We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beaufort turned out to be the friendliest town we've ever visited.....and the staff at this hotel fit right into that mold. Especially Ijoonaya, Christina, and Laverne. The rest of the team could not have been more helpful. It's an older building but the room was spotless and as promised, the location across from the water was perfect. Lots of restaurants and things to see within easy walking distance....We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your compliments concerning my staff. I am so proud of each and every one of them! I will personally inform the three ladies you mentioned by name. We look forward to your return.
Lisa K.Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    101
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
105
164
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
durham
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was a little nervous about staying in a Best Western but was pleasantly surprised.It is not fancy but the most important thing for me is how clean a place is and our room was pretty clean. There were others who said they tried to get a room there but it was sold out so I felt pretty good about the choice. The location was absolutely wonderful because we could walk around the historic district and enjoy without getting in the car.

Pros:
It is in the historic district so you can walk around the hotel and visit the old churches and homes
Across the street from the waterfront, harbor and park where you can sit and watch the boats and bridge open
Easy- Short walking distance to restaurants and shops along Bay Street
It was clean
there is breakfast and a microwave for heating up food in the breakfast room
Our room had a bench outside so we sat outside one evening
Easy access to the sea islands (St.Helena, Hunting island)
Affordable
Everyone is very nice

Cons
The breakfast is OK but there is not much more than cereal, toast or and fruit
The AC is a little loud
They will not allow you to check in until 3pm
People do smoke outside but we didn't find it bothersome
I didn't see an elevator but there are only two levels

I would suggest asking for a room on the back side of the hotel which is away from the pool noise and traffic.

Take the time to go to the light house and Penn Center while you are there. The light house is on the beautiful Hunting Island about 30min away but it is a nice drive.

Room Tip: Room in the back facing the road away from the traffic and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western Sea Island Inn. We are glad you took a chance on us and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will consider returning and we can attempt to chip away your 'cons' list.

Lisa K. Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I live in New Jersey and my son was in South Carolina. I received a call he had a medical emergency. I booked a room at this hotel for the weekend until the following Tuesday. There were more complications with my son then expected and I needed to stay a total of eleven days. The managers and workers were more then accommodating. They worked around me so I would not have to switch rooms, they gave me a discount rate, and they were kind enough to ask how my son was doing. The room was clean and well stocked. Anything I requested was received in a timely manner. I had internet service so I could book my flights and extend my car rental from the hotel and print out my boarding passes. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our services, accommodations, and staff. We do hope your son will make a full recovery and that your family can return to Beaufort. Best wishes from my entire staff.
Buddy Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff was very nice and the location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk to everything...restaurants, shopping, seawall, etc. We never had to drive! We were in town for a dragon boat festival being held just across the street from the hotel, so it was very convenient for us and our team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed you stay with us here at the Best Western Sea Island Inn. We hope that you will participate in the Dragon Boat Race every Water Festival and stay with us!
Lisa K. Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We always stay at this hotel when we visit Beaufort, location is perfect for food, entertainment, and location to Hunting Island. It's always quiet when we stay, rooms are always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for continuing to choose to stay with us when you come to Beaufort! See you again soon.
Lisa K. Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlem, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The beautiful iron works on the exterior of this hotel reminded us of New Orleans. This hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Beaufort. It is within walking distance to the harbor, the shops and dining areas of Bay Street. The park and plantings are just across the street. It is really picture perfect.
The rooms were spotless, the pool was wonderful, and the daily breakfasts were great. The hotel staff were so kind and went out of there way to make this a memorable vacation. I loved the simple white bedspreads and the housekeeping staff enabled us to purchase one for our own home. We have never had such nice people to go out of their way for such a request.
It is relatively small, and Marine families are frequent guests at Basic graduation ceremonies. Make reservations early! Best hotel in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Sea Island Inn. We indeed are blessed with a prime location and a world class staff. Reviews like yours is what drives our entire Best Western team. Please do come see us again!
Lisa K. Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel right in the historic district. We asked to check-in early and they were very accommodating and let us check in around 1:00 pm. The room was #234 upstairs on the corner, overlooking the pool. It was a very quiet location. There was a nice sitting area right outside our door and covered...as it rained a little in the evening. Very nice room, extremely clean, with comfortable King bed, microwave and fridge. Front desk personnel were very helpful in providing good restaurant info. We dined at: Emily's, Plums & Dockside (on the other side of bridge). No need to get in the car to go downtown, as you are very close and not a far walk at all. Waterfront Park is very nice for an evening stroll and picture taking. The harbor is right across the street and it isn't huge, so it wasn't loud or crowded.

Breakfast was included and consisted of your normal cold items, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels danish but also scrambled eggs and sausage and Belgium waffles (you make yourself). Plenty of seating and complimentary USA Today. Beware...no elevator. So if you have a difficult time with steps, stay on the first floor. Plenty of parking right on the premises.

Regarding Beaufort...Take a carriage ride first thing! That way you get an overview of the town. The guides are very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review of our Best Western Sea Island Inn! We are so pleased you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You are not alone in loving that room above the pool! Please do come back soon!
Lisa K. Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn

Address: 1015 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Green Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#6 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Sea Island InnStay in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District and explore the antebellum homes,plantations,and secluded islands of South Carolina Low Country at our charming Beaufort hotel located on the Beaufort River. Walk to quaint shops,art galleries,book stores,and a variety of cafés,bistros,coffee shops,and fine restaurants just steps from our Beaufort hotel.When you stay at our unique Beaufort hotel you'll also enjoy a perfect home base for exploring Hilton Head,Charleston and Savannah,which are less than an hour's drive away. Escape to our Beaufort hotel and experience Southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sea Island Hotel Beaufort
Best Western Beaufort
Beaufort Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.