We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soutern Hospitality at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Beaufort Inn to your Saves list
The Beaufort Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soutern Hospitality at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Such a beautiful little town. Every where we went we experienced the charm and the grace of the South! The Beaufort Inn was so tranquil and the staff was just a delight! We could walk to the restaurants and shops with ease.We will visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Darlene G.
It is wonderful that you've discovered our beautiful town. Beaufort is a recently discovered coastal jewel. Accolades from Southern Living, Smithsonian Magazine and Fodor's has put Beaufort on the map as a desirable destination. Thank you for your kind words about The Beaufort Inn. Our goal is to offer The Quintessential Lowcountry Experience - a blend of Southern charm and notable service in an unsurpassed setting. Come back and visit soon, there is always something new to experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    99
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
78
418
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this inn just one night, but it is a lovely place, while in this historic little town north of Hilton Head. We had a room on the third floor (yes, there's an elevator) and it was very sweet. The inn is located right in town, so walking around is easy. Take a carriage ride to get an hour's worth of town history, but make a reservation as on week ends these tours fill up. There's an ancient cemetery in town, for those who like to wander through history dating back to before the Civil War, even the 1700's. A few nice restaurant dot the Main Street also. Breakfast at the inn is a buffet with plenty of choices and the receptionist, (we inter-faced with both Taylor and Jacqueline) are so very kind and helpful. This town rolls up in the evening, so after dinner, be prepared with a bottle of wine and a good book on the porch. The inn has about 40 rooms in a few buildings on the property, so peruse the website to find just the room you like. Lovely intone option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and recognizing Taylor and Jacqueline. I am pleased their service contributed to an enjoyable stay at The Beaufort Inn. As you found, Beaufort's historical significance is growing and many are discovering the many pleasures of our wonderful coastal town. The Beaufort Inn is among these. The Beaufort Inn is more than a place to spend the night (although our rooms are very charming and comfortable!), We offer guests a unique historical experience - relaxing in one of our many courtyards, walking to the many attractions in town or partaking in history filled tours - Beaufort Inn guests are surrounded by history and nature. Next time you visit Beaufort I hope you will stay a bit longer, there is much more to see and do. Did you visit Penn Center or Hunting Island? Both are notable and nationally recognized sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was not sure what to expect at the Beaufort Inn when I first booked our stay. I researched the area and history of Beaufort and the Inn seemed ideal for us. We wanted a relaxed stay at a historic location with a reasonable price. We definitely found that and more at the Beaufort Inn. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The building is beautiful inside and out. We had no issues at all with our breakfasts. They were delicious and tasty. The staff was always welcoming and friendly. We will be back to Beaufort and we will stay at the Beaufort Inn. I suggest you do too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am pleased that you found your way to The Beaufort Inn and that you appreciated our unique and historic setting in Beautiful Beaufort by the Sea! Our central location in The Historic District and our notable and historic buildings create a unique guest experience. We have a wide variety of accommodations and all guests enjoy a hot Southern style breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and afternoon sweet treats. Finally, thank you for acknowledging the staff's contribution to your experience and endorsement of our service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have stayed in numerous Bed & Breakfasts, the Beauford Inn is in the top 3. We stayed in the Garden Cottage and we spent every evening enjoying a glass of wine on the porch overlooking the beautiful well maintained court yard (the porch has a ceiling fan so even during the warm summer evenings it was enjoyable). If you require extra large bathrooms, this place was designed for you! Room would have been perfect if it only had a mini-frig. I would strongly recommend upgrading to one of the cottages, you will not regret it. Excellent breakfast, chef prepared omelets, cheese grits, French toast, and fruit. The staff is most accommodating, Taylor was delightful. Easy walking distance to the downtown area (2 blocks). Make sure you dine at one of the water front restaurants - the view is worth the price of the meal and afterwards sit in one of the swings that line the bay. To get to know Beauford, choose the carriage tour over the boat cruise, provides much more insights about this quaint town. The beach is only 20 minutes away at Hunting Island State Park - beautiful beach with picnic tables, numerous restrooms, and outdoor showers ($5.00 per person admittance fee). For a relaxing get away you can not beat the Beauford Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and thorough description of your positive experience at The Beaufort Inn. We agree with you that our accommodations would be more complete with the addition of mini-refrigerators. They have been ordered and will be in every room by the end of the year. We always appreciate knowing from our guests what is needed to ensure the best possible and memorable experience. Please come back to visit - many of our guest have their favorite rooms and it sounds from your review that the Garden Cottages with their wonderful and welcoming porches could become yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked a room in the main building for 4 nights for a mother-daughter trip. When we arrived, it was suggested that we stay in one of the cottages so we would have a little more room. We were upgraded, free of charge to a sweet cottage with my dream bathtub and fireplace in the bathroom!

Everyone on staff was so friendly and helpful. A smoke alarm was chirping outside our door, so I mentioned it at the front desk and the battery was replaced immediately. Breakfast was amazing every day and I anxiously anticipated what new French toast heaven I would encounter each morning. At sunset each night the little white lights lit up all the walkways and courtyards around the property- just gorgeous.

The waterfront park, lots of shopping, and restaurants are all within two blocks. Hunting Island State Park beach is a beautiful, uncrowded beach about 20 minutes away. Hilton Head is about an hour away, but I much rather prefer the quiet, charming streets of Beaufort! I would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Miss LulaBKentucky,

I remember meeting and speaking with you and your daughter. A sweet sixteen celebration comes around only once - it is a special occasion - and it was our pleasure to upgrade your accommodations to The Female Benevolent Society House! I am so pleased that The Beaufort Inn contributed to making your Mother-Daughter trip a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the courtyard ambiance and Southern Graces Bistro breakfast as much as you did your room amenities. Thank you for your review and your kind words about our staff. We work hard to respond to guest comments to improve service and to ensure that nothing detracts from making special memories. I do hope you and your daughter will someday make a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Beaufort Inn for a romantic weekend getaway. We stayed in the Chisholm Cottage. It was absolutely wonderful. The staff was so kind and welcoming. The breakfast at the hotel was phenomenal, the rooms were clean and beautiful, and the courtyard looked like something out of a movie. It was so charming and wonderful! Also, it's so centrally located- you can walk almost anywhere in Beaufort from the hotel! I highly recommend this hotel. It was by far the best hotel experience I have had.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in one of the cottages- they are much more private and much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Miss Leah C.!
Thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our staff is always pleased to know that their efforts create a pleasing and memorable experience. The Chisholm Cottage you mentioned is very a special accommodation - a small, quaint and very private cottage set among the many historic building, courtyards and gardens that make up The Beaufort Inn. We have so many unique accommodations. Next time you visit be sure to check out the Garden Cottages. The claw foot deep soaking tubs, rain water showers and private porches are also a guest favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A very beautiful traditional inn with attention to detail. More of a cross between a small hotel and an inn but service was polished and room was lovely. If I am honest I'm not sure it justified the cost as although everything was great it wasn't outstanding or different. Beaufort itself was much quieter than we expected and not as picturesque as we had expected. Very pretty exterior.

Room Tip: Room in cottage was large with balcony area but was more what we would expect in a chain hotel land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Armada2,
I appreciate that you took the time to offer a review of your experience at The Beaufort Inn. Guests are often surprised to find that we are more an Historic Boutique Inn than a B&B - with 34 rooms, 11 buildings, five courtyards/gardens, a full service day spay and bistro restaurant all centrally located in Beaufort's Historic District - we are a unique property. We make a great effort to attend to details that create a memorable experience and differentiate us from the ordinary. It is important to me that guests know they are in a special environment, whether they are in their room or enjoying one of our outdoor spaces. I appreciate knowing that there is more that we can do to accomplish this goal. Also important is that guest value the amenities that we offer - the Southern style, hot prepared buffet breakfast, complimentary wi-fi, afternoon snacks, concierge service and off street parking. Everyday we want to deliver to our guests a most memorable and unique experience and I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Address: 809 Port Republic Street, Beaufort, SC 29902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#6 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaufort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.