We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pies, Friendly Staff !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Apple

Big Apple
262 Orchard Dr, Colborne, Ontario K0K 1H0, Canada
(905) 355-2574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Colborne
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Farms, Amusement Parks
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pies, Friendly Staff !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have been travelling for over 10 years every Summer on the 401 East but this was the first year that we ever stopped at the Big Apple. Yesterday was our third time here since the beginning of the Summer and each time we really enjoyed our visit.
Apple bread was great and the pies were better and better with each visit! The last time we ended up buying 4 pies for friends as well and they were excellent!. Staff was also great and a happy atmosphere. We had lunch(sandwiches and a yogurt parfait)which was also a good value for our money.Washrooms were pretty clean considering that they just had 4 bus load of people at the same time with us.We will be definitely back again next Summer !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    53
    32
    34
    74
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Big Apple-whats going on???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After many, many years of using this as a meeting spot, A Sunday drive distination and aplace to bring first my niece and nephew when they were younger and now my own daughter who is almost 5,, And a place to stop for apple pie to bring as a gift to friends. (last year I brought a visiting friend from New York city-she bought 12 pies to bring back with her)
What has happened to this place-no attractions open, big apple looking abit run down, no bunnies
Worst of all-the apple pie I paid for-what the very worst I have had in history-very thick sliced apples-too think to cook in the pie shell, plus the pie shell was all fallen apart and barely there on the bottom -honestly I am not a complainer of much-but this was a real dissapointment! I brought one home for my parents-and my mom was embarassed to tell me at first how awful it was-until I mentioned it myself!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Pricey but Tasty!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoy having a piece of warm apple crumble pie and ice cream everytime we travel across the province, which is at least 3X a year. We get to stretch our legs, climb the "Big Apple" and then fatten ourselves up! We are sure that kids would like the petting zoo and amusement park. Just a bit of a change from going to Timmy's along Hwy 401.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Happened to pass by on my way to Ottawa and picked up some pies. There is a good improvement in the pies after a long time. Tasted wonderful, just like my mum's. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Go to Tim Horton's instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

There is a Tim Horton's close by. Much better food and less of a crowd for the bathroom. The apple pies at the Big Apple are bland, as are the fritters. It's one of those awful road side attractions that you stop at once and then convince your friends to go just so you can all have a laugh together. The only plus is that it is free to climb up to the top of the apple.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Apple also viewed

 

Been to Big Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Apple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.