We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nippy's Fish - CLOSED

Nippy's Fish
310 West St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5561
843-379-8555
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Hand pattied burgers, fish, shrimp tacos and Moe's Shrimp Dogs. Live music in the evenings on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Beer and wine.
Burlington, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quirky Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were drawn to Nippys by the outdoor music, which turned out to be the worst singer ever, but he made us laugh with his butchering and we really enjoyed our food. I'm pretty sure that walking through the kitchen is a health code violation, but we would go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    51
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little spot for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Although the atmosphere isn't much-a few tables in the back of a municipal parking lot-the service is friendly, quick and efficient- and the food is a great value for the price. I had the shrimp sliders and they were really good-lots of shrimp and not much breading and tasty little buns. My husband had a bacon cheeseburger and he liked it very much, although a bit messy to eat! The cole slaw was yummy-loved it-but the French fries are the little matchstick kind so they don't stay at all warm and are hard to eat. But a great little stop for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Laid Back and Down Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This New Englander loves to stop by Nippy's for some fresh fish whenever in Beaufort. You can expect lightly breaded and fried shrimp, flounder, and grouper served in tacos, po' boys, or on platters. I haven't tried the burgers, but reports are good. Service is always friendly and efficient. Go elsewhere for water views and elegance, but come here for great food at great prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Food was good - mostly all fried. Went on a Saturday for lunch and liked the live music. I had the fish taco - a little oily but very tasty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Quaint southern gathering place. Don't get taken back by the accommodations. Very casual, laid back environment, personable staff, great friendly service and awesome fish tacos. Love the evenings watching others play corn hole and the live music.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nippy's Fish also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nippy's Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.