We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glorious Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Loft Hotel to your Saves list
City Loft Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Glorious Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My partner and I just spent two glorious nights at the City Loft. The bed may be the most comfortable we've ever slept on...we even asked for the make of the mattress when we left! The towels are soft, the lighting is great, the room beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. Parking is free, right outside the door. WiFi is free. There's a coffee shop on the first floor and a great little gym on the second floor; the gym is free for guests. The service was outstanding, from Stephanie and the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff and turn-down service (cookies on the pillow!). The hotel is right downtown with easy access to Bay Street, the bridge over to the Sea Islands, and it's surrounded by sophisticated restaurants. We've stayed in great hotels all over the world and this is absolutely one of the best. Thanks to the wonderful staff, and you can be sure we will stay here again--and, hopefully, it will be a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    72
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
422
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This jazzy boutique style motel is right in the midst of Downtown Beaufort. It's super clean, with all the comforts, a great, comfy king bed and a luxurious bathroom with a deep, deep tub and separate large shower with an overhead shower faucet.
The service is super friendly and this is one of the best hotels I've come across. Doesn't hurt that a great coffee shop is adjacent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for commenting on our jazzy boutique hotel as you aptly put it. We strive to deliver a crisp, clean well appointed product for our luxury travelers. Location and the luxurious bathrooms at City Loft help promote a relaxing stay with little to no stress on one as they easily navigate restaurant choices, shopping and touring the historic; the bathrooms then provide the perfect way to unwind after whatever the day may have brought. Again, thank you for your flattering comments on City Loft- we are most appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Trunk of car just steps to the door of the room. Terrific coffee shop within steps. Great Breakwater Restaurant just steps across the street. Beautiful Beaufort and its ambiance all within walking distance. Everything updated - wonderful large bathroom within steps of a comfortable big bed. Staff very responsive to every need just within steps. Who could ask for more?

Room Tip: We liked the convenience of the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Just Steps- thank you for your take on City Loft. Convenience has always been a "driving" factor in the guest experience at our boutique hotel- we want you to park your car and then walk, bike or take a carriage tour to enjoy historic Beaufort. Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and the service they provide- each team member is dedicated to insuring our guests has the best possible experience while staying with us. We look forward to your return visit and promise to deliver the best Beaufort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We wanted a clean hotel in the historic district of Beaufort. not only is this hotel only one block from Bay Street, But it's a great small hotel. The hotel was apparently completely renovated into the best possible result. Two flat screen tv's(including the bathroom), a memory foam bed,and a large soaking tub with instant hot water. The room also has a separate shower with an overhead shower. They have the highest thread count sheets we've ever slept on for added comfort. The staff was very accomodating as all time with 24/7 service. They even provide nightly bed turn down service if you wish with extra towels provided. Free rental bikes to tour the town were a bonus. A definate must if you're staying in the area. Beaufort is simply beautiful!

Room Tip: All rooms are equiped the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a flattering review of City Loft from a senior contributor on Tripadvisor. Your postings suggest a well traveled customer who knows luxury and value. Your comment on the bathroom with its separate rainfall shower, soaking tub and TVs is most appreciated; they were designed to permit you to luxuriate in a small but well appointed atmosphere. Again, thank you very much for your review. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice and we absoloutely love it!! Great location, clean and comfortable rooms. The beds are amazing-some of the best sleep that I have ever gotten. We love the large tubs and walk-in showers. The cafe downstairs serves excellent drinks and small food items-my favorites are the Chai Tea Latte and the Chocolate Chip Cappuccino Muffins. The owner Matt is extremely hospitable and friendly-my husband (a restaurant manager in Savannah) had a nice chat with him. Short walk to great restaurants and the downtown area. The staff is friendly and accomodating, willing to set up special services as well. I work at a hotel so my standards are quite high, but I was very pleased. Thank you, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for a review that tells the world of the best sleep you have ever had in a hotel... at our little boutique hotel in little Beaufort! The staff is most appreciative when they read reviews remarking on the top notch service they provide our guests- I believe they deliver service at the highest possible level and am proud of them. I enjoyed chatting with your husband and hope to visit with you both on your return trip to Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

First of all the location is superb, walking distance to just about everything which is great!! The decor in the rooms ... fabulous! not to mention the large comfortable bed. That worked out
well since we had our kid with us & didnt need a rollaway bed of sorts - which take up space anyway. Awesome walk in shower and I loved the products of lemon and honey. Needless to
say they thought of everything!!! well done you guys. Oh & the coffee, who can forget the coffee!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We appreciate your kind review of City Loft Hotel and it's comfortable bedding, luxurious showers and location. Our BE KIND personal products have been a hit since day one- so glad to now you enjoyed those as well. We are thankful for your business and look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed last weekend at City Loft Hotel in downtown Beaufort, SC after a night of drinking and partying. The location is perfect, both for the short walk at night to find your bed and for the proximity to two excellent coffee outlets the next day to lessen your hang-over. You find at least four excellent restaurants within a block. The coffee shop attached to the hotel serves world-class cappuccinos and little snacks. The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, and comfortable. I liked a lot the shower, especially after a night of partying. I'm sure I will be back one day (night).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of City Loft.. We are happy to know that our proximity to all the best restaurants and bars that Beaufort has to offer helped you enjoy your stay to the fullest. Your comment with respect to world class cappuccinos at City Java & News is most appreciated as well. We will keep working hard to bring you the best overall experience in accommodations that Beaufort has to offer. We look forward to hosting you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#5 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Address: 301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 23 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Loft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.