We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashley was great guide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spirit of Old Beaufort

The Spirit of Old Beaufort
1001 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
843-525-0459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Beaufort
Type: Tours, Cultural
Attraction details
Fitzgerald, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ashley was great guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Really learned so much and enjoyed every minute! Very informative tour and the guide was exceptional. She accommodated us in every way!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlem, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ghost tour of Beaufort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This tour was well staffed by knowledgable guides who have been doing these tours for a number of years. The guides were dressed in costume and got into character to add ambiance. The tour bus was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed both the Beaufort history and the accompanying stories. Some of the stories were quite funny. We learned old southern songs and were encouraged to join in the fun. Locally, we traveled to Beaufort Cemetery and were given the history of strange happenings in some nearby mansions. Later, we traveled to Lands End Beach and the old fort. We also learned of the Gullah people and stopped to see an old plantation church.
It was really fun and informative!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Awakening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I traveled to Beaufort ready to experience a new adventure. The Spirit of Beaufort Gullah tour did not disappoint! The van was Clean, Cool, and Comfortable. As we glided through the planned course, our tour guide presented historical facts, asked questions, sang, and laughed: she totally engaged us all! By the time the excursion was over, all of the participants bonded and felt like family! The historical sites and Penn Center Museum were very informative, no book can give you that knowledge ( you must witness it)! The beautiful natural landmarks and plantations made us feel as if we were present in the 1800's- present day. I recommend this tour to all visitors of Beaufort, S.C!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bee Spring, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great ghost tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I visited Savannah, Georgia for a 20th anniversary getaway and decided to take a day trip down to Beaufort. Let me say, it was well worth our tiime, as the city is beautiful with many gorgeous historic homes that sit right on the water. We scheduled a historic walking tour of the area with The Spirit of Old Beaufort for the morning, but the owner called to say that, because of the heat, she would not be able to do the walking tour. She instead offered us a van tour. We are not fans of "riding" tours normally, since we like to see things "up close," so we decided to take a walking tour with another guide in town who was recommended to us by the Visitor's Center Staff in the morning (he did a wonderful job!) and keep our reservation with Spirit of Old Beaufort for a ghost van tour in the evening.

When we had called to schedule our tours a few weeks earlier, the owner, Evelynne, had been kind enough to open up the van tour just for us, and, as it turned out, we were the only people on the tour. We were a bit surprised to see our guide, Ashley, since we were expecting Evelynne, but we were not disappointed in the least. Ashley was bright and bubbly and very knowledgeable concerning the area. She took us to a few locations in town and then drove us out to the islands, even taking us on an amazing tour of an old fort that ended with a gorgeous sunset story on a beautiful private beach. We were happy to discover that this was not just a "riding" tour, but rather a "ride and stop" tour where we were able to get off and walk at the stops with the advantage of covering more ground but still being able to see things "up close." Ashley was a great story-teller and explained a lot about the gullah people and their historic beliefs in the supernatural, as well as the practices of "working roots" that are still alive and well in the area today. Ashley was so personable and in no rush to end our tour, even though she spent nearly an extra hour of her own time with us. It was an unexpected highlight of our trip, and we highly recommend Spirit of Old Beaufort and Ashley as well.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stay COOL on the Van Tour,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We choose this tour because it was 91 degrees today and my mom cannot walk well. An excellent choice though for any situation. Very informative and worth the cost to see these beautiful homes and hear the history of Beaufort. Evelene was so nice and helpful and went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and cool. They offer a variety of tours so call ahead to get times and make reservations.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spirit of Old Beaufort also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Spirit of Old Beaufort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spirit of Old Beaufort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.