We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhett House Inn is very historic house in a very historic Southern town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhett House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rhett House Inn to your Saves list
The Rhett House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy One 2nd night 25% Off
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Rhett House Inn is very historic house in a very historic Southern town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I stay mainly at bed and breakfasts when we can and we seek out historic inns when they are available. First of all many reviewers seem to think that old houses are going to be perfect but like seniors like me they are not. Old houses have their marks from being in existence so long and Rhett House has its historic blemishes. To us that adds to the character and does not detract from its charm. The first floor room we chose was very nice and well maintained but perhaps a little like a more modern hotel room but still excellent for our stay. It was quiet for being on the main floor and we slept well. The staff was very accommodating and courteous and helped us with our needs such as recommendations and reservations for dining. The two recommendations were Breakwater and Old Bull Tavern which were both great choices for our dining needs. The breakfast were excellent and the servers were great as was the view from the porch. The only down side to the view is looking at the back of the Best Western motel(not totally ugly but less than wonderful and certainly no fault of Rhett House). The evening snacks and desserts were both nice and we travel with our own wines and beers so we had those rather than the fee based wine and liquor selection. The staff and the accommodations and the town were all excellent and we will certainly return to both Rhett House Inn and Beaufort in the near future! Hope this helps you make your lodging choice for Beaufort as the history, shopping, art, low country, islands and lodging are very inviting, enjoyable and will certainly draw us back! Hope it does you!

Room Tip: We chose room one and if you want first floor it is great but still some stairs to climb as old hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your compliments. The Rhett House Inn dates back to 1820 and we are glad you appreciated the historical elements of an almost 200 year old home. We look forward to welcoming you back to Beaufort and The Rhett House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    81
    28
    18
    3
See reviews for
89
416
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed in the Rhett House Inn one night on our way from Charleston to Savannah and loved it! It has a laid back comfortable feeling, like a home away from home. We look advantage of the bikes they had and road around town sightseeing. Their "included" hot breakfast was wonderful! We felt so at home that we sat in their kitchen and ate a piece of homemade coconut cake. We loved Beaufort too! I highly recommend Beaufort and the Rhett Inn. It was delightful, their staff is so nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed the relaxing feel of The Rhett House Inn and were able to use the bicycles to explore the area. I will share your compliments of the food with our kitchen staff. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you have the oppportunity to visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped at the Rhett House a couple of years ago while traveling in the SC low country. It was such a splendid place we went back again last June for a more lengthy stay. The town is littered with antebellum mansions that have been kept in excellent repair (the Rhett House is one of them). Take the walking tour from a native to get the full flavor and then take the tour of the sea islands close by from The Spirit of Old Beaufort tours. This is a must. The tour guide, Evelene, is a treasure trove of stories. You should read Pat Conroy's The Water is Wide, a novel that was informed by his experiences teaching on the islands. Evelene's tours are so good that we've been with her twice to the islands. If Gullah Grub is open, by all means have lunch there. You'll get the best shrimp you'll ever have. Speaking of food, this little town is packed with good restaurants. Saltus Grill is among our favorites. Try Plums too. Nippys, alas, has been closed to build some bank or other, although the guidebooks still have it listed as open. The staff at Rhett House know all the good restaurants, so trust them for advice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again on your return visit to Beaufort and helping to spread the word about our beautiful, historical town and The Rhett House Inn. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped here for one night while traveling from Charleston to Savannah. The service was wonderful and the property was beautiful. They offered many different styles of lodging, a couple different dining options, bicycles to ride around town (which I would recommend). Our room had all of the amenities that you would expect, the bathroom was slightly small and the internet was a little slow, but we were on vacation so it was a reminder to put down our electronics. The location was great for walking around town, the water is just a block away as is the main road of shops and restaurants. We will definitely be back when we travel that direction. Thank you Rhett House Inn team for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Their website is great for showing each room in detail and you book the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
On behalf of the staff thank you for your compliments. We are fortunate to be located right in the heart of the historic district. The bicycles are a great way to explore the town and we are glad you had the opportunity to use them. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

During our recent road trip between Savannah and Charleston, we decided to spend the night in Beaufort. Lovely town. Take a carriage tour or a walking tour to check out the town Have dinner at one of the many charming waterfront restaurants. Anyhow, we stayed at the Rhett House Inn. Because we are a family of four, we booked Room 7. It was perfect for us. Large room. Private entrance/exit out to a courtyard which was essentially your own private courtyard. Great staff! They made sure we took the Inn's umbrellas with us when off to walk to dinner (short walk to restaurants and shopping) because it looked like rain. Told us not to order dessert at the restaurant as the Inn will have homemade desserts for us when we arrived home. Pecan Pie, Key Lime Pie and Lemon Bars. Yum! Sat outside and talked on the veranda. The next morning had breakfast on the veranda. Lovely! Bikes were available for guests use but we unfortunately lacked time for a bike ride. Recommend this room if traveling with older children who enjoy history and/or films as many films have been shot in Beaufort. I believe there is complimentary use of a pool nearby, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed our charming town and your accommdations at the Rhett House Inn. I believe the amenities we offer set us apart from the rest. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend last weekend at the Rhett House Inn to celebrate my birthday and it was an unforgettable one. We took the Romance Package which included a bottle of champagne, but we chose white wine instead, red roses and a horse carriage ride around downtown. The staff members were very nice and helpful. We loved the southern breakfast every morning on the front porch, the hors d'oeuvres in the afternoons in the parlor with a glass of wine, as well as their delicious homemade desserts like their famous pecan pie after dinner in the kitchen. We felt like we were at home. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved the location of the Inn because it was walking distance to the Marina and restaurants. We will be back. Thank you all for your southern hospitality. Frank & Adri J.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Adriana J, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at the Rhett House Inn. On behalf of the staff it was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. We are so glad you enjoyed the delicious amenities we offer and we hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Sis and I stayed at this quaint and comfy inn during our first visit to Beaufort. We were attending a Marine Corp graduation on Parris Island and opted to stay at the Rhett House after reading several great reviews on Tripadvisor and Yelp. We were beyond pleased with our decision.
Room #2 was small but cozy. Our bed was comfy and although the semi-private balcony went unused, it was quite inviting.
Breakfast was awesome! At home, I never wake up early enough for breakfast but during this trip, I made it a point to wake up in time to enjoy each morning's tasty offerings. And they were tasty...
The staff is fantastic! The morning of the graduation, the kitchen staff arrived early, just to get breakfast ready for us since we had to leave before the usual dining hours. The manager also gave us dining and shopping suggestions that were only a few blocks away from our locale. And let me tell ya, the variety of eats in Beaufort will satisfy even the most discerning palate.
So, lets add it all up: Centrally located+friendly/efficient staff+attentive and knowledgable management+tasty breakfast/evening desserts+comfy room= 5 stars and a return trip this December! You do the math!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. It was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. We are so glad you enjoyed your first trip to Beaufort and look forward to your return in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Family Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA four-diamond Rhett House Inn, located in historic Beaufort, SC, was restored after the Civil War. This 9000 square foot authentic antebellum plantation house, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, emulates the beauty and romance of the Old South. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's historic district, the Rhett House Inn is perfectly situated to discover the glory of the South Carolina Lowcountry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.