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very affordable, clean and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here 2 nights. Our room was a studio with doubles and fully equipped kitchenette. This is an extended stay hotel, so it is very basic in its design and amenities. No big lobby, no breakfast included, no daily maid service. So, when you need fresh towels, you get them at the front desk. They have a pool and 2 outdoor grills. We saw a lot of company work trucks in the parking lot and small groups of men sitting at the pool/grill area drinking and smoking in the evening. The next morning, that area was dirty and I had to ask the manager to have someone clean up their trash. That's a bit of a concern if I'm traveling without my husband. It is a pet friendly hotel on the first floor only.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor if you don't bring a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your response bjd3.

We are very pleased you both enjoyed your stay at our lovely facility. Yes we do always try to keep our furry little friends on the first floor, as we always deep clean those rooms after check out. We have a mixture of leisure and business clientele at this property, so yes there are times where you will see gentlemen relaxing after a hard day's work with refreshments and food by our gazebo grill. Our houseperson staff comes in at 8am every morning to start cleaning up the gazebo grills and trash, so not sure if your request was before that, but once again thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    42
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
50
52
16
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centralized. The room had a full kitchen with utensils and a lazy boy chair. The room is big. There is a pool and a grill. It is very clean. On the main level is a washer and dryer. There is a Cracker Barrel restaurant across the street. I would definitely visit again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments touringtheworldyoung!

So great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your comments about the hotel's cleanliness. We strive for superb service and cleanliness and it's always great when it gets recognized.

We hope to see you again when you travels bring you back to our area. Keep having fun touring the world young!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We (two adults and a child) stayed at this hotel in July for about four nights. The staff was courteous and the room was very, very clean. The towels were soft. There was a DVD player for my daughter to watch her movies. The laundry area was free. We were placed near the exit for walking pets which was ideal because we brought our dachshund puppies. We booked a one bedroom suite and brought our own food to cook along with an indoor grill since there is no oven in the kitchenette. The bedroom had an additional desk and chair, television, and king size bed. We were on vacation but because we wanted to cook for ourselves and bring the pets this seemed like the best option. We enjoyed our stay. I was surprised at the number of pet owners at the hotel not having realized how common it is to travel with pets. All of them were very pleasant and we had a number of good conversations with fellow pet owners.

The only thing I would improve is that it would have been nice to borrow a decent broom and dustpan. The staff did loan us a small broom but I didn't get the feeling that they normally received this request. Also watch out for grocery store prices in the this area, they are pretty high at the more upscale grocery stores. I would recommend this hotel and plan to stay again but probably would stay longer next time.

Green Features: The cleaning staff doesn't visit the room but once a week, but the staff was happy to accommodate us with fresh towels, a broom, etc.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments tlmerrie!

It's comments like this that really give merit to the hard work our staff puts in to making guest's stays as pleasant as possible, especially with cleanliness and service.

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope you do come stay with us a lot longer next time.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My teen son and I stayed one night on our way to Savannah. This hotel was perfect since it was easy to get to from the highway but not all the way into Hilton. It was beautifully landscaped- tucked behind trees- and did not have a resort feel.

Our room was large with a kitchenette, new furnishings, comfortable beds, and a pleasing view of the natural surroundings. We really enjoyed the room and how quiet and serene it was.

There is a small "store" near the lobby where food items can be purchased to heat in the room. The breakfast area was clean and the food fresh and nicely displayed.

I really wanted to stay longer and would have done so on the trip back to Charleston except that our plans changed and we went another direction.

Room Tip: There were many rooms and the parking lot was full by evening but we did not hear any hall traffic o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments C S!

We are very happy we were able to make your stay comfortable before your travels to Savannah and are glad you were able to experience all the amenities we have to offer, but most important our cleanliness and service.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was really a good hotel, inside and out, and in a wonderful location for the price, but there were just too many little things that weren't quite right that gave me that lingering feeling of discontent. On an up note, the room was wonderfully cozy and comfy. This was an anniversary trip for us, so it meant a lot. We have 8 children, a family business and I work full time so we only get away once a year. First, the third night I went to open the shower curtain and saw a silverfish crawling in the tub. Second, I smelled a strong odor and we started to look for the smell and found it--under the sink in the kitchen. There was a small trashcan. It had never been emptied from who knows when. The odor was fishy. I almost threw up when I had to pick it up and set it outside the room door. Housekeeping did not pick it up right away. The "Cupboard" is a good idea, but we ended up at Walgreen's and Food Lion anyway. If you are allergic to animal dander, this is not the best hotel for you. My husband has asthma and I have allergies. We smelled cigarette smoke too, so we couldn't stop sneezing. Also, first time in this part of South Carolina nobody seemed to know anything at the desk. And while none of the employees were outright mean, they seemed really bored with working that front desk. DEFINITELY NEED SHUTTLE TO DROP OFF AND PICK UP IN HILTON HEAD. WE WOULD HAVE GLADLY PAID TO NOT HAVE TO LOOK FOR PARKING FOR 2 HOURS.

Green Features: I think in theory these are good goals to have for a hotel. I was told that I needed to take my own overfull trashcan to the dumpster by the pool! Maybe I'm the only one, but I think your vacation experience should be a little different from your day to day routine at home...
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments RoschAtlanta_GA.

We apologize you experienced some issues with our hotel. This is the first we are hearing of the issues in your room, so rest assured we will bring this to our housekeeping department's attention.
As stated online and on all our literature, Candlewood Suites are pet friendly. Every room goes through a "deep clean" when all our furry friends leave the premisis. Since some of our rooms are smoking rooms, you will find people smoking outside the hotel and in their designated smoking rooms. All our front desk associates have been at this property for quite some time so I'm not sure which information they didn't have answers for you. We always refer people to shuttles when they come in the area should the requests arise, but being a half an hour away from the beaches, we don't have an intention to purchase a shuttle for this property, but wil keep the request in mind.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not very clean, our first room had stained sheets, a stained chair and stained carpet. It also smelled terrible. We went to front desk and got a different room. The second room had a plastic, empty flattened vodka bottle under the mattress (found when checking for bedbugs) and a tin of chaw. Finding these items told us they don’t bother to check for bedbugs. We took them to the front desk and gave them to the asst. mgr. Many apologies were given. We went to dinner and when we came back there was an apology card under the door and we were comped the first night’s stay. Nice of them, but we would have preferred the rooms be clean…

Thursday morning we got a wake up call at 5:00am that we did not ask for. This place just gets worse…

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments Krytter.

I believe you had discussed this issue with our Assistant General Manager Bryon, who inspected the room after you were moved. This appears to be an isolated incident as a predominant amount of guests usually rave about our cleanliness and service. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we would love to prove that to you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have you even been shocked when you saw the inside of a hotel because the outside looked spectacular and the inside was disappointing? Well, this is a place where the outside is just so-so and the inside is just wonderful.

The room is huge. The kitchenette part has a full-sized refrigerator, a two-burner stove, granite countertops in kitchen and the bath, microwave, full complement of dinnerware. A recliner and two comfortable queen-sized beds. They have a really pretty "desk," which serves a dual purpose with chairs on either side so you can sit down and eat or you can use it as a desk with plenty of room to spread out.

The whole property is immaculately clean. The gym is huge with lots of equipment. Videos to check out. Everything.

I am so impressed with the cleanliness, comfort and the staff which earn a 10 star in terms of friendliness,

It is also in a very convenient location.

I would highly recommend this for a quiet,comfortable and convenient place for a vacation. Pets are welcome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind response Voyageurmonde19!

I'm very pleased you were able to experience all the amenities we have to offer at our fine hotel. We take pride in keeping our hotel inviting and clean for our patrons. We have taken extra steps to ensure our customer service is the best it can be, so I'm glad you found our front desk associates so friendly.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head

Address: 5 Young Clyde Court, Bluffton, SC 29909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#2 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#4 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Bluffton, we put the amenities where they count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Bluffton is within walking distance of many favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , our Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Candlewood Suites Bluffton provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites Bluffton is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head Hotel Bluffton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.