We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort Movie Tour

Beaufort Movie Tour
1006 Bay Street, Downtown Marina, Beaufort, SC
843-605-3914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Activities in Beaufort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forrest Gump, The Big Chill, Prince of Tides, Forces of Nature, GI Jane, The Jungle Book, Something to Talk About...all of these great movies and more were filmed here in Beaufort. Beautiful marsh views, incredible sunsets and more brought Hollywood film crews to Beaufort. Thanks to author Pat Conroy, whose father moved the family to Beaufort when Pat was 15, The Great Santini (1979) kicked off a string of great movies. The Beaufort Movie Tour was created to bring you to many of the movie locations in and around Beaufort that you will recognize, such as the Gump Medical Center, the Big Chill bridge, Bay Street (where Kevin Cline and William Hurt took their early morning jog), and the Mississippi bridge that Forrest crossed on his way back east. Plus we throw in lots of Beaufort history and beautiful houses and views to boot.
Beaufort
1 review
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I took this tour and were amazed at the how mant movies had been done in Beaufort. Our tour guide was filled much insight and she made the tour great fun.
There was also a good mix of Beaufort history mixed in with the tour.
Forest Gump would be proud !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I did not know that Beaufort had such a presence with the movie business.
The guide was excellent and the sites a great discovery.
You have unlocked a hidden jewel in Beaufort. Thank you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We recently took the 2 hour Beaufort Movie Tour and had a great time. It was really interesting to learn the details and behind the scenes trivia of some favorite movies filmed in Beaufort. Carly Ware, our very friendly and knowledgable tour director, wove Hollywood and History together into a colorful afternoon drive though historic districts and downtown. The tour is conducted in a climate controlled van, and included two stops which gave us a chance to get out and walk around. Nice way to spend a few hours in Beaufort.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fabulous tour . Our guide Carly was a blast. She showed us the beautiful sites where Forrest Gump, The Big Chill, Great Santini and many other movies were filmed. Who knew there were so many movies filmed here. A great find... we were well entertained with local information and celebrity tid bits. Beaufort is such a beautiful place that the scenery alone is worth the ride.

Even if you haven't seen any of the movies that have been filmed in Beaufort this tour is still worth your time. We even stopped at The Chocolate Tree....which is now my favorite chocolate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Beaufort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a perfect way to see why there is such an attaction to this area. Carly, the guide was very informative and I loved the "tid-bits" she shared about the the characters in the movies. Did you know Pat Conroy, author of Prince of Tides, The Great Santini and more lives just outside of Beaufort? This area is so rich in history and beauty it is no wonder it was discovered by Hollywood. I highly recommend this tour. I will be giving some gift certificates for Christmas!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaufort Movie Tour also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Beaufort Movie Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort Movie Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.