We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luther's

Luther's
910 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5568
(843) 521-1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you are downtown, Luthers is a great place to stop for food and drinks with a view of the waterfront.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    92
    68
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterson, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

During our annual vacation stay in Hilton Head we always take a day to explore Beaufort. We love the galleries and shops, but we especially appreciate the walks along the bay and time watching the water from the park swings. We were in those swings getting noon-hungry, so we strolled across the park to look at the menus of several of the "backyard" restaurants. We settled on Luther's and settled into our small, bistro chairs at a table in the sun. Perfect. After a short time we noticed a lot of people with empty tables looking around for something.. food maybe? We saw one waitress busy to the point of frenzy covering all of the outdoor activity. I suppose it was 15 minutes or so before she landed at our table and took our order. Thirty minutes later we received our food, and 15 minutes after finishing our lunch we got our check. I paid on the spot, thinking that we would soon be into the supper hour. The waitress was friendly and conversational to the point that she could allow herself to converse, before flitting off. The food was good, just above average; but considering the time investment, it proved to be a poor return. The price was not bad, but before we sit down to their table again, we will assess the workload, and under similar circumstances, would likely move on. Good, but not worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENEVILLE, TENNESSEE
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and view of the water! Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed Luther's! The setting was fabulous and relaxing. The shrimp burger was very good, as we're the fried pickles and crab dip! Served with bugles was a great idea. The hamburgers were also good as were the ribs. The laid back atmosphere and views were soothing and fun! Really enjoyed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Embarrasingly bad !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Took some friends from England with me ! Looks great on the water but the service was the worst I have ever experienced. Waitress overworked and showed it waited over an hour for food which was awful. I remember this place from a year or so ago and didn't like it then ! Now it has been confirmed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Local Bar On the Water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went 2 times in 2 days so guess we liked it, Pizza was good and lots of tvs for watching the games but best is to sit outside and see the beautiful view,

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luther's also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Luther's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luther's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.