We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saltus River Grill

Saltus River Grill
802 Bay St, Ste C, Beaufort, SC 29902-5595
843-379-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltus River Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Scott Street
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have been to this restaurant before, and liked it, but things have really changed. The service was absolutely horrible. We were at the table 30 minutes before ordering. After our order we waited 25 minutes, then were told they were out of Ceasar salad (they could have gone to grocery store in that amount of time). An hour and 15 minutes into this we still have nothing to eat. Used plates and glasses never cleared. When dinner was served the orders were mixed up. No silverware. No waiter in sight. We had to chase them down for everything. At the end, no apologies from them. I guess this is business as usual now.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    123
    48
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Have been coming here for the past three years and this time will be my last. Waited for an hour before we were offered bread then told they were out of lettuce. Finally 1 1/2 hours later and complaining to the waitress we saw our first course. When our entres arrived we had to ask to have our dirty plates removed and more silverware. They were clueless as to who had ordered what. Food was ok but with such poor service will not return. There was no offer of apology.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best view in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I live in Beaufort and have been to this place many times. I brought friends there last night and sat at the table in the window just to the right of the front door. What a fantastic view for these out of town guests.
I had the salmon and I talked him into the sirion steak sous vide, which I had read about, but never experienced. The are from Washington, DC, but felt this restauran held it own. Do have to say the Crab Louie was a deconstructed version that was a little skimpy. Thankfully the wife wasn't very hungry.
It is expensive compared to some of the newer places in town, but I guess you pay for the view. It could do with a menu and wine overhaul that was a litlle more reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pretty pricey, nothing unique about the food. The bartender could really make more tips if she showed any personality or interest.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to be a good restaurant but food /service for money very poor!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Used to be one of my favs. Won't go back any time soon! Waited forever between courses- finished bottle of wine before salad arrived ( should have lasted entire meal!). Food cold and chewy- never saw waitress- soo disappointing!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltus River Grill also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Saltus River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltus River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.