We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Loft Hotel to your Saves list
City Loft Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Bluffton, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“What a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at The City Loft Hotel twice in the last two weeks...the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. I enjoyed the proximity to downtown and the coffee shop is a wonderful place to start the morning. The service was excellent and the staff was very helpful with questions about the downtown area. I really enjoyed my stay and will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We all appreciate hearing that the hotel is meeting our guests needs and that you keep coming back. Our location is the best in town, with great restaurants and the Old Point Historic neighborhood right next to us. I'm so glad that you enjoy City Java & News as well. Keep coming back and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    66
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
390
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I always like staying at the City Loft. It's really easy to find and easy to stay. The staff is very friendly and the coffee shop that is attached is a nice little treat. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are top notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review of City Loft Hotel. We really appreciate our guests comments and love to hear that you had such a great experience. I am also so happy to hear that you enjoyed City Java & News. Not only do we have the very best coffee in Beaufort, but it's a fun place to watch the locals as well. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is wonderful!! I have stayed at many of the B&B's in Beaufort, as well as the chain hotels on the outskirts of town, and City Loft fits the perfect niche. It is VERY affordable in comparison to the boutique hotels downtown, yet has the perfect location to walk to the restaurants and shops all along the water. The bed reminded me of the "heavenly" style beds at Westin's, the bathroom was huge and the shower was like a spa! It also has the amenities like a great little gym and coffee shop on-site that is nicer than most of the other chain hotel properties. I had the pleasure of meeting the family that owns the property, and will most definitely make this my #1 choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We absolutely loved this place. Some boutique hotels are so 'trendy' that they are uncomfortable. Not so with this hotel! The decor is fresh and contemporary but also very comfy. Cookies on our pillow and a bottle of red wine in our room after a long day of work was the 'welcome home' that we needed. My husband loved the big tub (he's 6'4") and we both enjoyed the coffee shop downstairs. Fantastic coffee. Walking distance to all of the cool shops and restaurants. This is the only place to stay in Beaufort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a fantastic property! This hotel is a gem. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was spacious. The bed was so comfortable that I woke up late and couldn't believe how well I slept. The coffee shop is great and the staff is exceptional. There are lots of good restuarants and shops within walking distance. As it's in the heart of Beaufort, this is defintely the place to stay. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wonderfully restored hotel, fantastic bathrooms and showers, good linens and pillows. Accessible, friendly owner. Excellent location that puts you in the middle of this charming town with everything walkable including multiple excellent restaurants. Free bicycles are a great way to see even more of the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect location, great shower, tastefully decorated. Nice coffee shop downstairs. In town for a few days to play golf - great conveniences with restaurants nearby. I travel often and typically cannot wait to leave the hotel after a few days - not so with this great spot. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Address: 301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 23 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Loft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.