We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking through history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point

The Point
Beaufort, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 attractions in Beaufort
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
DOUGLASSVILLE, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Walking through history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My friend and I drove from Savannah and were awe-struck by the beauty and serenity of the point. It was a beautiful quiet day. We sat on the beach for awhile and watched a cargo ship out at sea and walked and drove around the area. The homes were magnificent and the beauty and serenity created a sense of history. I am sorry we didn't stay longer. As an aside, we went for a walk along the waterway when we got back to Savannah and saw the same cargo ship coming through the canal.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A glimpse of the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Highly recommended walk through a wonderful collection of old homes of many ages that give a glimpse of a quieter time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful neighborhood, visit when in Beaufort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Many wonderful antebellum houses that create a beautiful neighborhood on the Point. Drive or better yet walk through for a piece of history and beauty in the lowcountry.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I live near the point, and walk through the area frequently. It's full of history and beautiful architecture. I never get tired of this spot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Historic Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Drive through slowly, take a carriage tour, or a walking tour and see historic beautiful houses wrapped around by the Beaufort River. National Historic District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Point to your Saves list