We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit in Beaufort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plums

Plums
904 1/2 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5568
(843) 525-1946
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Plums is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West
1 review
“A must visit in Beaufort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife and I were visiting Beaufort for the week, and ate just about everywhere downtown, and Plums was hands down the best. The staff was so friendly and evryone seemed so happy to be working there! The food was delicious, I highly recommend the mussles appetitizer. I had the crab stuffed flounder and my wife ate the bronzed snapper, yummmm. Plums definatley had the best food and service in downtown Beaufort, will come again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    201
    121
    56
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant Enough But Better Options Available”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Mostly very good standard Southern fare. Portions are very large, many people could split a main course and be very satisfied. We stuck to seafood but I overheard others saying the beef was also very good. The back of the restaurant has a (small) covered outdoor seating area with a great view of the water, but be warned that in July and August it is often too hot/humid to enjoy.

Marred by our server's repeated mistakes. Athough the manager did all he could to set things right it still detracts from the dining experience. Our main course - crabcakes - was not as described in the menu, namely it was NOT lump crab; for those who also know their crab, it was just "special" grade.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“At Least They Were Friendly!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We went in for lunch after having stopped in every other place downtown. We sat at the bar and were greeted warmly by the bartender. We enjoyed our lunch and they had some good specials too. It is a popular place and the prices were not too bad.

It wasn't anything special as far as we were concerned but it was certainly nice to feel like they were glad we were there which was not the case in the other places we went to downtown during our visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our dinner with another couple reached the point where we were embarrassed for this restaurant. Every service mistake that could be made, was - from one of the party being shown to a wet seat (indoors), to mistakes with the checks. Only 4-5 tables were occupied while we were there, so overwork was not a factor. The kindest thing that could be said about our waitress is that she was ditzy, but one might think that if the manager has come out to the table with you 15 minutes after orders were taken to apologise for the late unavailability of a dish, and that diner's second choice is also unavailable, that it would be polite not to leave the diner for so long that she needed to leave her seat and find another server to place her order. We had a little more confidence in the manager as he had proactively apologised and offered the replacement choice on the house (while the waitress was present)... but when the food arrived, the only items that had not been badly cooked were the salad - and the mashed potatoes. The tuna steak was severely overcooked, and this was clearly obvious to the manager when he came to see how the meals were. He offered to replace it: "we could just scoop it off there and you could have a new one in a couple of minutes". Um, what about the withered, overcooked (but cold and we assume pre-prepared) asparagus, and the risotto which was only lukewarm to start with? Presumably the idea of a hot, evenly cooked meal, eaten with (rather than after) the other diners was not high on the agenda; the offer was declined - perhaps wrongly, but pointing out the other problems seemed like it would be more trouble than it was worth. The risotto was advertised as being with a cream garlic and ginger sauce, but there was no ginger in evidence and the sauce was bland, while the snapper meals were completely overpowered by a thick crusting of spices. It was generally agreed among us that the dinner had been an overpriced disaster; we declined dessert to go elsewhere for it, and we were not surprised to find mistakes in the checks. These were corrected quickly but without apology. This is the first time we have refused to tip. We felt that the meals were very poor, and in fact even if the menu prices were reduced, the food was so bad that we would not return.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Lunches!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The sandwiches were all delicious!! Great view and perfect location.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plums also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Plums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.