We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hole in the Wall Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingway's Bistro

Hemingway's Bistro
920 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5579
843-521-4480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hyannis, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Hole in the Wall Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent value during Happy Hour! Luncheon specials are absolutely delicious! It is worth the time to find Hemingways...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and friendly bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We only had drinks here but it was a lively and fascinating bar.
The owners are Australian and are very welcoming and friendly.
Great bloody marys. The most interesting bat in Beaufort.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great local feel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I love this bar. I've only had lunch here once and it was pretty good. My husband and I generally go here for the night time bar scene. There are one dollar Jell-O shots and they bring a ton of people in which makes it perfect for people watching. You'll meet a hundred new people and have as many conversations every time you go. From day one, the staff had us feeling like family. Great bar, love this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, N.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I like the service an atmosphere, the staff is very friendly, they have great food an beverages of all kinds

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hang out for locals and tourists also welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Love this bar, had we found it sooner we probably would have gone for a night cap here every night. The location was right on the waterfront park with outside seating and the staff was nice. Thanks!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's Bistro also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hemingway's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingway's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.