We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin Market

Griffin Market
403 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902
843-524-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Griffin Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Griffin Market brings relaxed elegance and a taste of Italy’s Piedmont region to the lowcountry of South Carolina. Situated on Carteret Street in historic downtown Beaufort, the restaurant features the culinary and wine expertise of Laura and Riccardo Bonino. The couple moved the restaurant from its original location in the neighborhood of Georgetown, Washington D.C. in 2011. Laura is a veteran executive chef whose talent has been featured at numerous fine-dining restaurants across the country. Riccardo is an accomplished sommelier and is recognized for his unique gift for pairing wine with food. Griffin Market offers seasonal fare made with expert refinement for dinner 6 days a week and lunch 3 days a week.
Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Food, ambiance, staff, wine. Authentic and fresh. A little Northern Italy in Beaufort. Prepare to be blown away. And have fun

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    27
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You MUST eat here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We made a reservation not knowing if we needed it- I am so glad we did! It's a small intimate place with excellent food! Extensive wine menu- something for everyone! Food was fresh and flavorful. We wish we lived closer - this would be a weekly place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

You think it could not possibly be a restaurant on the outside! Don't be fooled. This place is authentic Italian. I've been to Florence, Italy and this restaurant is the real deal. Be ready for a four course meal and fantastic wine. The service was excellent!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Try the Veal Tonnato appetizer. Or just close your eyes and pick any appetizer on the menu. Then choose an entree. The bolognese is insane. Or justclose your eyes again and pick anything else on the menu. This place is great, and the pasta is especially spectacular. Yes, it's a little light on atmosphere, and you won't go home raving about the interior decoration. But you will get the best Italian food anywhere in South Carolina. Warning: if you expect to see pizza or any of its cousins on the menu, of if you think lasagna is the pinnacle of Italian cuisine, don't go near this place. How good must it be when they don't even put a sign up outside?!!? This place is authentic as Rome and Venice. On Cateret Street. But, remember, there's no sign. It's worth looking for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Was back after a few months, wonderful again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was back at the Griffin Market after a few months, and loved it again. After tasting Laura's arancini, I have had them again in other restaurants, but none compared. Laura's are light and fluffy, which is quite a feat considering they are deep-fried. (In case you have never had them, arancini are little balls made from rice, Parmesan and meat served as an appetizer - doesn't sound remarkable from the description, but trust me, I was spiking my husband's hand with my fork when he tried to steal one!)

We also tried the crostini with cheese and truffle honey. Though we tried to be decorous, as we were only at the appetizers, in the end we decided that dignity is overrated and licked our fingers with gusto, rather than let any of the cheese and honey end up on our napkins. (We tried to be discreet about it, but Laura was flattered.)

We also tried the risotto with grapefruit and sausage - it was creamy and tasty. The fresh asparagus with farm eggs were also delicious. Riccardo as always suggested some excellent wine pairings which brought out all the flavors without overwhelming them.

Try the budino if it's on the menu - the butterscotch, salt caramel and whipped cream may not be the best for your waistline, but after two spoonfuls, you won't care!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin Market also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Griffin Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.