We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect winter weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Beaufort Inn to your Saves list
The Beaufort Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect winter weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband booked us the cottage suite for my birthday. Beautiful spacious room w/ King size bed, that felt like a cloud. Massive en suite that was a room all to itself. Loved seating in the garden in the evening enjoying a nice glass of wine. The Inn itself is a Southern classic charm. Everyone from the receptionist to the wait staff was hospitable and delightful. Thank you for making this a most relaxing birthday I've had in a while.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you to your husband for choosing The Beaufort Inn for your birthday celebration! It was certainly our pleasure to play a part in making your birthday visit memorable. You most likely stayed in our Chisholm Cottage, a private Luxury King accommodation that adjoins the Palmetto Courtyard. This room like others is full of historic charm as well as offering modern appointments. This juxtaposition makes our accommodations special and unique. And our courtyards beckon guests to enjoy a slower more gentle pace. At night strings of lights make the courtyards and gardens glow. As you discovered, it is so inviting and magical! I do hope you will return - you do not have to wait for another celebration to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    100
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
79
419
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MOBILE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We just stayed one night at the Inn, but we have visited Beaufort several times. We Stayed at the Cuthbert House Inn last time. Was very nice also. We liked the restaurant and service we received at the Beaufort Inn best! Their food was wonderful!
THe location was 'good'. Just one block off the main street. Just didn't have a good view from our room.
Would definitely recommend it to others though. May bring my girlfriends over for a few days!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
With many fine choices we appreciate that you chose to stay with us at The Beaufort Inn! I must admit to being partial - our beautiful property with many different accommodations and amenities and our central location make us a unique experience in a wonderful coastal town.

We love hosting gal-pal getaways. We have several king/queen suite accommodations that would be a perfect fit! Ask about The Scheper House Suite. This suite has direct access to a second story porch outfitted with rocking chairs. Ideal for those long talks on a lazy afternoon! Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Such a beautiful little town. Every where we went we experienced the charm and the grace of the South! The Beaufort Inn was so tranquil and the staff was just a delight! We could walk to the restaurants and shops with ease.We will visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Darlene G.
It is wonderful that you've discovered our beautiful town. Beaufort is a recently discovered coastal jewel. Accolades from Southern Living, Smithsonian Magazine and Fodor's has put Beaufort on the map as a desirable destination. Thank you for your kind words about The Beaufort Inn. Our goal is to offer The Quintessential Lowcountry Experience - a blend of Southern charm and notable service in an unsurpassed setting. Come back and visit soon, there is always something new to experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this inn just one night, but it is a lovely place, while in this historic little town north of Hilton Head. We had a room on the third floor (yes, there's an elevator) and it was very sweet. The inn is located right in town, so walking around is easy. Take a carriage ride to get an hour's worth of town history, but make a reservation as on week ends these tours fill up. There's an ancient cemetery in town, for those who like to wander through history dating back to before the Civil War, even the 1700's. A few nice restaurant dot the Main Street also. Breakfast at the inn is a buffet with plenty of choices and the receptionist, (we inter-faced with both Taylor and Jacqueline) are so very kind and helpful. This town rolls up in the evening, so after dinner, be prepared with a bottle of wine and a good book on the porch. The inn has about 40 rooms in a few buildings on the property, so peruse the website to find just the room you like. Lovely intone option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and recognizing Taylor and Jacqueline. I am pleased their service contributed to an enjoyable stay at The Beaufort Inn. As you found, Beaufort's historical significance is growing and many are discovering the many pleasures of our wonderful coastal town. The Beaufort Inn is among these. The Beaufort Inn is more than a place to spend the night (although our rooms are very charming and comfortable!), We offer guests a unique historical experience - relaxing in one of our many courtyards, walking to the many attractions in town or partaking in history filled tours - Beaufort Inn guests are surrounded by history and nature. Next time you visit Beaufort I hope you will stay a bit longer, there is much more to see and do. Did you visit Penn Center or Hunting Island? Both are notable and nationally recognized sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was not sure what to expect at the Beaufort Inn when I first booked our stay. I researched the area and history of Beaufort and the Inn seemed ideal for us. We wanted a relaxed stay at a historic location with a reasonable price. We definitely found that and more at the Beaufort Inn. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The building is beautiful inside and out. We had no issues at all with our breakfasts. They were delicious and tasty. The staff was always welcoming and friendly. We will be back to Beaufort and we will stay at the Beaufort Inn. I suggest you do too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am pleased that you found your way to The Beaufort Inn and that you appreciated our unique and historic setting in Beautiful Beaufort by the Sea! Our central location in The Historic District and our notable and historic buildings create a unique guest experience. We have a wide variety of accommodations and all guests enjoy a hot Southern style breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and afternoon sweet treats. Finally, thank you for acknowledging the staff's contribution to your experience and endorsement of our service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have stayed in numerous Bed & Breakfasts, the Beauford Inn is in the top 3. We stayed in the Garden Cottage and we spent every evening enjoying a glass of wine on the porch overlooking the beautiful well maintained court yard (the porch has a ceiling fan so even during the warm summer evenings it was enjoyable). If you require extra large bathrooms, this place was designed for you! Room would have been perfect if it only had a mini-frig. I would strongly recommend upgrading to one of the cottages, you will not regret it. Excellent breakfast, chef prepared omelets, cheese grits, French toast, and fruit. The staff is most accommodating, Taylor was delightful. Easy walking distance to the downtown area (2 blocks). Make sure you dine at one of the water front restaurants - the view is worth the price of the meal and afterwards sit in one of the swings that line the bay. To get to know Beauford, choose the carriage tour over the boat cruise, provides much more insights about this quaint town. The beach is only 20 minutes away at Hunting Island State Park - beautiful beach with picnic tables, numerous restrooms, and outdoor showers ($5.00 per person admittance fee). For a relaxing get away you can not beat the Beauford Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and thorough description of your positive experience at The Beaufort Inn. We agree with you that our accommodations would be more complete with the addition of mini-refrigerators. They have been ordered and will be in every room by the end of the year. We always appreciate knowing from our guests what is needed to ensure the best possible and memorable experience. Please come back to visit - many of our guest have their favorite rooms and it sounds from your review that the Garden Cottages with their wonderful and welcoming porches could become yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked a room in the main building for 4 nights for a mother-daughter trip. When we arrived, it was suggested that we stay in one of the cottages so we would have a little more room. We were upgraded, free of charge to a sweet cottage with my dream bathtub and fireplace in the bathroom!

Everyone on staff was so friendly and helpful. A smoke alarm was chirping outside our door, so I mentioned it at the front desk and the battery was replaced immediately. Breakfast was amazing every day and I anxiously anticipated what new French toast heaven I would encounter each morning. At sunset each night the little white lights lit up all the walkways and courtyards around the property- just gorgeous.

The waterfront park, lots of shopping, and restaurants are all within two blocks. Hunting Island State Park beach is a beautiful, uncrowded beach about 20 minutes away. Hilton Head is about an hour away, but I much rather prefer the quiet, charming streets of Beaufort! I would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Miss LulaBKentucky,

I remember meeting and speaking with you and your daughter. A sweet sixteen celebration comes around only once - it is a special occasion - and it was our pleasure to upgrade your accommodations to The Female Benevolent Society House! I am so pleased that The Beaufort Inn contributed to making your Mother-Daughter trip a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the courtyard ambiance and Southern Graces Bistro breakfast as much as you did your room amenities. Thank you for your review and your kind words about our staff. We work hard to respond to guest comments to improve service and to ensure that nothing detracts from making special memories. I do hope you and your daughter will someday make a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#6 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaufort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.