We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Graces Bistro

Southern Graces Bistro
809 Port Republic St, inside The Beaufort Inn, Beaufort, SC 31401
843-379-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Southern Graces Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 141 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Description: Indulgent Dining in a Beautifully Historic Setting, Southern Graces BISTRO at The Beaufort Inn is a diner's delight, featuring New Southern cuisine featuring fresh local ingredients presented in an artfully delicious way. Enjoy our legendary Vertical Cobb Salad or our Lowcountry Crab Cake for lunch or go ahead and treat yourself to dinner and enjoy our Land & Sea offerings that include Filet Mignon with Vidalia Bourbon Demi or our Crab Stuffed Grouper. Not to be missed on Sundays, our Brunch is a delicious treat with our famous Almond Brioche French Toast! We look forward to welcoming you for your delicious experience soon!
Greenville, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate brunch there yesterday. The food was very good, as was the service and ambience. The desserts were the best part. They were world-class.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    28
    18
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lowcountry's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Cornbread Caesar Salad was awesome! I didn't know what to expect, but it did not disappoint. We also tried the Shrimp and Grits, and the Brown Butter Scallops - mouth watering!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here with friends..She Crab soup was delicious. My wife and I had the duck which was as good as any place we ate it before. Crisp but moist. Ambiance added to the overall evening. The chef came out to ask how we enjoyed..he has an extensive background. It's BYOB..which is OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A special place for a special occassion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Southern Graces Bistro is situated in the historic Beaufort Inn in downtown Beaufort. The Inn and the Bistro are intimate and upscale. Food, service and atmosphere are all top shelf. I went for a special dinner wife my spouse. I knew pretty much what to expect, and wasn't disappointed. The menu is a single page (front and back), but the superlative offerings still make the final choices difficult. The dinner menu can be seen at http://199.168.188.3/~sou/uploads//SG%20DINNER%20MENU.pdf . We were offered complimentary popovers (with maple butter) for starters and split a citrus salad. The salads are large, and half is plenty for a side salad. My spouse then had scallops and couldn't stop raving about them! I had duck. It wasn't the best I've had but it was very good (yes I would order it again).

Southern Graces serves dinner Thursday through Saturday. There are also lunch and Sunday brunch possibilities. This is not your everyday restaurant, but you couldn't do better for those special occasions.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lots so ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The duck was very average, however our overall experience was very good. The grouper was terrific and so was the She crab soup. We enjoyed dining at this lovely establishment. We were made to feel as though we were dining in our own home.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Graces Bistro also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Southern Graces Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Graces Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.