We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Save Saved
You added Cuthbert House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1203 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Lancashire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had one night at Cuthbert House in the Eastlake Suite, as part of a tour of the Charleston/Savannah area. It was lovely and nicer than expected. We've visited a few southern B&Bs and the hospitality was a delight. We were greeted by Nancy, standing in for the owners. She was very charming and great fun. We were lucky enough to meet Beau, the owner's dog too!

We love these historic B&Bs and Cuthbert House didn't let us down. There weren't even too many concessions to history like some we've visited! The location is lovely, even allowing for a bit of passing traffic and we had a great time watching the sun go down over the bay on the porch. Easy to walk into the historic waterfront at Beaufort too, so the perfect location and very relaxing.

We were even there when the bed "collapsed" in the room above. That made for fun at breakfast…and I hope the 2 star review the other guest gave was only because they had the one issue (OK, a big one).

I hope we can go back some day soon. We'll stay for longer next time, too!

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    23
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
152
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at this charming b&b for one night while exploring the region. We stayed in the coastal suite which was recently renovated. It's on the lower level and has it's own private porch. My husband who was leary about staying in a b&b was pleasantly surprised to find it so clean, large, private and modern. If you are looking for antiques and a claw foot tub I recommend a different room in the house as this one was quite modern. We really appreciated the modern touches though especially the shower with FIVE shower heads, the super comfy bed and the flat screen tv. The house is walking distance to cute restaurants and shops (although the shops close really early) and set amongst other gorgeous houses. The breakfast was delicious and the guest innkeepers very nice and knowledgeable about the area (the owners were out of town during our visit). Their adorable dog, Beauregard, did a great job though helping "hold down the fort." Would absolutely stay again if we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the inn. The breakfast was fine and the receptions, which were a nice meet and greet with everyone, turned out to be a very pleasant "happening."

However, at about four AM on the second morning one side of our bed fell in, creating a loud crash that was heard in several of the other rooms. Fearing that we would wake some of the other guests, or that the rest of the bed would collapse and not sure what to do, we stayed in the bed holding on until we finally figured we were not going to get any more sleep, we just got up and dressed and packed. By now it was 5: AM.

The inn manager did say she was sorry it had happened.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are so sorry for your inconvenience. I only wish that you would have called the emergency number, and the problem could have fixed the bed in less than ten minutes.
The bed was not broken, the slats had shifted off the bed. We have fixed the bed so that it will hopefully not happen again.
Again our apologies.
Sincerely,
Mary Ann and Jeff Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, NY
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Flawlessly clean, feast for the eyes.

Quiet though fully occupied.

In Ballroom Suite a sitting area, claw foot tub bath And a shower. Plenty of soft plush towels.

Huge bed - plush beddings with great hand feel.

Hosts made everything so easy: loaned equipped bikes for scoot around town, beach chairs and towels for trip to Hunting Island. So smooth and easy. Great relaxing time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aid, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My review is based on a one night stay in the Eastlake Suite in June. The property was wonderful and the location is excellent. The view from the front porch is awesome. Overall, it was a good experience but the hospitality and breakfast were not up to what I have been used to at other B&Bs. The young man and the non-english speaking employee who served breakfast were excellent servers. The older lady/owner was not a natural at serving. She seems to try too hard which makes it uncomfortable. I would suggest letting the young man serve the food. He is warm and kind and makes it look easy. Although not stated, the general attitude seems to be "this is your breakfast, eat it and leave before your 15 minute slot is up."
The owners do not seem to have the "Southern Hospitality" to match the home. In fact, the non-english speaking employee showed much more hospitality than the owners. The owners need to relax, smile, and make the stay pleasant. Not to say that they were bad in any way. Just not what it could be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
After reading your comments we have fired the "old lady".!!! By the way do you remember her name, we want to make sure we fired the right person.(lol)
Mary Ann
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one evening- the inn is right at the waters edge with beautiful views, a cute courtyard and lovely weeping trees. It is just a 3-5 minute walk into the small town where there are several nice restaurants to choose from. Well appointed rooms that keep to the character. But the thing my husband and I loved the most is the history of the stately home. There was a reading room and several interesting things to read about it- we actually spent some time lounging in the foyer and living area reading about it.

Nice breakfast of fresh fruit, fluffy pancakes with orange grand marnier sauce. This is a wonderful place to stay in Beaufort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved the Cuthbert House Inn. It meets all your expectations of a Southern B&B with a classic exterior and wonderful interior and rooms. As a family from the UK we had our first "social hour" talking with other guests and sharing stories. Great breakfast and we borrowed bikes to tour round Beaufort. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We have been very pleased with the interest we have seen from travelers from the UK. Their interest in the Low Country and our Inn has been growing steadily. We always love the interesting conversations and the world perspective of our guest from across the pond. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Address: 1203 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn is situated in a Federal-style house with plantation style four-poster beds and full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuthbert House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.