We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3651 Trask Parkway, I-95 Ex 33 to Highway 17 North to Highway 21, Beaufort, SC 29906 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    29
    30
    44
See reviews for
87
22
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimauma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place was very clean, staff was really great and very helpful. Easy access to all the things we needed and places we were going to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biglerville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our second stay at the Beaufort SC Howard Johnsons and we were there for our youngest sons graduation from Parris Island Marine Corp Basic Training. We got there and the gentleman behind the counter checked us in and was not very personable. After we got to our room the phone kept ringing and every time we answered it no one would be on the other end. This happened a few times before we finally called the front desk and was informed that the lines were crossed and basically there wasn't anything they could do about it. In the end I just pulled the line from the phone. The only soda machine at the place was out of order with no fix date in sight. Thank God our two boys have graduated now and are Marines so we never have to return to that Howard Johnsons again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haledon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went to my son's graduation , I did my homework online and found this
Hotel , that wasn't far from the place I was going , the service was good
The continental breakfast was even better!! Especially the waffle :)
But overall it was a family clean place to stay in, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMbeaufortSC, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Beaufort. I am glad that you found your stay favorable and that you would recommend us. As you mentioned, we have hot belgian waffles on our breakfast which have been well received. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas City, Texas, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My 18 yr old daughter, traveling for the first time alone, stayed in this hotel and was assaulted and verbally threatened by a "vagrant" in barefeet and not acting "right in the head" while going through the breakfast line in the lobby of this hotel. She was grabbed between the legs!
It was witnessed by the desk clerk and several guests of the hotel. Found out this "vagrant" had come over for "free" coffee from the bus terminal which is next to this hotel.
Was treated rudely by the desk clerk I had to call to find out why nothing was done about this and then treated even more rudely and yelled at by the hotel "manager" the next day when I wanted to find out why this was not treated differently or why the police were not called! My daughter filed a police report with the Beaufort police and interestingly enough, they made mention that they were aware of "issues" in "that location". So, if you decide to stay here, take your pepper spray and take some self-defense lessons. Watch your back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island

Address: 3651 Trask Parkway, I-95 Ex 33 to Highway 17 North to Highway 21, Beaufort, SC 29906 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort Hotel Beaufort
Beaufort Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.