We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3651 Trask Parkway, I-95 Ex 33 to Highway 17 North to Highway 21, Beaufort, SC 29906 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Beaufort
texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I went for a trip to Beaufort, SC and stayed at Howard Johnson. The property was very clean from outside and the sites were wonderful as well. The office was beautiful and the customer service was outstanding.
The hotel had pool and served breakfast in morning. The rooms were very clean and organized and were furnished with office table, comfortable beds with fresh linen, phone and cable television. I stayed there for 4 days and enjoyed it very much. Janice Amick

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    26
    26
    39
See reviews for
80
20
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

My family drove over 500 miles, and I refused to let my family stay in those conditions at any cost. The lobby was being used as storage with drywall and insulation, not to mention that we were traveling with a 9 month old baby. You could use the restroom in the lobby, but the sink did not work, so you could not wash your hands. We took a quick a tour thinking maybe the rooms would be a little better, not to judge the book by the cover. Wrong, the stink in the hallway was as if you were entering into a bar. The carpets were a mess, the blankets were terrible. The outlets had missing covers, this was no place for my family or anyones family. The best thing about the hotel was the phone worked and the clerk at the front desk made a few calls for us and find us another hotel that had 7 rooms left and we needed 5. We were blessed to get a room because we were in town along with the other 100's of families that had loved one Graduating from the Marines Boot Camp in Paris Island, SC.

V. Robbins
MD

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

This was the most horrible hotel I have ever stayed in. The place was dirty and smelled. Our balcony door was not attatched to the room (it was leaning against the railing) The doors on the exterior were not locked and were missing handles. The dressers in the room were falling apart and missing their handles. There was no toilet paper dispenser. The ice bucket had a whole in the bottom. The carpet was stained. The maid service did not clean the room properly and left trash in the room.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

This was the most disgusting place I've ever been in....there were roaches in our room, I had a cigarette burn in my sheets...I mentioned this to the manager the first day and it was still there the second day. Housekeeping didn't even bother to change it....the beds were never made correctly..The bathtub was clogged and would not drain, the carpet was dirty and worn, the lamps were not working, the lampshades were dry rotted and busted...the sink was dirty and the washclothes and towels were dirty. If there was another hotel available I would have checked out. The pool outside was green and disgusting, the water fountain was dirty and inoperable....But unfortunately we were stuck....I have never stayed at such a horrible dirty nasty place in my life. They tried to use the guise that they were remodling but this place was just nasty and dirty....We were charged 85.00 per night....I complained and got a discount which in my opinion was not enough....free would have been too much. I will sleep in my car before I ever check into this hotel again.

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — the dirtiness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

The exterior and lobby are not that bad. However, the rest of the hotel was in terrible shape. The pool was scummed over with old stagnate water. The walk to the room was surrounded by one unfinished project after another. The stairs were shaky and old. I walked tentatively. Upon opening the door to the hotel room, the air was contaminated with the odor of stale cigarette smoke. The room was the worst I have ever been in!! There was mold on the shower curtain, cigarette burns on the tub, holes in the room curtains, stains on the carpet and box springs, no bulbs in lamps, no covers on the receptacles, no bedshirts, and overall filth. It was a disgusting place. I would never stay there again. I only stayed there because my grandson was graduating from Parris Island Marine Corpse boot camp and there were no other rooms in all of Beaufort. Honestly, if my wife had been with me, we would have stayed 20 miles away at a Hampton Inn! Don't make my mistake!!! I AM NOT EXAGGERATING!!!!!! Stay away at all costs!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Stayed here for one night after the airshow in April 2007.

The lady at check in was so very nice and gave us a great suggestion for dinner. Check in and out was very easy. Hassle free.

The front desk area and the actual room were nice and clean. The pool looked clean, too. The continental breakfast was fresh and had a good variety.

But honestly, the outside of this place is kinda scary. There were piles of debris in the parking lot (old mattresses, etc.), the stairs were shaky, and there were some "shady" characters hanging out in the parking lot.

This place has the potential to be a nice, modest hotel, but it needs a lot of work. The old oak tree is beautiful and it has a nice view of the marsh.

Next time in Beaufort we plan on spending a few extra bucks and staying at the Country Inn and Suites down the road.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island

Address: 3651 Trask Parkway, I-95 Ex 33 to Highway 17 North to Highway 21, Beaufort, SC 29906 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort Hotel Beaufort
Beaufort Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort / Parris Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.