We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Southern Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhett House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Rhett House Inn to your Saves list
The Rhett House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy One 2nd night 25% Off
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quintessential Southern Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying in an antebellum mansion sipping drinks on the porch. If you are looking for the old south in a small water front community with the pre civil war homes intact this is the place to visit.

Home made desserts greet you in the evening before retiring to a four poster bed. Breakfast under the spanish moss draped living oaks is magical.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
It was our pleasure to show you the Southern hospitality we are known for. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    81
    28
    18
    3
See reviews for
88
416
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Granby, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were in Beaufort for our son's graduation from Marine boot camp on Parris Island. The staff at the Inn could not have been more helpful, professional and caring about us. The Inn's southern style building and decor are just beautiful. The extras provided such as cookies, lemonade and sweet tea every afternoon, along with cheese and crackers plus homemade desserts were just outstanding. Every place we dined at based on their recommendations was superb. We understand that breakfast is also wonderful but unfortunately we left each morning too early. We are already planning our next trip back to Beaufort and The Rhett Inn. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our Southern hospitality and our charming town. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a one-night stopover in Beaufort, and very glad we chose the Rhett House Inn. Very accommodating/hospitable, very comfortable room and bed, great hot breakfast to-order in the morning. Wish we'd had more time to enjoy Beaufort and this special Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you are able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed at this beautiful Inn a couple of years ago.
Just as wonderful as it was before.
Love, Love!!!!!!!!!!
Wonderful accomodating staff; warm southern hospitality.
Great breakfast; afternoon snacks; early evening cheese plates with crackers.

Room Tip: Because its a B&B all rooms vary. Have not had a bad one yet!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay just as much as the first time. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Rhett House Inn and had a fabulous visit. We had never been to South Carolina before and this was a great introduction. The main Inn building is gorgeous. Our room was in the cottage across the street from the main Inn building and we enjoyed the privacy. We had our own balcony overlooking a lovely yard. While small in size, the room was elegantly decorated with luxurious bedding, a gas fireplace and spa tub. Breakfast is amazing-we enjoyed a full southern breakfast with grits, eggs, hot home-made biscuits, and blueberry pancakes. Each member of the staff at the Inn with whom we interacted was friendly and helpful. We wanted to kayak and were connected by Inn staff with Beaufort Kayak Tours, a knowledgeable and friendly husband and wife team who took us on an ecology tour in the ACE Basin Conservation Area nearby. We saw lots of wildlife, including the rare wood stork and an alligator! The Inn has a special baker who comes every night to bake homemade cakes and pies for the nightly dessert buffet for all guests. While we got great restaurant recommendations from staff, we held off on ordering dessert to eat it back at the Inn. The baker was sweet and filled a request of mine for Red Velvet Cake, a childhood favorite. We will return!

Room Tip: We had room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Kayaking is a great way to explore Beaufort from the water. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had two rooms in the house at the Inn for our son’s graduation from boot camp at the U.S.M.C training facility at Parris Island. We needed an early start for Family Day and Graduation so the morning staff pleasantly accommodated us with a delicious early breakfast. The entire staff was very professional, gracious and helpful during our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the amenities including champagne, cheese crackers and delicious sweet treats every night. I would highly recommend this B&B for your stay in Beaufort. Our next stay in Beaufort will be at the Rhett House Inn .

Rick D.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was chilly. Ask for extra blanket .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Congratulations again to your son and we are thankful for his service. It was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Delightful stay in the inn for our anniversary. Daily champagne, cheese and snacks, dessert and coffee after dinner. Even had a glass of champagne after returning late from a kayak trip. We will be back.

Room Tip: Suggest a king room in the main inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at the Rhett House Inn. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer and were able to explore Beaufort from the water. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA four-diamond Rhett House Inn, located in historic Beaufort, SC, was restored after the Civil War. This 9000 square foot authentic antebellum plantation house, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, emulates the beauty and romance of the Old South. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's historic district, the Rhett House Inn is perfectly situated to discover the glory of the South Carolina Lowcountry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.