We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor

Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor
917f Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
(843) 379-0798
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Waiting to go out on the boat tour, we found this little place for a bite to eat. Kick back to the ole soda fountain days... Quaint, good food and friendly wait staff. we could have talked to the owner for hours and looking at the pictures on the walls... Great little place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Such a cute throwback to old ice cream diners.

I got an ice cream brownie sundae (with a cherry on top) and my boyfriend got a Coke float. We were both perfectly satisfied and got to chat with the ladies working at the shop, who were very friendly and nice.

I'm not sure if they make their own ice cream here, but it's scooped right in front of you and tastes great. No complaints from me!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pumpkin Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a treat - to e able to soda fountain drinks that were around when I was a child! Also, ice cream flavors galore. The price is very reasonable. I had, what was supposedly one scoop, of delicious pumpkin ice cream in a sugar cone for about $3.

Do yourself a favor and stop by even if it is to just to see an old type ice cream parlor.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Definitely a place to go while in Beaufort. Has the best hot fudge sundies and a fun place to sit and relax. Especially great for kids when they can sit at the counter like in a soda shop. Worth every dime.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The place is adorable. The ice cream is good. The prices are great. A very fun visit and nice juxtaposition to the local arts and crafts flare.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.