We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed at this hotel to attend our daughter's Marine graduation. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. At check-in, we were provided with maps, local area info, and information for the Marines graduation. The clerk also provided directions to the Marine base. Breakfast was served early on Thursday & Friday to accomodate the Marine families. The breakfast had a large variety of hot and cold foods. It was spread out over multiple areas to keep the area from becoming congested.
The rooms were cheerful and comfy. The beds were really nice. The bathroom was a little cramped. The hotel had a historic feel to it.
The location was wonderful. You can walk the historic downtown. Beaufort Bay is right across the road. There is a nice park and walkway there.
We stayed a several different hotels along the way during this trip. This one was the best.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    116
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
123
184
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill, nj
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a very nice motel. OK breakfast (no hot water for tea!). Excellent beds and pillows. Very noisy with a nearby wedding when we were there--but that wasn't their fault. Price is good compared to the very upscale bed and breakfasts nearby, but some of the bed and breakfasts have similar prices with more charm and better food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed at the Sea Island Inn for 5 nights in April, between visits to Savannah and Charleston and it was just the best choice. We had a beautifully comfortable and quiet room (234) with a view of the pool and use of a patio table and chairs out on the (public) porch. The town is charming and full of good places to eat (we’d recommend the burgers at Luther’s, the sandwiches, salads and Cinnamon Rolls at Common Ground and sitting on the deck eating Shrimp ‘n’ Grits at Paninis. The waterfront park is a lovely place to sit on swinging seats and look out at the view.

The Inn has pleasant helpful staff, a really pleasant breakfast room (check out that great waffle machine which makes excellent waffles every time!) and a fridge in the room. There’s a computer for use down in the office too if you haven’t brought your own technology with you.

While you’re in Beaufort, try Jon Sharpe’s wonderful Walking Tour of Beaufort full of fun and fascinating information and the Prince of Tides boat tour. Go out to the Hunting Islands State Park too – the wild beaches are fabulous and there are great marsh boardwalks there too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We recently stayed at The Sea Island Inn for 3 nights and were very impressed. Our room smelled so clean and fresh as we walked in and, in fact was the same each day when we returned. A large room with microwave, small fridge and even a small table and two dining chairs. The bathroom was a good size, next to the bathroom was a mirrored area which was perfect for doing make-up....!
Buffet breakfast (included) was very good with the usual pastries plus scrambled eggs, sausage and a waffle maker. The ladies who were looked after the breakfast detail was very helpful and charming.
Outside our room (this is basically a motel concept) were placed a table and chairs so that we could sit outside with a glass of wine. This Best Western has a special recommendation by Best Western itself, and I can see why.
An added bonus is that the hotel is located right in the middle of everything.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Perfect location, perfect service, complimentary water and yummy Iced tea..the BEST continental Breakfast you will find with longer hours than most, authentic architecture that blends in to the southern surroundings, nice pool. I can NOT say enough nice things about this place and I will go back again and again and again!!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Loved the location, the entire town is walkable from the hotel. Breakfast was more than enough and the staff helped with everything we needed, couldn't have asked for a better getaway!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location, right by downtown Beaufort. Easily within walking distance to the shops and restaurants along the bay.

The architecture is nice, brick and not cookie-cutter like most buildings these days.

Rooms are clean and tidy, flat screen tv with lots of channels, heat and ac work well, though noisy, coat rack, nice bathroom, fridge and microwave. Overall good for a place to stay.

Breakfast was great for continental.. eggs and sausage was available, along with orange and apple juices, grits, waffles, muffins, fruit and many other items. The lady serving breakfast was pleasant and efficient.

Unfortunately, a few things turned us off big time. I must first preface that my wife and I are both South Carolinians, and are therefore possibly more unnerved by some things than others might be.

Upon arrival, we went to the front desk to check in and were greeted by "Rose". Rose is, by accent, not from the South.. which is quite tolerable if one remains cordial and inviting. Rose is quite efficient and performs her job well, however, the harsh and aggressive demeanor is a put off. While we were completing our check in process, a woman came in, seemingly tired, with a question... she stated that she was in room 300 something.. and was trying to remember her room number when Rose said loudly "NO". The woman, not knowing what was going on, tried again to remember her room number by saying, "room 30..." and a loud "NO" was said again. This was repeated maybe one or two more times until Rose said "We don't have any 300's". A Southerner, or simply someone a little more humble and more people oriented may have said "Ma'am, I'm sorry but we don't have any rooms in the 300's, if you could tell me where your room is located I will try and help you with your issue".. or something along those lines. I can't tolerate rudeness, even when the person being rude doesn't realize it.

Also, there was little to keep sound from entering the room. The tv in the room next to us was on most of the night, and could easily be heard in our room, as well as the man talking loudly to someone.

As this is getting lengthy, I seriously wanted to like the quaint little brick hotel in downtown Beaufort (a town I have been going to since a child to go shrimping) but just couldn't. The lady at the front starting things off on the wrong foot.. as we say here in the South: "that dog don't hunt".

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn

Address: 1015 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Green Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#5 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Sea Island InnStay in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District and explore the antebellum homes,plantations,and secluded islands of South Carolina Low Country at our charming Beaufort hotel located on the Beaufort River. Walk to quaint shops,art galleries,book stores,and a variety of cafés,bistros,coffee shops,and fine restaurants just steps from our Beaufort hotel.When you stay at our unique Beaufort hotel you'll also enjoy a perfect home base for exploring Hilton Head,Charleston and Savannah,which are less than an hour's drive away. Escape to our Beaufort hotel and experience Southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sea Island Hotel Beaufort
Best Western Beaufort
Beaufort Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.