We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaufort Inn hasn't missed a beat! Still a great establishment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Beaufort Inn to your Saves list
The Beaufort Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beaufort Inn hasn't missed a beat! Still a great establishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We enjoyed many wonderful dinners and the occasional stay at the Beaufort Inn when we lived in the Beaufort area years ago, to include staying at the Inn on our wedding night eleven years ago. We were recently visiting family in the area and spent a night at the Inn as an early anniversary celebration. We stayed in a cottage king unit, which was lovely! Well appointed with a huge bath tub, vaulted ceilings and a great second floor balcony that caught the summer breeze off the Beaufort river. We also enjoyed a sumptuous dinner at the Inn during our stay. Across the board, highly recommended. If you want to enjoy true Southern hospitality, look no further!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    100
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
79
420
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Inn is beautiful, recently remodeled and well thought out and one of the Best & Most Beautiful Properties out there. The quality of the construction and maintenance of the Inn is a 10. Hats off to whoever did the work and supervised the work and design. The whole Inn is so well done. Decoration and furniture matches the 1800's theme. Has all the charm of the 1800's with the convenience of the 21st Century.

Location is great being just off the main street (BAY) by a block which makes it easy for restaurants, shopping and the waterfront.

Breakfast was amazing with made-to-order eggs, to-die-for french toast, grits (good even if you don't like grits), bacon, fresh fruits, baked goods, juices, coffee. Excellent!

People are nice but not overly friendly---very professional. Their afternoon refreshment is iced tea and cookies bits.

Room Tip: Many have balconies, but ALL the rooms I saw were excellent. I would doubt there was a bad choice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent two nights at the beautiful Beaufort Inn. This was our first trip to Beaufort, but it won't be our last. This was the most comfortable and relaxing trip we have ever had. The location was very convenient and we enjoyed walking all around the area, visiting all of the shops and particularly spending a lot of time sitting at the Waterfront. The entire staff was superb and we enjoyed conversations with Chef Hewitt. The food and dining service at dinner and breakfast was outstanding. We anxiously await a return visit.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor with the use of the stairway. We particularly enjoyed the separate sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband booked us the cottage suite for my birthday. Beautiful spacious room w/ King size bed, that felt like a cloud. Massive en suite that was a room all to itself. Loved seating in the garden in the evening enjoying a nice glass of wine. The Inn itself is a Southern classic charm. Everyone from the receptionist to the wait staff was hospitable and delightful. Thank you for making this a most relaxing birthday I've had in a while.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you to your husband for choosing The Beaufort Inn for your birthday celebration! It was certainly our pleasure to play a part in making your birthday visit memorable. You most likely stayed in our Chisholm Cottage, a private Luxury King accommodation that adjoins the Palmetto Courtyard. This room like others is full of historic charm as well as offering modern appointments. This juxtaposition makes our accommodations special and unique. And our courtyards beckon guests to enjoy a slower more gentle pace. At night strings of lights make the courtyards and gardens glow. As you discovered, it is so inviting and magical! I do hope you will return - you do not have to wait for another celebration to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBILE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We just stayed one night at the Inn, but we have visited Beaufort several times. We Stayed at the Cuthbert House Inn last time. Was very nice also. We liked the restaurant and service we received at the Beaufort Inn best! Their food was wonderful!
THe location was 'good'. Just one block off the main street. Just didn't have a good view from our room.
Would definitely recommend it to others though. May bring my girlfriends over for a few days!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
With many fine choices we appreciate that you chose to stay with us at The Beaufort Inn! I must admit to being partial - our beautiful property with many different accommodations and amenities and our central location make us a unique experience in a wonderful coastal town.

We love hosting gal-pal getaways. We have several king/queen suite accommodations that would be a perfect fit! Ask about The Scheper House Suite. This suite has direct access to a second story porch outfitted with rocking chairs. Ideal for those long talks on a lazy afternoon! Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Such a beautiful little town. Every where we went we experienced the charm and the grace of the South! The Beaufort Inn was so tranquil and the staff was just a delight! We could walk to the restaurants and shops with ease.We will visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Darlene G.
It is wonderful that you've discovered our beautiful town. Beaufort is a recently discovered coastal jewel. Accolades from Southern Living, Smithsonian Magazine and Fodor's has put Beaufort on the map as a desirable destination. Thank you for your kind words about The Beaufort Inn. Our goal is to offer The Quintessential Lowcountry Experience - a blend of Southern charm and notable service in an unsurpassed setting. Come back and visit soon, there is always something new to experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this inn just one night, but it is a lovely place, while in this historic little town north of Hilton Head. We had a room on the third floor (yes, there's an elevator) and it was very sweet. The inn is located right in town, so walking around is easy. Take a carriage ride to get an hour's worth of town history, but make a reservation as on week ends these tours fill up. There's an ancient cemetery in town, for those who like to wander through history dating back to before the Civil War, even the 1700's. A few nice restaurant dot the Main Street also. Breakfast at the inn is a buffet with plenty of choices and the receptionist, (we inter-faced with both Taylor and Jacqueline) are so very kind and helpful. This town rolls up in the evening, so after dinner, be prepared with a bottle of wine and a good book on the porch. The inn has about 40 rooms in a few buildings on the property, so peruse the website to find just the room you like. Lovely intone option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and recognizing Taylor and Jacqueline. I am pleased their service contributed to an enjoyable stay at The Beaufort Inn. As you found, Beaufort's historical significance is growing and many are discovering the many pleasures of our wonderful coastal town. The Beaufort Inn is among these. The Beaufort Inn is more than a place to spend the night (although our rooms are very charming and comfortable!), We offer guests a unique historical experience - relaxing in one of our many courtyards, walking to the many attractions in town or partaking in history filled tours - Beaufort Inn guests are surrounded by history and nature. Next time you visit Beaufort I hope you will stay a bit longer, there is much more to see and do. Did you visit Penn Center or Hunting Island? Both are notable and nationally recognized sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#6 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaufort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.