We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Loft is top of the list!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Loft Hotel to your Saves list
City Loft Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“City Loft is top of the list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is wonderful!! I have stayed at many of the B&B's in Beaufort, as well as the chain hotels on the outskirts of town, and City Loft fits the perfect niche. It is VERY affordable in comparison to the boutique hotels downtown, yet has the perfect location to walk to the restaurants and shops all along the water. The bed reminded me of the "heavenly" style beds at Westin's, the bathroom was huge and the shower was like a spa! It also has the amenities like a great little gym and coffee shop on-site that is nicer than most of the other chain hotel properties. I had the pleasure of meeting the family that owns the property, and will most definitely make this my #1 choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    62
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
367
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We absolutely loved this place. Some boutique hotels are so 'trendy' that they are uncomfortable. Not so with this hotel! The decor is fresh and contemporary but also very comfy. Cookies on our pillow and a bottle of red wine in our room after a long day of work was the 'welcome home' that we needed. My husband loved the big tub (he's 6'4") and we both enjoyed the coffee shop downstairs. Fantastic coffee. Walking distance to all of the cool shops and restaurants. This is the only place to stay in Beaufort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a fantastic property! This hotel is a gem. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was spacious. The bed was so comfortable that I woke up late and couldn't believe how well I slept. The coffee shop is great and the staff is exceptional. There are lots of good restuarants and shops within walking distance. As it's in the heart of Beaufort, this is defintely the place to stay. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wonderfully restored hotel, fantastic bathrooms and showers, good linens and pillows. Accessible, friendly owner. Excellent location that puts you in the middle of this charming town with everything walkable including multiple excellent restaurants. Free bicycles are a great way to see even more of the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect location, great shower, tastefully decorated. Nice coffee shop downstairs. In town for a few days to play golf - great conveniences with restaurants nearby. I travel often and typically cannot wait to leave the hotel after a few days - not so with this great spot. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We only stayed 1 night for a Marine graduation. It is in a very good location, nice room, a little small. The bathroom is large and very modern. Stephanie toured our room personally with us (not sure we needed it though). Nice touch. Very comfortable. Wish we could have stayed in the area longer. We ate at Wren, across the street. Very convenient and great food! Hubby had a free coffee from the coffee shop along with a purchased pastry. He loved it. I didn't visit. Would definitely stay again! Priced a little on the high side though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was a fantastic location although the hotel looks like I'm cold Motor Lodge from the outside. the room was extremely cute with contemporary decor. we got the queen bed an. d this room was a big mistake. we could barely fit our suitcases in the room. it did not have a dresser or area to set it was small. Gas was friendly and very helpful although the maid woke us up at 9 several mornings . We would stay here again but make sure that we get a king room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of City Loft Hotel. Room 106 is our smallest room and we offer a complimentary upgrade to our guests to a king room whenever possible. Because the hotel was completely booked we were unable to offer the upgrade to you. Although Room 106 is small it is a cozy, well appointed room and perfect for a single business traveler, as it does have a great work station, an incredibly comfortable queen bed and a well appointed bathroom with a large walk in shower. We look forward to having you again and I know you will really enjoy the king room with soaking tub, separate shower and sitting area. I am happy to hear that our staff was so helpful and friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Address: 301 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 23 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Loft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.