We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhett House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Rhett House Inn to your Saves list
The Rhett House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy One 2nd night 25% Off
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much better than a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This inn is in a lovely section of town within walking distance to many excellent restaurants. It is also just minutes away from morning Mass on Ladys Island and a full day of activities at USMC boot camp. It was the perfect place to stay for the boot camp family week. Evening wine and cheese was perfectly done--no pressure, totally comfortable. The after-dinner dessert and coffee in the kitchen allowed a few minutes of talk with fellow travelers or just a grab-and-go (for my son). It was safe, quiet, pleasantly decorated and professionally run without any gimmicks or airs. I would recommend it 100% and will stay again if I get the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basement, which had ground-level in and out, which was very convenient for my elder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We are fortunate to be in a great location right in the heart of the Historic district. Thank you for helping to spread the word about our wonderful Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    81
    28
    18
    3
See reviews for
87
416
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of days at The Rhett House Inn after Thanksgiving and really enjoyed it. The room was really comfortable and all the people were cheerful and very friendly. Breakfast was excellent and the deserts at night were not only delicious, it was a nice time to chat with other guests about their experiences that day. We would definitely try a second experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and had the opportunity to interact with other guests. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just enjoyed a great stay at the Inn and both have high regards for it and especially Josh's kind service. We were pleased to get a beautiful, roomy suite that was within a short walk to town. Breakfast was also excellent, prepared and served by a dear lady named Beverly. Definitely one of our best places we've been blessed to stay....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
On behalf of Josh and Beverly thank you for your wonderful compliments of the Inn. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in room 10, which had its own private, screened in veranda. The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was a nice size. The staff were very friendly and helpful directing us to restaurants when we wanted recommendations.

Room Tip: The room we choose, 10, was on the back of the inn. There was no one above us, which was nice and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 10 is one of our most popular rooms and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope you are able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Rhett House Inn while visiting our daughter and family over the Thanksgiving holiday. Our room was tastefully appointed and comfortable, and the common areas and grounds were well maintained and attractive. The staff was helpful and informed and we felt very much "at home". We highly recommend the Rhett House for those with discriminating taste who appreciate quality, value and comfort with impeccable but unobtrusive service, all at a quite reasonable cost.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us over Thanksgiving. We are glad you enjoyed the charm of the Inn and the service from our staff. Thank you for helping to spread the word about the Rhett House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My son graduated from Marine Boot camp at Parris Island. While looking for a hotel I went to TripAdvisor first. I did NOT want to stay in a regular "hotel" - as my husband and I never get away together. I found Rhett House Inn and we went a few days early. It was spectacular. Josh and Joyce the two innkeepers went OUT of their way to help us out. Suggestions for hotels, and, as Josh is a Marine, gave us advice on when to go, how to get off base and beat most of the traffic on the way home. SO grateful, they did a wonderful job. The hotel was older and you can see it, but instead of being "worn" it was full of character. Because my husband rises around 4am, they both had coffee set up for him and had us just hit "brew" on the machine. Hubby said (as he is quite the coffee expert and drinks it all day) it was fabulous full-bodied coffee. The cakes/pies at night were wonderful and I especially loved the snacks put out in the evening, when I mentioned I LOVED the "crackers" I was given the recipe for the hot cheese bites. OUTRAGEOUSLY good. There is a TON of history there, more famous people have stayed there then live in Hollywood it seems if that floats your boat, but I enjoyed the fireplace in our room, the OUT OF THEIR WAY friendly service, spotless cleaning and good breakfasts. Devondra was so sweet while bringing our food. Truly a place to stay. I am NOT sorry I went down early and was sad to leave so soon. I would absolutely recommend this for anyone. Mostly couples I think, if two or three couples travel together - this would be the place to go. You can walk to any type restaurant/shopping/horse drawn carriage rides. The restaurants in the area were great as well. We loved Luther's, Emily's and Bull Tavern.

Room Tip: Room #3 with King size bed, very comfortable and veranda had view of large oak w/Spanish moss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you appreciated the charm and character of the Inn and were able to explore and learn the history of our beautiful town in addition to attending the graduation at Parris Island. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you have the opportunity to visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

LOVED my stay at the Rhett House Inn. The room was beautiful, and the view of the huge live oak at night from the second-floor veranda will live in my mind forever. The french toast breakfast was delicious and the staff attentive and friendly. I also made some interesting, fun new friends who were staying there as well, and plan to keep in touch with them. Many thanks for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to make some new friends. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA four-diamond Rhett House Inn, located in historic Beaufort, SC, was restored after the Civil War. This 9000 square foot authentic antebellum plantation house, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, emulates the beauty and romance of the Old South. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's historic district, the Rhett House Inn is perfectly situated to discover the glory of the South Carolina Lowcountry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.