We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loosen your belt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sgt White's Restaurant

Sgt White's Restaurant
1908 Boundary St, Beaufort, SC 29902-3908
843-522-2029
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loosen your belt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Just like Mom's if Mom spent all day slow cooking the noble pig and using old family recipes for the sides. 1 meat with 2 sides is plenty but if your adventurous go for 3 sides. The portions are more than generous. The tough part is choosing the sides. The definition of great Mom and Pop.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    19
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The barbecue sauce was some of the best I've ever had. My hubby and I shared a pulled pork plate with candied yams, collard greens, and lima beans. Everything was very good. The pork comes wet which I didn't expect, but the flavor is very good. There were a few unchewable pieces in the mix, but it's bbq so it's to be expected occasionally. The collards had some sand, but hey, that's how you know they're fresh. The limas were very good and so were the yams. The lady working up front was super friendly and very accommodating. Overall, we enjoyed this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb BBQ Sandwiches and Sides!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant exceeded all our expectations for home cooked, delicious food at an extremely affordable price. We were surprised with the assortment and quality of the foods on the buffet. We had the chopped BBQ sandwiches, fried okra, candied sweet potatoes & butter beans. The location was easy to find, clean and cozy. Fast service too!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Delicious BBQ and fantastic soul-food sides. The vegetable gumbo was fantastic. Also, the woman working there was really nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holetown, Saint James, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“some of the bestest food in Beaufort, hands-down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

while there is pomp and pretense, this food stands out in my mouth (oops, my mind) as some of the tastiest home-style cookin' around..
anyone comes to visit me, this place is a must

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sgt White's Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sgt White's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sgt White's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.