We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just steps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Loft Hotel to your Saves list
City Loft Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just steps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Trunk of car just steps to the door of the room. Terrific coffee shop within steps. Great Breakwater Restaurant just steps across the street. Beautiful Beaufort and its ambiance all within walking distance. Everything updated - wonderful large bathroom within steps of a comfortable big bed. Staff very responsive to every need just within steps. Who could ask for more?

Room Tip: We liked the convenience of the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Just Steps- thank you for your take on City Loft. Convenience has always been a "driving" factor in the guest experience at our boutique hotel- we want you to park your car and then walk, bike or take a carriage tour to enjoy historic Beaufort. Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and the service they provide- each team member is dedicated to insuring our guests has the best possible experience while staying with us. We look forward to your return visit and promise to deliver the best Beaufort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    62
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
367
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We wanted a clean hotel in the historic district of Beaufort. not only is this hotel only one block from Bay Street, But it's a great small hotel. The hotel was apparently completely renovated into the best possible result. Two flat screen tv's(including the bathroom), a memory foam bed,and a large soaking tub with instant hot water. The room also has a separate shower with an overhead shower. They have the highest thread count sheets we've ever slept on for added comfort. The staff was very accomodating as all time with 24/7 service. They even provide nightly bed turn down service if you wish with extra towels provided. Free rental bikes to tour the town were a bonus. A definate must if you're staying in the area. Beaufort is simply beautiful!

Room Tip: All rooms are equiped the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a flattering review of City Loft from a senior contributor on Tripadvisor. Your postings suggest a well traveled customer who knows luxury and value. Your comment on the bathroom with its separate rainfall shower, soaking tub and TVs is most appreciated; they were designed to permit you to luxuriate in a small but well appointed atmosphere. Again, thank you very much for your review. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice and we absoloutely love it!! Great location, clean and comfortable rooms. The beds are amazing-some of the best sleep that I have ever gotten. We love the large tubs and walk-in showers. The cafe downstairs serves excellent drinks and small food items-my favorites are the Chai Tea Latte and the Chocolate Chip Cappuccino Muffins. The owner Matt is extremely hospitable and friendly-my husband (a restaurant manager in Savannah) had a nice chat with him. Short walk to great restaurants and the downtown area. The staff is friendly and accomodating, willing to set up special services as well. I work at a hotel so my standards are quite high, but I was very pleased. Thank you, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for a review that tells the world of the best sleep you have ever had in a hotel... at our little boutique hotel in little Beaufort! The staff is most appreciative when they read reviews remarking on the top notch service they provide our guests- I believe they deliver service at the highest possible level and am proud of them. I enjoyed chatting with your husband and hope to visit with you both on your return trip to Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

First of all the location is superb, walking distance to just about everything which is great!! The decor in the rooms ... fabulous! not to mention the large comfortable bed. That worked out
well since we had our kid with us & didnt need a rollaway bed of sorts - which take up space anyway. Awesome walk in shower and I loved the products of lemon and honey. Needless to
say they thought of everything!!! well done you guys. Oh & the coffee, who can forget the coffee!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We appreciate your kind review of City Loft Hotel and it's comfortable bedding, luxurious showers and location. Our BE KIND personal products have been a hit since day one- so glad to now you enjoyed those as well. We are thankful for your business and look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed last weekend at City Loft Hotel in downtown Beaufort, SC after a night of drinking and partying. The location is perfect, both for the short walk at night to find your bed and for the proximity to two excellent coffee outlets the next day to lessen your hang-over. You find at least four excellent restaurants within a block. The coffee shop attached to the hotel serves world-class cappuccinos and little snacks. The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, and comfortable. I liked a lot the shower, especially after a night of partying. I'm sure I will be back one day (night).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of City Loft.. We are happy to know that our proximity to all the best restaurants and bars that Beaufort has to offer helped you enjoy your stay to the fullest. Your comment with respect to world class cappuccinos at City Java & News is most appreciated as well. We will keep working hard to bring you the best overall experience in accommodations that Beaufort has to offer. We look forward to hosting you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The only place to stay while you are in Beaufort.

The attention to detail, southern hospitality and upscale decor make you want to come back before you leave. The owner (Matt) has designed an sophisticated place to rest, relax and even work with all the comforts of home. Staff are all pleasant and professional and the rooms have exceptional style and design. The small things included separate this hotel from others (free WiFi, gym and cafe on site, ice delivery and turndown service.... with weather updates, cookies and in-room wine (small fee) reflect the charm of the town. Great space, close to all you want to do downtown and amenities all top notch.

Congrats on making TripAdvisor's top 2013 list.... well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and describing us as incredible in every way! We are delighted to know that the design and decor was appreciated by you and that the small things like a weather forecast card and cookies really meant something. We are fortunate to be affiliated with a terrific "partner" in City Java & News" coffee shop and to boast City FIT gym which helps start the day for many locals and guests alike. We look forward to you returning in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wow... what a great place to stay. The bathroom shower had 4 shower heads. The staff was very friendly and they came each night for a snack and turndown service. We would stay here again. Loved it ! Worth every penny

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and your love for City Loft! The bathrooms and showers are intended to provide you a high level comfort and relaxation - we hope you soaked in the tub, while watching TV and maybe even sipping champagne.... as well as having taken advantage of the waterfall shower. Thank you for mentioning the staff as they work so very hard to bring you a wonderful experience and love to hear of the guest's positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Address: 301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 23 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Loft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.