We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Graces Bistro

Southern Graces Bistro
809 Port Republic St, inside The Beaufort Inn, Beaufort, SC 31401
843-379-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Southern Graces Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Description: Indulgent Dining in a Beautifully Historic Setting, Southern Graces BISTRO at The Beaufort Inn is a diner's delight, featuring New Southern cuisine featuring fresh local ingredients presented in an artfully delicious way. Enjoy our legendary Vertical Cobb Salad or our Lowcountry Crab Cake for lunch or go ahead and treat yourself to dinner and enjoy our Land & Sea offerings that include Filet Mignon with Vidalia Bourbon Demi or our Crab Stuffed Grouper. Not to be missed on Sundays, our Brunch is a delicious treat with our famous Almond Brioche French Toast! We look forward to welcoming you for your delicious experience soon!
Wingate, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I were actually looking for a different restaurant, and decided to check out Southern Graces instead. The restaurant is charming, the service was great, and the food was good.
The complimentary popover was very good, and we will be sure to include Southern Graces on our next trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    28
    18
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good but you cannot buy alchol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

No license, but a limited range of wines by the glass are offered with your meal.
The food was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

a friend came to visit and i wanted to take her somewhere special for lunch - Southern Graces Bistro at the Beaufort Inn satisfied on all levels. Firstly it is a tastefully elegant restaurant. Secondly service is very good. Lastly, the food can't be beat. how can you complain about complementary popovers served w/ strawberry butter - a real treat. We both had one of my favorite dishes wild local shrimp and sweet potato grits - yum yum yum. my only complaint is that i had no room for dessert.
they have no liquor license but you are welcome to BYOB.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Delightful Meal for Locals and Visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are fortunate to have this lovely restaurant in our gorgeous town. Located at The Beaufort Inn, this is a delight for Sunday brunch, lunch or dinner.
My husband and I went here for a "spur of the moment" lunch today and sat on the wrap-around porch. It was a beautiful day and only enhanced by the delicious food.
If you have never been here they bring you popovers to start. They are light, and flaky, warm and sooo delicious. Today they were served with strawberry butter. I really had to stop myself from eating the whole thing.
My husband ordered and loved the Bleu Beef Salad. Spinach, tomatoes, cukes, prime roasted beef with gorganzola blue cheese dressing and crispy fried onions - he ate the whole thing!
I had the Harvest Panini - smoked gouda cheese, carmelized apples, roast turkey and cranberry aioli with sweet potato fries- was so yummy. I saved half of my sandwich to have for dinner but it would not be difficult to finish it all.
Luke served us and did a great job. It was his first day and we were his second table but he kept our tea glasses filled and did everything right. Roman also set up the out door table for us and checked to make sure all was well. Both Luke and Roman were there if you needed them but not in the way.
When I asked to take a menu with me Roman said he thought they were changing it very soon. Even if you cannot get what we selected I do not think you will be disappointed. Everything we have ever eaten at Southern Graces has been outstanding.
Treat yourself to a place that is intimate, with good service and outstanding food.
Take it from a local!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sisters and I were visiting Beaufort this past weekend on our way to Savannah. We happened on the Southern Graces Bistro for lunch, by accident. The service, quality and presentation was equal or superior to any restaurant I have been to. I am used to top quality restraunts in Los Angeles and Vegas and I have to say that our experience at the Southern Graces Bistro surpassed them all! Don't miss the unusual and wonderful popovers!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Graces Bistro also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Southern Graces Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Graces Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.