We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect southern b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhett House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rhett House Inn to your Saves list
The Rhett House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1009 Craven Street, Beaufort SC29902, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The perfect southern b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Great room & hospitality! Wonderful location.Snacks and wine in the afternoon. Excellent home made desserts after dinner. Free bicycles are a real plus. Could have stayed longer with ease. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
One day is definitely not enough time to absorb all of the history and charm of not only the Rhett House Inn but our charming town. Our complimentary bicycles are a great way to explore on your own and we are glad you enjoyed our wonderful desserts baked by Becky. We hope you are able to return and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    84
    29
    18
    4
See reviews for
99
466
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wow! Beautiful place with wonderful southern hospitality from check-in to check-out. Loved the appetizers and drinks in the afternoon, the wine and cheese in the evenings and the home-made desserts before bed!! There is a southern style breakfast in the mornings also but unfortunately I never got to try it since my schedule was too packed. Loved sitting on the veranda in the evenings interacting with the other guests and roaming the grounds. I really loved this place and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I staying in the Charlie Room which was accessed from the Veranda allowing me to come and go at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the Inn and were able to enjoy meeting other guests. Depending our your schedule we are able to offer breakfast earlier than 8am so just let us know ahead of time and we will be more than happy to make arrangements. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

see above staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We would have enjoyed something a bit more Southern in break assortment. the afternoon refreshments were nice and the evening dessert delicious.
Repeat our stay was very nice. We appreciated being able to get 2 beds in one room. we spoke qith maNY OTHER GUESTS and all enjoyed their visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and accommodations. The atmosphere of the Inn is a great way to meet and mingle with other guests. Thank you for your suggestion on introducing more Southern refreshments. If you are ever in Beaufort we hope to welcome you back and I look forward to hearing more about the goat farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staying at the Rhett House currently. This B&B is the way to go for romantic get away. Picturesque location, great staff....little extras that make this place special. Highly recommended - this is the perfect place to stay when coming to Beaufort.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad we lived up to your expecations and the reviews that have been posted. It is our pleasure to create a charming, romantic, southern get away. The next time you have the opportunity to visit Beaufort we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a great location to the walking tours, marina, and the downtown area of Beaufort. We had a queen room with private entrance to the veranda which we used continually. This is a old home and should be viewed as a historical home. David was very helpful in our choices for the days activities. The staff was very friendly, but not overly in your face type which we enjoyed for our privacy was important. Things are not like a resort hotel, but this is a historical B&B. The doors aren't all level as the home settles with age, things are as they were historically with some minor touch up. We enjoyed our breakfast, selections from a menu at a time span of our choosing. Appetizers at mid day was nice for a pick me up before dinner and then after-- oh my the deserts. The pecan pie was excellent and all home made. The Rhett House is a picture out of "Gone with the Wind" for sure!

Room Tip: Blue Room with fireplace is the largest room and definitely elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for appreciating the historical aspects of the Rhett House Inn which was built by Thomas Rhett in 1820. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. Since we are located right in the heart of the historic district we are an ideal place to stay. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is has a great location just one block down from the water front. The rooms are tastefully decorated and beds were comfortable. The breakfast staff were very friendly and eager to please. The only thing that seemed odd was that we were privy to alot of gossip going on by the front desk person David to one of the housekeepers.We stayed in a room upstairs and could hear alot of their conversation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and our wonderful location right in the heart of the historic district. We sincerely apologize that you were privy to gossip by our staff. We do not tolerate gossip of any kind and appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We hope to welcome you back the next time you have the opportunity to visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the perfect place to read 'Gone With The Wind'! Room #3, on the front, has a gracious verandah with a hammock, relaxing chairs, and a view over to the waterfront. The room is elegant with a comfortable bed and attractive textiles. In such an old building it is, perhaps, to be expected that the bathroom would be small, but a refurbishment to complement the bedroom's style would enhance the suite. Welcoming refreshments are plentiful, breakfast al fresco is delightful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and relaxing on the verandah. If you ever have the opportunity to visit Beaufort again we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven Street, Beaufort SC29902, Beaufort, SC 29902
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.