We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fight for food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gilligan's Steamer & Raw Bar

Gilligan's Steamer & Raw Bar
2601 Boundary Street, Beaufort, SC 29901
843-379-2244
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hardeeville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fight for food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had our second visit this past Saturday. We were so looking forward to the oyster roast but where sadly disappointed. The service was terrific, especially our waiter Justin. What bothered our table of 7 diners where the grossly obese people who had no consideration waiting for their turn to get a plate of oysters. They hovered like vultures and didn't care if the person behind them was served. I will not be back to take place in a fight for my dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Decent but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went for lunch, the food is good but nothing to write home about. 4 of us had a nice lunch but the service could use a little more training, couldn't answer questions about what was in some of the dishes. Will go back hopefully it was just one bad server.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Server Issue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We generally love to write about the fantastic meals that we have had at amazing restaurants; and to ignore the mediocre experiences. However, we feel that this experience deserves attention. We were driving into Beaufort about 6 PM Wednesday heading to our home and decided to have dinner at Gilligan's. We entered and had to locate a person to seat us. We waited a bit and finally our waitress appeared. We explained that we were in a bit of a hurry and to please move things along as best she could. We placed our entire order to facilitate this request. We then had quite long intervals between courses, exactly the opposite of what we had requested. The seafood was cooked well. We also had a glass of wine each. When we received the bill, I reviewed it and saw that we had been charged for a bottle of Chardonnay, not a glass. Our waitress was not in sight, so I corrected the bill in pen and left cash rather than wait on her to process a card. As we walked out, the waitress appeared. My wife told her about the error and her reaction was - "Oh! I was not going to charge you for that!" No surprise at the error, but instant denial of intent. She knew what she had done. My wife's comment as we walked out - That is the first time that I have felt that I was being robbed in a restaurant. She delayed the meal knowing we were in a hurry, and then hoped to slip a $20 upcharge by us as we hurried to pay the bill. This was one employee, not the restaurant as a whole. However, management needs to manage!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Food was mediocre. Scallops were small and flavorless. Shrimp were decent. The sides all seemed out of a can or had been frozen. The best item was the hush puppies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“1st time, Last time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Slow service is the name of the game here, the food was fair and the grilled scallops where awful they tasted old did not eat them and the manager took it off the bill with no problem. I f you have a large group it will take you a while to check out. We wont be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilligan's Steamer & Raw Bar also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gilligan's Steamer & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilligan's Steamer & Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.