We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bueno!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Jose Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San Jose Mexican Restaurant
Sam's Point Road, Beaufort, SC
843-524-4001
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bueno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Excellant interior, great servers, great margaritas at good prices and delicious tons of food at really low prices -- especially at lunchtime.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Oh hell no!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

All I can say is DISGUSTING! Everything about this place was dirty. Silverware was dirty and the plate my wife's food was served on had food stuck to the bottom of it. While we ate we noticed roaches crawling on a nearby booth. Had to go to the bathroom before I left only to find the bathroom had no soap at all in it so god knows when the last time the staff washed their hands. Never again will I go to this dump.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Beaufort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

San Jose has been a favorite of my friends and mine for years now. The food prices are affordable and the quantities are large, not to mention tasty! The margaritas are superb and they even have specials on them quite often. I usually request Amber as my server because she is such a pleasure and her service is phenomenal! This family owned restaurant has a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. I choose San Jose over LaHacienda ANY DAY!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

It was a wednesday night and the kids just finished soccer. We always have family night and go out for dinner. The family loves mexican and we usually head over to la hacienda after practice, but tonight we were invited to the San Jose over on lady's island. Absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful inside, great music, perfect service, and delicious food! Not to mention the specials on margaritas! The kids had a great time and my husband and I did as well. We go every week and have yet to be disappointed! We love San Jose!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Should've gone to Taco Bell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I really should've known better. The recent reviews of San Jose have been quite critical, yet for whatever reason, I decided to go yesterday with my girlfriend - we were both in the mood for Mexican. Service was okay, and the place is nicely decorated, but the food really left much to be desired. The "quesadilla" was barely the size of a folded taco with a few measily strands of chopped cheese. The burritos were small - about the size of Taco Bell's. Refried beans and rice were nothing to rave at.

All in all, this place really has potential yet absolutely flopped. About the only thing I can compliment this place on is their lovely patio area, where I'm sure having a beer and sitting under the terrace is enjoyable on a spring or fall day.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Jose Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Jose Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.