We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Brief in Beaufort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhett House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Rhett House Inn to your Saves list
The Rhett House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy One 2nd night 25% Off
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Too Brief in Beaufort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had only a single night at the Rhett House, but certainly enjoyed every moment. We were in "Charlie's Room". The staff was gracious, professional where appropriate and casually friendly where appropriate (most of the time). The welcoming warmth of the home and staff create an environment of easy conversation with other guests and an easy transition into casual relaxation, aided by the welcoming glass of champagne. It is this comfortable atmosphere that compels me to describe it as home. Every element felt 'right' except for having to leave. --- We will be enjoying a cruise in a few weeks and I know we will enjoy the trip, will be pampered and entertained, yet I would frankly prefer the time be spent there in Beaufort, staying at the Rhett House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed the charm and relaxing atmosphere of the Rhett House. Beaufort and the Inn have so much history one night is definitely not enough time to soak it all in. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    81
    28
    18
    3
See reviews for
89
416
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stapleton, Alabama
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

An elegant Boutique hotel in Downtown Beaufort. Very romantic place to stay. Friends stayed here, and we visited them at the hotel, found the staff very helpful and hotel is a lovely old property right within walking distance of the old town and the river walk. there are plenty of restaurants to choose from and friendly pubs for a cool drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our Southern hospitality and our wonderful location right in the heart of the historic district.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner & I stayed for 3 nights and could easily have stayed another 3. We booked room 9 and whilst it was as the photo on the web site they don't mention just how compact it is and that the A/C unit for the whole building is right outside the window. We had a problem with the bathroom on the first night and after reporting this the Inn Keeper could not have been more helpful. We were moved to a room in the Cottage (room 17) and not charged for the first night. Room 17 was just wonderful, big comfy 4 poster bed, huge bathroom with jacuzzi and separate shower, fridge, coffee maker and large private veranda overlooking the garden. The breakfasts on the veranda of the main house were just perfect as was the home made Lemonade and fresh cookies in the parlour. The desserts between 7 & 9 are not to missed either. We would definitely recommend this B & B if you are visiting beautiful Beaufort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
It was our pleasure to ensure you had a wonderful time at the Rhett House Inn. Thank you for being so understanding. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We honeymooned at this Inn. We were in one of the Cottages and overlooked the Episcopal Cemetary. The room was charming with the natural hardwood floors, haint blue paint on the porch and the size of the bedroom. We had breakfast on the veranda of the main house, which was very scrumptious while having the view of the river in the distance. It was very quiet and relaxing to sit on the porch. They even have bicycles you can borrow for the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I hope to go back every year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Jamie, Congratulations again and thank you for choosing the Rhett House Inn to celebrate your Honeymoon. We are so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the complimentary bicycles (which are a great way to explore the town). We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Loved the house, the staff, the location! IT was really a great place. IF we come back to Beaufort, we are staying here. There are free bikes to use by the guests which we had so much fun riding arount the amazing homes in town.All the amenitites a B&B could have. Cash bar, sweet tea and yummy deserts.

Room Tip: THe most popular room is #3 i believe. Where all the famous people have stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at the Rhett House Inn several times now and each stay has been consistently perfect. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional but it might be all the treats that keep us coming back for more! At check in there is complimentary champagne as well as lemonade, iced tea and cookies. After we roll through the palm and live oak tree lined streets of this picturesque town on complimentary bicycles, we enjoy hors d'ouerves on the veranda. It is a very short walk to the waterfront and restaurants and when we return, several desserts await us in the inn's kitchen! (I have delighted in smelling these bake throughout the afternoon). A good night's sleep is assured in the well appointed, private, comfy rooms. In the morning a traditional southern breakfast complete with requisite biscuits and grits puts us over the top in feeling satisfied and well cared for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Pam, Thank you for your wonderful compliments of the Inn, the amenities we offer and the staff. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rhett House Inn when there are so many other options in Beaufort. We always look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rhett House on a visit from Wales, UK and it was well worth the journey. Our room (no.4) was beautiful, clean, comfortable and spacious and we had a lovely verandah where we could sit and watch the world go by. The location is convenient to everything and the staff are friendly and helpful, if you need anything just ask. We would definitely stay at the Rhett house again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are slightly below street level and looked as though they could be a little dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Carole, It was our pleasure to provide you with the Southern hospitality we are known for. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and our close proximity to the waterfront park, shops and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Family Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA four-diamond Rhett House Inn, located in historic Beaufort, SC, was restored after the Civil War. This 9000 square foot authentic antebellum plantation house, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, emulates the beauty and romance of the Old South. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's historic district, the Rhett House Inn is perfectly situated to discover the glory of the South Carolina Lowcountry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.